KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

BevMo!

Part of Gopuff
Engaged Employer

BevMo!

Add a Review

BevMo! Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Nov 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 531 reviews

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
BevMo! President and CEO Josiah Knutsen (no image)
Josiah Knutsen
59 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Store manager is an idiot!! Low pay!! Can't move up unless you kiss to the right people!! Inconsistent hours!!(in 46 reviews)
  • "site over poor management.(in 33 reviews)
  • "I was put on the floor the first day they opened with no training at all!(in 24 reviews)
  • "+(multiple stores) managers don't back you up & are disrespectful(in 19 reviews)
  • "No benefits for PT.(in 15 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of BevMo! and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Associate

    Oct 26, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, you develop a pretty decent knowledge of alcohol that comes in handy when you want to impress others/be a snob

    Cons

    Rigid corporate structure, didn't equally increase pay raises to be comensurate with time on the job

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great & Fun Place to work

    Dec 6, 2018 - Head Clerk in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bevmo is a great place to work for anyone who wants a nice gig beyond the regular retail experience. Lots of paid benefits beyond traditional retail gigs including vacation, medical, insurance (health, vision and dental), 401K enrollment etc. Great and flexible hours that work well for work and study schedules. Employee discount on alcohol products

    Cons

    Need more development programs for employees. Inadequate pay for the volume of work High turnover for employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Only a good job if management likes you

    Jun 13, 2013 - Sales Associate in Bellingham, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great co-workers -Hours are flexible -Clean environment -Relatively easy job (especially if you know where everything is in the store) -Almost all of the customers are fun to talk to

    Cons

    -Low hours -poor training -bad management -no benefits for part time employees I was put on the floor the first day they opened with no training at all! I had no idea what to do and every time a customer asked me something I had to tell them I didn't know. I didn't know how to look items up on the computer or where anything was located - I couldn't answer any of their questions! It was so embarrassing They provide you with very little training (our training consisted of them telling us about the company). They also get mad at you if you don't know how to do something but they never trained you on it. I know I lost the store sales because I had to tell customers we didn't have a certain item because I couldn't find it on the shelves and I didn't know how to look an item up - only to find out later we did have that item. If you want to be trained on anything (like how to use the cash register) you either get a 2 minute walk through by management if you're lucky or you have to have someone else who knows how to show you. Management doesn't know what they were doing - the first week we were using the cash registers we weren't assigned a register, didn't have to sign in or count the till - it would of been almost too easy to pocket a customers money if I wanted to! I had almost 40 hours the first week I worked there because it was grand opening but after that I was down to an average of 5 hours a week. After a while ALL of our hours went down significantly - I was switched to being 'on call' meaning they'd call me if they had no other choice. I'm still employed there but haven't worked in over a month. And they do play favorites. To be honest I don't think it's that bad of a company to work for - I just think it just depends on which store you're working and who your managers are.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Be prepared to multi task

    Nov 26, 2016 - Bevmologist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay for retail, discounts, customers are generally good to wait on. More flexible hours than many other retail jobs

    Cons

    Scheduling for busy times is way to light. If you work on a weekend night be prepared to be on the run for your whole shift. Its almost dangerous because you are waiting on customers, running, carrying cases, pushing carts loaded with product etc. and a security risk to be that lightly staffed.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great part-time associate gig. Terrible full-time lead gig.

    Jan 9, 2022 - Sales Lead in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at BevMo as an associate was some of the most fun I’ve had at work. I’ve worked at three stores and the culture at each of them was excellent. The workload is manageable and the hours are very flexible. If you’re looking for a second gig or a college job, BevMo is a great place to work.

    Cons

    When I was promoted to a lead, however, that’s when everything started to change. You’re only paid marginally better than an associate. Your workload increase is grossly disproportionate to your pay—you are now in charge of managing and maintaining an entire department while still fulfilling the same duties you had as an associate. The flexibility in hours disappears. You are now subject to BevMo’s unfortunately inept corporate sector, who will often visit and make changes to your section or your store even if there’s nothing wrong, solely to make changes for the sake of making changes. I have watched my coworkers go from associate to lead and have seen the light disappear from their eyes and the energy they once had very quickly disappear in a matter of days. It is not worth your time moving up the ranks of BevMo.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Changing Environment

    Nov 21, 2021 - Retail Operations Lead in Citrus Heights, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively flexible hours Discounts in store and through Gopuff app Sell Alcohol

    Cons

    Wasteful company Routine cut in hours Customers can be entitled and corporate lacks a spine Noticeably less access to the newest releases in products (especially in beer)

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Bevmo

    Mar 27, 2022 - DSD Receiver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours if your part time

    Cons

    Store is badly understaff Many tasks are of the pointless variety,

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    part time working with BevMo!

    Aug 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Concord, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great if a person has another job or a family.

    Cons

    Not enough hours to go around at times.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    BevMo Review

    Jun 8, 2019 - Head Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    +Flexible hours (depending on scheduling manager) +Benefits +401k matching +(store specific) great, understanding, and fair manager

    Cons

    +They can schedule you all closing shifts & take advantage of you being low man on the totem pole +Unequal pay +(multiple stores) managers don't back you up & are disrespectful +High turnover of associates

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Get out while you can

    Aug 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really don't see many pros than besides if you need a part time job, the hours are somewhat flexible.

    Cons

    For being in management the pay is a joke. There are no benefits. To get around giving benefits they cut everyones hours down to a maximum of 25 a week. They don't care about the store employees. They spend countless dollars on stupid sales and promotions. No motivation or incentive to move up.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

Popular Careers with BevMo! Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BevMo!? Share Your Experiences

or

BevMo! Careers

Cover image for BevMo!

Favorite place to shop for wine, beer, spirits, snacks and more! Our neighborhood stores are in great locations in major metropolitan...More

  • Our People
  • Careers
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

BevMo!

2181 days ago

BevMo! is hiring for the Season! Find the store nearest you and apply today: flexible hours, employee discount and fun work environment.
Shared image
See all

BevMo! Photos

+ Add Photo
BevMo! photo of: Store front
BevMo! photo of: Beautiful Palm Springs
BevMo! photo of: Whittier Store
BevMo! photo of: Palm Springs Store
BevMo! photo of: Dana Point Store
BevMo! photo of: Cheers!
BevMo! photo of: Good drinks, Good gifts
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BevMo! Job Seekers Also Viewed

Total Wine & More Logo
Total Wine & More

3.3

1,569 Reviews
Compare