KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Add a Review

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 30, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,105 of over 1K reviews
3.9
76% Recommend to a Friend
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center President & CEO Kevin Tabb, M.D.
73% Approve of CEO

Found 21 of over 1K reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center President & CEO Kevin Tabb, M.D.
Kevin Tabb, M.D.
337 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

1d

a 

Registered Nurse

Looking for ideas for a slight "career change". I can't stand working bedside/acute care nursing anymore, officially burnt out. Does anyone have any experience with informatics based nursing jobs, or clinical documentation specialist positions? EMR auditing? Remote jobs? Pros/cons? Do you find there are part time positions available? I don't have my masters just my BSN/RB, nor do I plan on going back for my masters, would possibly consider a certification if really necessary.

18

9 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and the people who I worked with were all great.(in 72 reviews)
  • "Nice people to work with(in 68 reviews)
  • "Great staff and always awesome patients!(in 53 reviews)
  • "Most of my coworkers are great(in 31 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours and stability.(in 19 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay and not a lot of staff(in 76 reviews)
  • "The salary is low for other positions in the area(in 44 reviews)
  • "There was a time when management was poor however they are changing things so hopefully it get better(in 44 reviews)
  • "Parking is expensive and inconvenient.(in 27 reviews)
  • "No one seems to have realized how many managers and directors have left in the last 3(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Feb 6, 2021 - Clinical Research Associate, Specialist (CRA II - In House) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent work environment! Everyone is supportive on the research teams

    Cons

    Long hours, but that comes with overtime pay!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Nov 30, 2021 - Physician Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly staff, amazing resources

    Cons

    Long hours, high patient volume

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    "Diverse" is hardly the word

    Jul 2, 2021 - Front Desk Receptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kind co-workers Motivated residents + physicians Okay benefits

    Cons

    Registration - Incredibly unkind and inaccessible to patients, particularly in the trans community. Registration at Beth Israel and Lahey Health is an outdated and grueling system that frustrates patients to the point where they are forced into accepting a gender marker that is not their own, leaving them with a bad taste in their mouths. Not to mention the registration phones in departments are located in a public area that is hardly what I would call private. HIPAA violations abound and discomfort galore. Registration as a whole needs a complete overhaul. Lack of help - Upper management is terrible at listening to their employees, saying they will provide them extra support and help "all they need to do is ask." Well I had asked multiple times for help and support and never received it. BILH throws you in and expects you to swim in a sea of sharks without any lifeline then blames YOU when you are inundated with work, saying that you should have spoken up. PTO - Oh, and as staff? Don't even bother to try and use PTO. When I left, I banked thousands of dollars in PTO because I was never able to use it due to my long hours and refusal to help me in finding coverage or cross-training another member of the department. Every time I asked for time off, I was given complaint after complaint and gripe after gripe. I was guilted into never taking time off while everyone else around me was able to enjoy vacations. My mental health suffered because of it and when I tried to explain, they brushed me off. Terrible, terrible employer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Very stressful

    Feb 23, 2021 - ER Technician in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team player, Weekly paid, good compensaron

    Cons

    Long Hours, overworked, Job Security

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Research Fellow

    Aug 28, 2020 - Research Fellow 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great research facilities Great collaborative environment

    Cons

    Long hours Lower Work-life balance Long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    great place to work

    Apr 2, 2019 - Research Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    doctors are nice team is great to work with

    Cons

    little pay to research assistant long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    hostile work environment with great benefits

    Apr 9, 2019 - Research Assistant I 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits (ie. paid time off, Health, dental insurance, 401K)

    Cons

    As a research assistant, There is no room for career growth (ie. promotions, increase pay, etc). Need to be okay work long hours (ie. >8hours/day) to complete experiments depends on your PI

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Postdoctoral Fellow

    Nov 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible hours, convenient location, interesting work

    Cons

    Poor pay, long hours, demanding

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    fellow

    Mar 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good patient mix, good faculty

    Cons

    long hours, old emr that needs updating

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I have been an RN here for the last 3 years! I have always been treated as part of a team

    Dec 19, 2017 - Registered Nurse in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teamwork. I have always been supported in this environment. From my coworkers on the floor to my managers I’ve been given the upmost support and moving towards my career goals and meeting them.

    Cons

    Childcare benefits for employees is nearly nonexistent. I do not have children myself but as an advocate to change the future of the workplace benefits. I would hope to see a change in the future that would benefit each employee who works in a position of long hours from 7 to 7 in meeting the demands for childcare for these long hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

or

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Photos

+ Add Photo
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: A look inside BIDMC Chestnut Hill
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: Our Pathology Team - 2019
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: BIDMC Celebrates Ninth Annual Latino Hispanic Achievement Awards
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: Pipeline Candidate
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: Pipeline Program Graduates - 2019
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: BIDMC representing at the AIDS Walk &amp; Run 2019
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center photo of: 30th Annual Martin Luther King Awards
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 1,105 Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center reviews submitted anonymously by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center is right for you.