Betts Recruiting Reviews | Glassdoor

Betts Recruiting Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Betts Recruiting CEO CAROLYN BETTS
CAROLYN BETTS
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun, energetic, culture with many company outings, happy hours, sporting events, holiday parties, and unplanned karaoke nights at the office(in 6 reviews)

  • "Some of the most wonderful people I have met in the Bay Area(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons here at Betts(in 9 reviews)

  • "Long hours- if you don't want to work longer than 9-5, this probably is not the right place(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Incredible Company with lots of growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at Betts Recruiting in 2 different offices for several years and have truly enjoyed it everyday. Personally, I've been promoted 3 times and genuinely feel it's a priority for Betts to promote their employees. Betts values are incorporated to daily life, including loving what we do, building genuine relationships with colleagues, candidates and clients and work-life balance.

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Betts Recruiting2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Start to Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Exposure to management young, able to build relationships with executives of companies at an early age. - Growth opportunities within the company based on personal success.

    Cons

    - Lack of transparency. - Communication.

    Advice to Management

    - Being a leader is 100% based on earned respect. When you don’t have that, it’s hard to trust the guidance of anyone. Managers could have that if they worked for it, big issue is that they don't try.

    Betts Recruiting2019-08-21
  3. "Tons of growth and opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - tons of room for growth, you take on a lot of responsibility, learn a lot in a short time, and it will set you up for success now & in the future - collaborative culture - ability to work with top clients from the start - great benefits: (unlimited PTO, 401k, snacks/ coffee, team outings & events, etc)

    Cons

    - not a con but this job requires hustle like any startup. Not the place to be if you're not ready to work hard!

    Advice to Management

    -

    Betts Recruiting2019-08-08
  4. "Amazing place to work, learn and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Segment Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started working here straight out of college and have been lucky to have had multiple different roles here on different teams, therefore getting to learn from multiple amazing leaders and leadership styles. A few pros for me have been: -Trust and exposure: Carolyn and our managers trust us (with training obviously) very early on in our careers to manage relationships with CEOs, VPs and Directors at top clients. I... don't think there's too many other workplaces where you're on a daily texting basis with CEO's of amazing companies as a 23 year old. -Growth: There are many different paths to grow here between trying a different segment of recruiting, moving in management or an MD role, moving onto a different team internally (marketing, people operations, etc.), starting a new office in a new territory, moving to the sales/BD side, or staying within your segment and hitting milestones/promotions there. Those are just a few I can think of that I have seen people grow into internally! -Fun: This job is just straight up fun. As a young professional, it's my job to connect with other motivated, impressive young professionals with incredibly exciting companies and help guide them through the interviewing process. We get to take candidates and clients to dinners/drinks/events to celebrate wins while also celebrating internal wins through team events such as sailing trips, cooking classes, limo rides, wine country tours, and many more. And don't even get me started on President's Club! I can honestly say I've never had Sunday Scaries while working here because of how fun it is to come to work every day. -Money: I never thought I'd be making the money I'm making at my age, especially working a job that doesn't (for the most part) require crazy hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    This isn't a con for me, but this job is a lot of work, which sometimes gets overlooked by the fun. While on a normal day, you're usually out of the office by 6, I've certainly had days where I've worked until 11pm sourcing, catching up, etc. For people with a sales attitude who want to over perform and make a lot of money, this is normal, but for people who want to coast on a 9-5 salaried job, you may not be... successful here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing :)

    Betts Recruiting2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hands down, best place I've worked at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Best company I've ever worked for! - Incredibly smart, hard-working, fun, energetic, encouraging, positive, driven team! - The managers genuinely care and are supportive, not only do they listen to your suggestions, they actually implement them. Super collaborative, and give good constructive feedback. - Recognition is given to employees on a frequent basis for hard work and exceeding expectations - Company... culture is transparent and it starts at the top (great leaders in place, that drive professional development and personal growth) - Move pretty quickly to deliver impactful value to clients and candidates. - Personal growth is dependant on merit and hard work! - There is also a good work/life balance - Everyone's idea is heard

    Show More

    Cons

    - The expectations to perform and deliver are high. - You'll have the support of management and your peers to learn and grow but you'll have to bring the positive/growth mindset. - It is a metrics-based environment - if you're not used to working achieving your goal's or #'s, might not be the best fit. Tend to set the bar high!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! I appreciate the honest culture you have created, especially as we scale.

