KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Best Version Media

Engaged Employer

Best Version Media

Add a Review

Best Version Media Employee Reviews about "publishers"

Updated Oct 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 595 reviews

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media Chief Executive Officer Kevin O’ Brien
Kevin O’ Brien
460 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Schedule was very hectic for little pay.(in 9 reviews)
  • "No salary until you make minimum sales to support the magazine for at least a year—usually takes 2(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Best Version Media and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "publishers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good Remote work for graphic designers

    Oct 19, 2020 - Graphic Designer in Brookfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of well thought out systems in place to keep people within their job descriptions.

    Cons

    Same old trouble with 'sales people (publishers)' who are unreasonable.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Media Relations

    Thank you for leaving us some feedback. We work with some of the most talented graphic designers in the industry!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great People, Supportive Bosses & Colleagues, But Not For Me

    Jun 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    To start with the positives, the people working at BVM, including fellow publishers, are incredibly nice and supportive. The culture is great, and there is unlimited potential for dedicated salespeople. The magazines are a great product. BVM has many happy clients, because they put the client first and foremost. Publishers and management truly want to help business owners improve their businesses.

    Cons

    Why I no longer work for BVM is this: it wasn't my thing. It is purely a sales job, and you are a door-to-door salesperson. You must make 40-50 cold calls a day to be successful, and garner at least 3 appointments a day. It's a ton of hard work, which is fine...but for the right person. If you are experienced in sales, you'll do great with cold calls, walk-ins, etc. The problem was I had no experience in sales and I disliked the walk-ins, cold calls, etc. I gave it a huge amount of time, but after a while, I realized I was unhappy and couldn't do this for 3 or more years. The other con is that in the weekly conference calls, management focuses on telling the "easy" stories; for instance, their #1 story is a female publisher (formerly a high school principal) who had no sales experience but went to print in less than a month. This is an absolute anomaly. They also have conference calls of publishers who go to print quickly, thereby not helping to improve the confidence of associate publishers who have yet to go to print. I kept feeling worse about myself with every call. I only heard 1 conference call where it took a female publisher much longer to go to print, and if you ask around with fellow publishers, that's the norm. I would honestly say if you go at this full-time, be prepared for 6-8 months of no income. That is more accurate. In regard to training, it was good but not great. You receive a ton of free training and sales materials, which is awesome, but when there's a training call, the "scenario" is always easy, for instance, a buyer who has a question or two, but always buys in the end. That's not how it works at all in the real world. Every sales appointment I had I was drilled and questioned and a lot of skepticism followed. I also think it depends on the area; if you are a publisher in a friendlier area (Southeast or Midwest), you definitely have an advantage over associate publishers in the more standoffish parts of the country. Also, I found that the people who were very successful at this job are stay-at-home moms, people who already have major contacts in their area, and those who have years upon years of sales experience.

    Continue reading
    32 people found this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Public Relations Manager

    We'd like to correct a few important facts that we believe were unintentionally transmitted due to a lack of understanding by the reviewer. Before that, we'd like to state that we appreciate this former Associate Publisher’s review. There are many personal experiences he or she has expressed very well. It seems like it just was not a good fit - we believe this person will do well in his or her next venture. 1. Our average Publisher goes to print in their 3rd month. Some do it way before, others it takes longer. It is a factor of the number of appointments they conduct. If they spread them out longer or pack them in shorter, which is the primary determining factor for when a Publisher goes to print. Also, many earn income even before that period of time with other incentives available. 2. This is as far from door-to-door sales as anything could be. The reviewer is not familiar with sales and understandably miss-uses the term. It is a business-to-business model and appointments are generated in all traditional business ways; from networking, LinkedIn, drop in's and calls. 3. The role of a Publisher is much broader than sales (although the sales portion is paramount). It's everything a Publisher position would assume to include, but with a great support team at home office, helping produce and administrate the magazines. 4. We have only one former stay at home mom in our ranks (of over 100). She is GREAT at the role, but most of our people are professionals and entrepreneurs with excellent experience, including being former Publishers. 5. With hundreds of magazines in print throughout North America, we also have hundreds of success stories. In fact, the person referenced (who is great) is a peer of dozens who perform at or above her level. So, we aren't sure where the isolated example comes in. We are rich in success stories.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Life Changing

    Dec 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The program is established and proven. The best thing about the BVM model is that there is a proven road map. Our Publishers have the opportunity to follow a plan that insures success! The Culture at BVM makes the DIFFERENCE!

