KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Best Version Media

Engaged Employer

Best Version Media

Add a Review

Best Version Media Employee Reviews about "magazine"

Updated Nov 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 585 reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media Chief Executive Officer Kevin O’ Brien
Kevin O’ Brien
456 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Schedule was very hectic for little pay.(in 9 reviews)
  • "full commission only and lots and lots of cold calling(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Best Version Media and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "magazine"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Content Coordinator

    Apr 28, 2018 - Content Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you ever wanted to make your own do it yourself magazine and write and edit all of the content this will be good training.

    Cons

    This is basically a volunteer job with a stipend that will not even cover a single person's monthly grocery bill unless you are living on beans & rice.

    Continue reading
    31 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Here's what it really is

    Nov 2, 2018 - Content Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros. Don't fall for this. You're smarter than that.

    Cons

    I responded to a job posting for a content coordinator from a publisher. After some research and a review of the 'neighborhood magazine', I realized Best Version Media is making a buttload of money selling an ad-based publishing format to a growing network of would-be publishers. These publishers must be their own sales agent and obtain ads (and supply content) to create an outdated media outlet - a print magazine - about a neighborhood. I've been writing and editing content long enough to know that nobody wants to read 'highlight' stories about their neighbors. And I've been working long enough to understand that if you're giving a bunch of time, money and hard work to a company (NOT your own business) and receiving nothing in return, something is awry.

    Continue reading
    25 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Second to None!

    Nov 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture, growth potential, professionalism, encouraging team/co-workers and leadership is just the tip of the iceberg with Best Version Media! I’ve been working with Best Version Media for close to 6 years and can confidently say it is the best job I’ve ever had and I would be happy to be working with Best Version Media the rest of my life! The company culture is second to none due in large part to the encouraging and motivating spirit of the founding partners, who are present in the everyday operations of each and every department. They are easy to work with and truly value and respect every member of the team and every magazine and the community that magazine serves. Personally I have grown and learned so much about my field through working with BVM and have experienced not only the growth of BVM, but growth in myself as a professional and growth within my role in BVM.

    Cons

    I really haven't had any in my 6 years working with the company!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Couldn't work for free

    May 12, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive people and company, but have to convince business operators to buy ads into your startup magazine.

    Cons

    No national ads or chain store leads from home office to help get you reach high baseline. Most would be best off starting their own magazine from scratch.

    Continue reading
    49 people found this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Public Relations Manager

    We appreciate the reviewer taking the time to express his/her feelings. A few points: 1. The average failure rate of independent magazines is 75% with a few years. We have a 99% success rate. So, the odds are infinitely higher to find success with BVM. 2. Many of our publishers ran their own private magazines and are with us because our baselines are WAY below what they would be independently. 3. We have never failed to open a market due to demographics. And there hasn't ever been a market that we attempted 4 or 5 times.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Compassionate Leaders Help You Become Your Best Version of Yourself

    Sep 23, 2021 - Magazine Publisher in Phila, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    BVM has an excellent training program. If you follow it, and can self motivate and focus, you can make a very good salary and even gave free time and a flexible schedule.

    Cons

    No salary until you make minimum sales to support the magazine for at least a year—usually takes 2-3 months. You must be self disciplined, motivated and hungry. The better you focus, the better you’ll be.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Media Relations

    Thanks for the review! BVM offers training, resources and a flexible work environment to help our people find success.

  6. 4.0
    Former Freelancer

    Longview Neighbors

    Dec 29, 2016 - Content Coordinator in Longview, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great magazine to keep neighbors connected with each other.

    Cons

    The distribution was pretty limited. I tried to work with the publisher regarding a timeframe in which to work. I was paid $350 per month. It was my understanding this could be done in approximately 20 hours a week. However, it was all month long and I drove in excess of 150 miles each month interviewing and attending events that were listed in the magazine. Then I spent another week after interviews, writing, etc. proofing the magazine.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Great way to flex your creative muscles

    Mar 14, 2021 - Content Coordinator in Mendham, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The commitment is minimal. Lots of creative freedom to help create a magazine

    Cons

    The format can get repetitive if not careful.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Media Relations

    Content Coordinators bring people together by writing local content for our community publications each month. We appreciate the review!

