KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

BevMo!

Part of Gopuff
Engaged Employer

BevMo!

Add a Review

BevMo! Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Sep 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 529 reviews

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
BevMo! President and CEO Josiah Knutsen (no image)
Josiah Knutsen
59 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Store manager is an idiot!! Low pay!! Can't move up unless you kiss to the right people!! Inconsistent hours!!(in 51 reviews)
  • "site over poor management.(in 32 reviews)
  • "I was put on the floor the first day they opened with no training at all!(in 25 reviews)
  • "No benefits for PT.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Upper management was horrible and very high school like.(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of BevMo! and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I think It's Great

    Jul 15, 2018 - Cashier in Antioch, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super flexible schedule. I could make plans, let my manager know and he would give me the time off. You get 10% off of everything. All my co-workers are nice. I learned a lot about alcohol since I started there. I came from a full-time physically and emotionally intense job. This is a breeze. Great job for anyone starting out at a job for the first time. Working the register I can't answer a lot of questions but I could call out to the shift manager and they are more than happy to answer me or take care of the customer for me. The customers are great. I like making jokes with them to get them to laugh. I like swapping drink recipes with customers too. I don't know what those other reviews are talking about. This is an entry-level retail job for people, what do you expect?

    Cons

    Most shifts are 4.5 hours so you are lucky to get 18 hours a week. Pays a little over minimum wage. It can be tiring if you spend your whole shift stocking shelves, its a lot of carrying boxes up and down step ladders. I'm getting older and it can take a toll on my knees to have to keep kneeling to stock the lower shelves. If you work a register most of the time you can't answer simple questions from people. You really have to research and learn about alcohol on your own outside of learning as you go. Not really much upward for employees unless they are there for a while. A store can only have a certain amount of managers. As a cashier, I have actually stood at the register and checked out customers for 4.5 straight hours with a 10-minute break. Sometimes it is 3 hours straight before the break.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Wage

    May 10, 2017 - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The easiest minimum wage job I have ever worked in

    Cons

    You see regular beverage consumers on a daily basis

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It is what it is

    May 26, 2017 - Head Clerk in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work scheduling is more flexible than other retail stores as you begin your tenure at BevMo! You're actually encouraged to taste wine, beer, and champagne as part of your job description.

    Cons

    This is minimum wage job. Expect to work the minimum amount of time and be penalized for working past your scheduled hours.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Apathy towards store-level employees

    Nov 2, 2015 - Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer decent product knowledge training It's possible to advance internally They have a ton of locations so multiple possibilities for employment 10% employee discount

    Cons

    Extremely low pay rates versus industry standards at each level Almost no training program for advancement. It's the luck of the draw if you get a manager who cares enough of offer training to help advance a career. Hourly wages just above minimum wage and a 25 hour/week cap for all part time employees to avoid paying benefits. Part time staff is expected to perform multiple tasks that would normally be rewarded with higher wages and benefits with none of those extras actually offered. (upselling, add-on selling, complicated product knowledge with regard to thousands of different wines and spirits. Top management levels change like a revolving door. 3 senior VP's in less than 6 years meant multiple changes in company visions and poor implementations of rushed efforts to show they could make real changes in order to prove they deserved their 6-7 figure salaries to the board of directors. 5 cent sale is actually a huge con on the public made to seem like it is almost saving you half the cost when you buy every 2 bottles of select wines. In reality, the wines carry the largest initial mark-ups of all the wine in the store from cost to retail prices and were almost always on sale for several dollars off the regular retail when not included in the current 5 cent pricing program. Employees are expected to lie about the deals being offered on the 5 cent sale in order to move volume and drive profits. Unfortunately, the majority of those wines are much lower quality than similar wines in the same price ranges. They even ended up settling a class action lawsuit because of their deceptive marketing and sales practices with regard to this sale. Middle management consistently lays poor performances on their store managers instead of bringing up global issues like one of the tightest payroll allocation percentages in retail, extremely poor pay for all levels of employment, especially entry level sales associates, limited staff training programs or the inconsistent enforcement of industry regulations with regards to alcoholic beverage sales and returns. Monthly errors in their global pricing system meant you could have several dollars in discrepancies between a shelf price and what was actually charged at the register with nothing that any store employee could do to prevent it, without rescanning the entire store's inventory weekly to print out and rehang hundreds of price changes made in error through the system. And even with 18+ months of consistent failures under their belts, the necessary resources were never allocated to make sure the stores are meeting the guidelines of the Weights & Measures department.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overworked Underpaid

    May 19, 2021 - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some co-workers really made the job fun. Over time you learn about different drinks and it is quite educational.

    Cons

    Co-workers can make or break a job, and I felt like many didn't want to be there. The people that were there full-time seemed overworked and I felt like I was always multi-tasking on the job. Be prepared to be short-handed. It's minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fun place to work!

    Apr 19, 2022 - Sale Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very relaxed yet fast paced.

    Cons

    They pay Minimum wage for sales associates

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a good place to work

    Feb 16, 2017 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Goleta, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked right across the parking lot from Costco food court.

    Cons

    It is impossible to get more than 15 to 20 hours per week. I had to find a second job when I worked here just to pay rent. No full time, so no benefits. Pay was not much more than minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    way to high expectations for the pay

    Nov 5, 2012 - Customer Service in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall the associates are nice however many are lazy and make more work for the rest of us.

    Cons

    oh gosh where do i start? Ok well for a minimum wage job I have never had to do the amount of work they expect of the associates. The management will have 2 people close on a friday or saturday night and expect the store to be immaculate when they open the next morning. Many associates are lazy and create more work for the rest of us. Also, there is little to no training for new employees. My very first shift I was thrown on register (on a saturday night) with absolutely no training. Then they got mad when I asked a few basic questions. Also, one week you will have 30 hours and the next you will have 10-15. Its not stable at all.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun job with not a lot of hours

    Jan 29, 2019 - Sales Associate in Whittier, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most customers were nice, all employees/management were fun to work with.

    Cons

    Minimum wage with not enough hours.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok job if you are 21

    Sep 14, 2021 - Sales Associate in Modesto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The discount and the employees are cool. The store manager was a good guy and worked his tail off.

    Cons

    Sales Associates title meant nothing. The closing sales associate has to clean toilets before closing the store at night. For me personally I'm not interested in cleaning a toilet for minimum wage. Also they are willing to work you to the bone during the holidays and reward you with 16 hours a week after. They also promoted a co-worker only for the holiday and worked her 50 hours a week and then demoted her slashing her hours down to part time and hired some other person who had no experience because he was friends with the assistant manager.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with BevMo! Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BevMo!? Share Your Experiences

or

BevMo! Careers

Cover image for BevMo!

Favorite place to shop for wine, beer, spirits, snacks and more! Our neighborhood stores are in great locations in major metropolitan...More

  • Our People
  • Careers
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

BevMo!

2178 days ago

BevMo! is hiring for the Season! Find the store nearest you and apply today: flexible hours, employee discount and fun work environment.
Shared image
See all

BevMo! Photos

+ Add Photo
BevMo! photo of: Store front
BevMo! photo of: Beautiful Palm Springs
BevMo! photo of: Whittier Store
BevMo! photo of: Palm Springs Store
BevMo! photo of: Dana Point Store
BevMo! photo of: Cheers!
BevMo! photo of: Good drinks, Good gifts
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BevMo! Job Seekers Also Viewed

Total Wine & More Logo
Total Wine & More

3.3

1,566 Reviews
Compare