    Cons

    I have not experienced any!

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Freelancer

    Publishers are most important

    Oct 5, 2016 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product provides insight to t neighborhood. Training and staff really care about the publishers. income opportunity is a reality;some publishers really make six figures income

    Cons

    I left the company because of the lack of benefits.Its funny, I'm only answering this review because I still get notifications from Glassdoor about reviews from best version. Typically they are all great;however, the last 5 are attacking the classification status of the 1099 sales force that best version has created.Not that I care because I'm a w2 sales person now ,but the responses from best version are wrong!!!google and research yourselves!!! Wow, companies can't hide behind independent contractor contracts, the IRS and dept of labor only really care about one major element..is the employer and worker independent from another?....Can the employer exist without the 1099s?lol... really?Best version would have no revenue without the publishers!!Are the workers economically dependent on the employer?Really?....every major publishers gets the majority of their income from best version.. this is a slamdunk.. quit the nonsense and change your status..

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A Dream Job!

    Mar 31, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I say a dream job, I mean a dream job! This job allows me to balance family life and also potentially earn an unlimited income. I have only been a contractor for BVM for about a month, but I have never had a more supportive group of coworkers in any job I have ever had. BVM offers extensive training to insure our success as Publishers. I am so grateful to have found this opportunity. A perfect job for anyone looking to live free from the 'rat race' and enjoy financial freedom!

    Cons

    I really cannot think of any cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    This Company Saved my Life

    Jan 7, 2016 - Publisher in Nutley, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best Version Media has given me the gift of Life back. Prior to Publishing for BVM, I worked for three Fortune 500 Companies. (Notice I said 'Publishing' and 'Worked') I was blindly wasting my life away in these dead end jobs with terrible pay, more demands and unappreciative management. Then they try and spit you out. I never realized the opportunity or journey I was about to embark on with BVM actually existed for regular people. This career gives me the opportunity to do everything I ever wanted to do with a career. I get to be my own boss, create my own schedule, earn as much as I want to earn and most importantly, I get to do something great in the communities I publish in. It has been a tremendous and uplifting experience being at the center of my community and delivering a great product to them each and every month that they love to read and get behind. The advertisers that help support the magazine I publish have become friends and great people that I most likely would have never been able to associate with. I am a resource for them as they are for my publication. We help each other and thats what its all about in a community. The culture of this company is amazing. There isn't one ounce of micro management and yet all senior management does is try to help you succeed. There are a plethora of resources available for you to succeed. The CEO of this company is the most inspiring and uplifting individual who brings out the best in everybody. We are all grateful that we have him to lead us in our journeys. He is able to connect with all of his employees personally and the lines of communication are always open. It has been a privilege getting to know him and learning from him. In what world, do you get to message or call your CEO? In my first year as publisher, I have achieved a lot. I got my magazine to print fairly quickly and led a region in advertising sales and also finished the year as one of the top publishers in the company. This company gives you a path to succeed. I have since been promoted to Division Manager and opportunities for advancement within the company are very realistic for those that want it. I have come across so many wonderful people in this company culture who are all here to help each other and root each other on to Be the Best Version of themselves everyday. From Senior Management to Home Office Staff to all the Publishers out in the field. Its truly a remarkable place to be. (Notice I did't say work, because it hasn't felt like work since day 1)

    Cons

    If you don't like having your time for your family, leisure, travel etc.....then this career for you. If you rather sit in a cube somewhere wasting your life away hoping for that 1% raise, then this isn't the career for you.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A Loving Company

    Feb 11, 2016 - Publisher in Long Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * ongoing training * a culture of cooperation in which other publishers like myself freely share best practices * a genuine sense that everyone from the CEO to the associate publishers really care about one another * great incentive programs * a tremendous amount of attention and encouragement from principals * There is no criticism when goals are not met. Rather, supervisors truly help those who are struggling succeed. * The commission structure is very generous, 80%, far and away higher than any other firm that I know of. * Very open to older publishers who have experience in other fields. * Age is no barrier. * Sometimes support staff answer emails on weekends and at nights. Really appreciate that, though I don't expect it. * CEO Dave Durand is inspirational. I love to hear his talk every week. * National Sales Manager Kevin Orton is one of the top three or four people I've ever known. A genuine, kind, supportive person.