  8. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    This Opportunity Found Me and I am Grateful

    Apr 7, 2015 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am a Franchisee Owner/Publisher of a magazine company which allows me to have Freedom and Respect for myself and others. I have worked for newspaper for 26 years and have worked in all aspects of it from back shop to front end including Sales and Management. I have another 4 years in other media Sales including TV, Radio, Internet and Magazine Publications. The Mediums in our market have experienced many layoffs and Huge Corporate Turnovers which makes for a lousy environment to work in with very low morale. Don't get me wrong I appreciate my roots and have newspaper in my blood and have had some of the best working years of my career/financial in media BUT it just isn't the same environment anymore...1 person working the equivalent of 3 to 4 people's jobs and major pressure for more. If I am going to work night and day to make over 6 figures/year and give just under half to the government then I might as well do that for myself but only get more for myself versus the company and run my own business as I was with media but now lower taxes as a business owner. Best Version Media has a very positive environment with tons of support and tools. Their model is tried and true and is working. I started full time Jan 2/2015 and just went to print. I am proud of what I have accomplished as I worked hard for it AND there is NO greater feeling then building a print masterpiece and connecting with so many incredible great business owners that I have partnered with. I look forward to building my next publication and helping other BVM colleagues build theirs. We are a team....a WINNING team. We even stop for some good ol' fashion fun and a joke or two. Just recommended another Publisher position to a very good friend who also left media and can't wait to be working with him and building his magazine. I love what I am doing and love being part of my community and love being part of the BVM community. I ask my husband daily to pinch me to know if this opportunity is real and I felt the pinch....

    Cons

    As any new business owner it takes hard work, persistence, consistency and FOCUS to get it all up and running....while living on very few dollars. As mentioned in other posts....you must accept living on 0.00 dollars for 3to 4 months BUT that is better then paying upfront franchisee costs which many other opportunities would not allow. Our CEO who built the model was not only in it for himself....he has been on our end of the spectrum and wanted the team to benefit as well and in turn has some of the BEST players on the team....who truly support each other no matter what region we are from. Oops....I was suppose to keep putting my Cons....Not many and the two I listed above are told straight up as to what to expect and I accepted that going in.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Version of Yourself!

    Feb 10, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Bellingham, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best Version Media gives you freedom from corporate America and the autonomy to grow your own business on your own terms. It's challenging and exciting and a great feeling of accomplishment to be the owner of your own magazine and see how it impacts your local communities because of YOU! If you like meeting people and earning a pay-rise every time you make a sale once you're in print, then BVM are the best in the business.

    Cons

    BVM are very transparent about the challenge involved in getting the magazine to print; there is no income when you're in pre-print until you clear your baseline - but once you are in print there is no limit on your earning potential. This opportunity is not for everyone but for the right people (entrepreneurial, independent-minded) this is perfect. That's why we're called Best Version Media; if you take on the opportunity, you become the Best Version of Yourself. Fact.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    BVM is an excellent company...well managed and very inspiring!

    Jan 20, 2015 - Associate Publisher in Vancouver, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talented and supportive management, flexible schedule, and an overall healthy work environment. BVM offers their publishers and associate publishers a unique opportunity to establish and run their own locally focused magazine.

    Cons

    The only negative aspect of BVM is that until you get your magazine published you're not receiving any income. Essentially, it's a "sweat-equity" situation, but it pays off in the long term.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Best Version Media Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Best Version Media? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Best Version Media

7 days ago

Company News
Read this week's BVM blog for more details about our Digital Design Awards! With more than 2,400 projects entered in this year’s program, only the top 10% of entries were chosen as winners by GDUSA.
Shared image - Best Version Media Recognized in the 2022 Digital Design Awards
Best Version Media Recognized in the 2022 Digital Design Awards
www.bestversionmedia.com
See all

Best Version Media Photos

+ Add Photo
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 BVM SKO Meetings
See All Photos