    Betts Recruiting2019-07-25

    Betts Recruiting Response

    August 6, 2019CEO

    I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Glassdoor. It's great to hear that you feel supported and recognized by the leaders of our company, are finding professional growth and development and enjoying the team and culture we've worked hard to build. Keep up the ...

    Show More
  6. "Top Notch Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I began my career at Betts right out of college and it was the perfect place to build a strong foundation, early in my career. - Incredible exposure to a diverse set of world class companies and leaders in the industry which gives unique visibility into the market. - CEO is invested in her employees and treats them well and this trickles down to the rest of management. - Employees are encouraged and... enabled to do great work and achieve success. - It's a fun environment built on the idea that hard work pays off and people are celebrated and rewarded when they succeed. - Super transparent culture and CEO is always approachable and available to anyone at any level of seniority. - Elliot O.

    Show More

    Cons

    None. Many others on Glassdoor mention how much of a grind it is to work at Betts but the fact of the matter is that sales jobs are hard no matter where you work. It is what you make of it and you can be very successful at Betts.

    Betts Recruiting2019-07-28

    Betts Recruiting Response

    August 6, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Betts. We absolutely loved having you as a team member. You made a significant impact in your time here and we look forward to keeping in touch and are excited for your new endeavor working for a Betts client!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Close, but no cigar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Ability to make lasting relationships with top CEO's -Fun environment -Compensation - only if willing to put the work in

    Cons

    -Unpredictable CEO -Lack of diversity -Employee turnover -Underqualified managers

    Advice to Management

    -More transparency -Consistent learning and development for managers and recruiters -Carolyn needs to lead by example. Alcohol-fueled benders don't need to be seen or shared. It's very off-putting for a lot of employees. We admire your work ethic but the lifestyle is a different story.

    Betts Recruiting2019-08-05

    Betts Recruiting Response

    August 6, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. There's a fine line between having a celebratory culture and occasionally taking it too far. I appreciate your transparency, and we're increasing our emphasis on team activities that are not centered around alcohol to be more ...

    Show More
  8. "Great company alert!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique Groth Opportunities: Learn, Grow and Challenge yourself. Realistic comp plans to get you into big money-making areas. Visibility to get in front of the country's hottest Founders, CEOs and Hiring Managers. Ability to do what you love, where do you accel and thrive, build that into your day! Control over your job, you are the CEO of your own segment. Flexibility to travel to all 5 of our offices to work.... Stock options! Challenging Environment to help you grow Try new things, get creative! You will have the companies support. CEO is invested in the growth of her employees on a professional and personal level.

    Show More

    Cons

    People work very hard and are invested in getting to their number, sometimes working long hours, this is not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving things forward, keep investing in training and keep crushing it.

    Betts Recruiting2019-07-16

    Betts Recruiting Response

    August 6, 2019CEO

    So happy you're enjoying your experience here at Betts. It sounds like you're learning a ton and taking ownership over your success and career. I'm thrilled you're liking the work you're doing and the people we're partnering with. Keep up the great work, sounds like you're doing an ...

    Show More
  9. "Great first job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive work environment, allows for learning curve, room for growth opportunities, fast paced

    Cons

    Some may consider fast-paced a con, but if you work at a start-up company it should be expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Betts Recruiting2019-07-15

    Betts Recruiting Response

    August 6, 2019CEO

    Welcome to Betts! It's great to hear that you're enjoying our fast-paced environment and see lots of growth ahead. Looking forward to seeing awesome things in your future here.

  10. "Incredible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Betts Recruiting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Betts genuinely cares about its candidates, employees, and internal staff. CEO is engaging and there is so much to learn from her quick growth learn about the market

    Cons

    No cons to working at betts!

    Betts Recruiting2019-07-11

    Betts Recruiting Response

    August 6, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I'm so happy to hear that you've already become a Recruiter and can see that we value our team members. Looking forward to seeing you continue to grow here!

Found 82 reviews