    Cons

    I had to think about this for a bit. The only thing I'd say is that I'd like to be making more income, but that is in my hands, since it is completely commission-based and the commission is very generous.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great Company Culture

    Mar 12, 2021 - Associate Publisher in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Be an independent business owner with great head office support. Daily conference calls and regular one on more meetings with support staff help build the business with techniques and training.

    Cons

    Too much spotlight on veteran publishers with big deals. Nice to celebrate but usually means the newer publishers don't get public recognition for smaller dollar deals that dont make the top 100. This can be demotivating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Media Relations

    Thanks for the review! We support our people every step of the way by offering training and resources to help them find success. We're happy to have you on the team and we'll use this feedback to improve the role moving forward.

  9. 3.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    believe and achieve - or death of a ad salesman

    Apr 30, 2015 - Publisher in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great training support for newbie publishers. You can rain yourself to be an actual publisher. ths sky is the limit.

    Cons

    sell or die, you start from scratch and create a magazine that you never truly own. Follow the policy wonks, your magazine will be dull, irrelevant, and spiral downward. Running a magazine takes more than cold calling and selling ads. Clients wont support you if you dont provide magic.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Best Version Media Response

    Public Relations Manager

    Before I go into the reasons why we believe this is a competitor creating a false review I will address the concerns as though they are real. 1. We don't believe in having policies for policy sake. We only hold policies when we know that breaking them would lead to disaster. To prove the point with outside data: • According to a leading statistical data site statista.com 75.8% of all magazines that launched in the U.S. from 2009 -2014 went out of business. • However, Best Version Media, closed less than 1.5% of magazines during the same period of time. 100% of those closings were due to a switch in personnel, not a market challenge. • BVM's success rate is the highest in the industry, therefore the policies that this person apparently does not like, are there for a good reason. • As for BVM becoming the Yellow Pages, the analogy is comical to the MANY former Yellow Pages and Hibu people who work for us. They describe the difference between the Yellow Pages and BVM as night and day. 2. Our Publishers receive 80% of the profit above baseline when they build a magazine. They benefit at the highest level and more than any other party in the company. Here is our concern about this review and its validity. You decide. We have a very small group of Publishers in Milwaukee and they are all very happy with the position. We have received ZERO feedback like this from any of them. It would be odd that a dissatisfied person would not raise a single concern to a very present team (including our CEO who offers his cell number to all members of BVM and a fully open door). Why fake your satisfaction in person and never raise a concern but then publicly say things that are actually not even true about our program? We'd be less concerned if our major competitor who does this sort of fake reviewing (attending fake interviews to extract information etc.) did not recently ramp up their hiring in the Milwaukee Market. Nor would we be concerned with the validity of the review if we even had a hint of dissatisfaction from a Publisher in Milwaukee. It is particularly odd since the stance we take on policy is the opposite. We firmly believe that "policy for policy sake is a ridiculous policy." We evolve quite rapidly and it is precisely due to listening to our top people. The entire look of our magazines, content provided and relationship with our clients has evolved and, for each step in the evolution we can point to a Publisher (or many) who had the ideas. This is what makes this review dubious. If this person is truly from BVM in Milwaukee, we invite him or her to discuss the concerns. In fact, our CEO Dave Durand, told me, he'd be happy to take a call or grab a coffee one on one in the BVM cafe to understand the nature of the issue. Lastly, in regards to us becoming the Yellow Pages. This is also a suspicious comment. We are thriving in Milwaukee. We have been in this market for 8 years and our Magazines have never closed and have never had more content nor advertising than they do today. The way they look is so different from 8 years ago that the company is barely recognizable. AKA: we move with the times, evolve and listen to our top Publishers.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    BVM is an excellent company...well managed and very inspiring!

    Jan 20, 2015 - Associate Publisher in Vancouver, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talented and supportive management, flexible schedule, and an overall healthy work environment. BVM offers their publishers and associate publishers a unique opportunity to establish and run their own locally focused magazine.

    Cons

    The only negative aspect of BVM is that until you get your magazine published you're not receiving any income. Essentially, it's a "sweat-equity" situation, but it pays off in the long term.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with Best Version Media Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Best Version Media? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Best Version Media

0 days ago

Culture
It's time for another Q&A Spotlight on the BVM Blog! This exciting series is a great way to learn about our award-winning culture at Best Version Media.
Shared image - Q&A Spotlight: Jessica Macpherson
Q&A Spotlight: Jessica Macpherson
www.bestversionmedia.com
See all

Best Version Media Photos

+ Add Photo
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
Best Version Media photo of: 2022 Production Meetings
See All Photos