Bethany Lutheran Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

Bethany Lutheran Homes Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
43%
Recommend to a Friend
Bethany Lutheran Homes CEO Todd Wilson (no image)
Todd Wilson
0 Rating
  1. "Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in La Crosse, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bethany Lutheran Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was helpful and informative

    Cons

    We were short staffed quite often

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2018-11-21
  2. "Flexible and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in La Crosse, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bethany Lutheran Homes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling for students and availability to increase hours. Competitive pay for the area. Friendly coworkers, family atmosphere. Paid training and continuing education credits. Open to new suggestions with procedures. Pay increase depending on experience and financial feasibility.

    Cons

    Some politics related to patient care plans. Upper management less likely to listen to direct caregiver feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to direct caregiver feedback before implementation of care plan changes. Supervisors should work variety of shifts am, pm, noc in order to best understand facility workings.

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2014-08-09
  3. "They take care of there own not only in your career, but social and family life as well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Resident Care Assistant in La Crosse, WI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bethany Lutheran Homes

    Pros

    Very competitive pay Very flexible for students Easily acquire time off for family and education Paid mandatory and unmandatory training Prize Incentives for training and work performance

    Cons

    Communication is not always passed along Depending on the community you work, you may be treated differently Not very many cons, great company

    Advice to Management

    Provides great feedback to their employees

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2011-12-09
  4. "Typical day at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - STNA 

    I have been working at Bethany Lutheran Homes part-time

    Pros

    You get help from others, builds thick skin and time managment skills.

    Cons

    Lots of work compared to other places, sometimes shortstaffed which was stressful

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2019-07-06
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Resident Care Assistant 

    I worked at Bethany Lutheran Homes part-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, good hours, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Sometimes short staffed which made things a bit more stressful

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2019-03-05
  6. "CNA at Bethany Riverside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bethany Lutheran Homes part-time

    Pros

    Fun co-workers, paid training on your own time, most residents are pleasant, many opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Inflexible scheduling, difficult to get support needed for certain residents

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2018-08-27
  7. "C.N.A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bethany Lutheran Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot and have wonderful coworkers.

    Cons

    You can burn out fast due to staffing issues and lack of support from management.

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2018-05-21
  8. "Love the Residents but Don’t Love Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide in La Crosse, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bethany Lutheran Homes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked in dietary for about two years and I can honestly say I absolutely love my coworkers. They foster an appreciative, caring environment that is clearly lacking in management and nursing management. The residents are all amazing and I look forward to seeing them every day. I care a lot about my coworkers and the residents which is why I’m very frustrated with how the facility is being run. They offer decent benefits in my opinion, even if you’re working part time. I think it’s great they also offer a Tuition Investment Program for students.

    Show More

    Cons

    I make 10 cents more as an employee of two years than someone who has just walked in the door. I have never gotten a 6 month review that was promised upon hiring and I know most of my coworkers have not gotten one either. There’s a lot of staff that are negligent and do not do their jobs that are often overlooked. This has been brought up to upper management and nothing has been done to change it. I feel ignored by my supervisor when I have concerns or requests (like a review). Bethany pays less than other care facilities in the area when it comes to CNA/RCA positions. They also hire mainly RCAs because they don’t need training or certification beforehand, meaning they don’t need to pay them as much. This is really evident when seeing how they work with residents, how they act around them, and away from them. They often gossip about resident’s private matters. I’ve heard many residents complain that their call lights take a long time to answer and sometimes they are completely ignored. That’s really horrible to imagine considering it could be an emergency. It seems a lot of the RCAs act inconvenienced by having to care for residents and I feel horrible for them. I’m working on being a certified nursing assistant now and will be looking to work elsewhere because I could not tolerate the treatment the residents receive as someone who is responsible for their care.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please work on communication between staff and management. More often than not I’ve seen staff completely ignored or blown off when they have concerns. I also think there should be strict education on negligence because I honestly believe most of the staff have no clue ignoring a call light is wrong. Review employees consistently so the ones who genuinely care about residents and their work are compensated accordingly. Overall I’ve loved the time I’ve worked for Bethany. My coworkers and the residents make my days very enjoyable. Unfortunately the longer I’m there the more negative things I notice about the company and will be unable to stay there long term, even though that would be ideal.

    Show More
    Bethany Lutheran Homes2018-01-20
  9. "Dementia Specific Units"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bethany Lutheran Homes

    Pros

    There are dementia directed halls within the facility.

    Cons

    When there is short staffing, they tend to have to mandate staff members to stay on another shift.

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2016-10-25
  10. "Was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Bethany Lutheran Homes

    Pros

    People were kind and nice. really flexible. willing to work with my high school schedule and other activities.

    Cons

    too less of a pay for the hard work we put in. everyday cna endure sweats and bruises. we don't get pay enough to do all this hard stuff

    Advice to Management

    increase pay and less patients per cna. better training for the cna. i felt unprepared and then i get yelled at for doing the wrong things

    Bethany Lutheran Homes2016-10-24
Found 13 reviews