BetterCloud Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BetterCloud CEO David Politis (no image)
David Politis
113 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Office Manager - Anonymous"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BetterCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolute love it here at Bettercloud. This title has given me flexibility to study for my Masters degree, so I can advance in the company with People and Culture department. The people are so diverse, talented, kind and amazing. Iḿ only 21 years old just starting out my career and I could have asked for better. Great pay, benefits, lunches on certain days, stocked kitchen, holiday celebrations, the list goes on and on.

    Cons

    Nothing I have to say but amazing. Just wish they had 401k match, but I have an IRA so Iḿ good

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    June 19, 2020Sr. People and Culture Coordinator

    We always love when people feel supported by the broader BetterCloud team! That's what we set out to do, and I'm glad you've felt like you've had the flexibility to succeed. Please remember to continue to bring feedback to the People Team. Our doors are always open!

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Just okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Really prepare you for future sales roles *Coffee, beer, free snacks *Managers do care about your progress and try their best to set you up for success * Compensation

    Cons

    * There was definitely a lack of communication from the top down * If you didn't book a meeting there would almost be a sense of shame cast down on you * CEO is very driven and motivated, couldn't say the same regarding the other upper management * The culture was a bit toxic. Almost felt like a fraternity type of setting. Just very clicky and not very inclusive. *No real progress in the technology over the last 2-3 years. Roadmap always seemed to be delayed. *No real recognition for your efforts * Don't really prepare you that well for the role. Just two weeks of onboarding then ship you out. If you don't deliver in a months time, you're basically let go.

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    July 27, 2020People Business Partner

    Hey there - thank you so much for writing in. It's a bummer you didn't have as great of an experience here as we hope. We strive to provide all of our employees with opportunities to grow, receive recognition, and provide us with feedback. Some of the items you mentioned we'd love to dig into a little more if you're willing. I know our leaders in the sales org work very hard to deliver an atmosphere filled with motivation and support, and if you ever would like to provide additional feedback on where you felt that was lacking, please don't hesitate to reach out to the People Team. Our doors are always open.


  3. Helpful (8)

    "Okay place, not great culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great colleagues. Everyone is smart, hard-working, and very resourceful. They were the best part of working at BetterCloud Travel between offices is endorsed Free snacks + cold brew + alcohol, some catered lunches ~2x a quarter Good/competitive compensation

    Cons

    Executive leadership team Disorganized from top-down No promotion tracks or clear feedback loops Too many P1s that are not reflected with team size Draining overall environment (individual teams have pretty decent team cultures) -- everyone is very driven, but the mood generally seems negative. Not super motivating Bad org-wide communication, not a ton of transparency, and A LOT of office politics Benefits aren't anything special (and aren't super competitive with what is out there in the market)

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    June 19, 2020Sr. People and Culture Coordinator

    Thank you for taking time to write this out - honest feedback, whether positive or constructive, is helpful, and part of the culture here at BetterCloud. To start, I'm glad your experience with the BetterCloud team was enjoyable. The people we bring in are, like you mentioned, some of the smartest and hardworking people in the industry, and we couldn't be more proud of the team we have in place. To dig into some of your more constructive feedback - our transparency between our ELT and the company is something we really pride ourselves on, and if you didn't see or feel that we'd like to dig into that more with you, if you feel comfortable reaching out to us. It's a bummer you felt like this, but we have always maintained a position that feedback like this is very helpful for us in identifying areas of growth, but also in communication. If you ever feel like elaborating on any of this, please know the door is always open.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Started out great, rapidly shifted"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Talented and dedicated employees, good community within teams - Okay benefits - Exciting industry - Double-edged sword of start-up culture

    Cons

    - No growth or promotion paths - Issues among leadership: if you're not a favorite, you won't have a good experience - Poor D&I and community initiatives: very few women and people of color in leadership roles (and among employees). Lack of interest in volunteering/company's impact on the environment and community - No manager training - Focus on growth at the expense of employee wellbeing - Poor communication - High expectations with low rewards

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    June 23, 2020Sr. People and Culture Coordinator

    Thank you so much for writing in and sharing your feedback. We're sad that you didn't have the well-rounded experience that we work hard to deliver, but the feedback you described is, as always, helpful for our own internal growth. At BetterCloud, we're dedicated to making sure that our employees feel supported in their roles, but also in their growth and aspirations for their careers. Some of the items that you've mentioned (Manager Training, D&I, etc), I'm happy to say that we're actively working on strengthening through combined efforts and dedication from our ELT and People Teams. As we like to say, the door is always open for you to dive in a little deeper with us. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to provide more feedback - we're here to listen. Thank you again!

  5. "Great overall experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good compensation plan - Office is awesome (2 kegs, snacks, cold-brew, etc.) - Fun competitive culture

    Cons

    - Communication between teams isn't always the best and career progression path is not always clear (although they have made big improvements here) - Addressable market, their is not alignment between what leaders tell you we can sell vs what the product can actually do. - Continuing education focused mostly on product knowledge vs developing better sales people

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    June 19, 2020Sr. People and Culture Coordinator

    Thank you for taking some time to write this out - we're so glad that your experience at BetterCloud was enjoyable. We're really proud of the culture we've built over the years, but with that being said, we're always open to feedback. Communication and employee growth is something we're passionate about, and view as ever-growing areas - our dedication to this will only grow as we continue to build the BetterCloud team. If you'd ever like to elaborate more on some of these improvement areas, please email us! We're more than happy to continue the conversation.

  6. Helpful (10)

    "Ok, Let go on Maternity Leave!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of People and Culture in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    open office travel good people there

    Cons

    not much direction too much to do

  7. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dream job, Fun, work hard play hard

    Cons

    I don't think I have any

    BetterCloud Response

    April 21, 2020People and Culture Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving a review! We're glad everything is living up to your expectations. Please remember to always come to the People and Culture Team with any feedback! We love to hear from our BetterClouders.

  8. "It’s been one of the best experiences with a top notch company."

    5.0
     

    I have been working at BetterCloud

    Pros

    The people are beyond welcoming and go out of their way to make sure that you are included. The company spares no expense to ensure you are ready to go from day one, and they put the time and effort in to ensure that everyone feels at home!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    April 21, 2020People and Culture Coordinator

    We love when our BetterCloud team feels comfortable and supported - that's one of our missions from day one of employment for everyone who joins the team. Please feel free to book time with anyone on the P&C Team if you'd like to give any other feedback! Our doors are always open!

  9. "Great place great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterCloud full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome office, great people, company on the rise

    Cons

    Unclear organizational structure as it continues to grow

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    December 11, 2019People and Culture Coordinator

    The "people" part of BetterCloud is something we couldn't be more thrilled about. We have some of the most ambitious, hardworking people making up our team, and the additions they bring to our culture is second to none. Thank you for your post! As for structure, we appreciate the feedback. While we're growing, things will change - but we have a great, transparent leadership team who works hard on keeping everyone in the loop. Stay tuned!

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Missing HR controls and immaturity in leaders"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BetterCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and great potential.

    Cons

    Massively top heavy. All nights and weekends work due to lack of planning. Tech leaders have no people management skills. HR plays favorites and let some senior members do whatever they can.

    Continue reading

    BetterCloud Response

    December 11, 2019People and Culture Coordinator

    Thank you for your post! We always value great, constructive feedback. It's definitely not great to hear that you felt like you needed to work on nights or weekends, as that's not something we enforce nor advocate for. We're all about personal accountability and try to be as flexible as possible for all of our employees. We'd love for you to elaborate more - our doors (and emails) are always open, currently with us or not!

Found 138 reviews