Beyond20 Reviews | Glassdoor

Beyond20 Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Beyond20 Principals Erika & Brian Flora (no image)
Erika & Brian Flora
16 Ratings
  1. "Great Company, Great Opportunities, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beyond20 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beyond20 is by far the best organization I have ever worked for. The projects and opportunities available are exciting and unmatched. This is non-traditional approach to technology services and consulting allows for a wide breadth and depth of exposures to different clients and industries. The company's strategic decision making in organizational partnerships also opens up opportunities to learn other technologies and softwares. Management is supportive of and encourages our professional development, usually willing to sponsor any training or certification. Beyond20 also strives to ensure a healthy work-life balance and enjoyable office environment: sponsoring team outings and happy hours, annual holiday parties to another city (with room for a +1!), visiting in-house massage therapist, occasional breakfasts, lunches, and dinners, an endless supply of snacks and drinks, and they aim to ensure travel is as limited as possible.

    Cons

    While I would not consider these cons, they could be a deciding factor for potential candidates. If you're used to a slower-paced environment or prefer to hide in the background while collecting a paycheck, this is not the company for you. Due to the nature of the work we do and the size of our organization, everyones' work is directly supporting our mission and success. Candidates must be comfortable working in a collaborative and team-based environment, while also being independent. People passionate about personal professional development are more successful, but they should also be comfortable about reaching out for help and other perspectives from teammates.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202020-02-14
  2. "A great team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beyond20 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve been working in IT since 1992 when I first went into the Air Force as a Communications Computer Systems Operator. Through my career, I’ve worked with many talented and capable people, but never have I had the feeling of TEAM as I have with Beyond20. That notion of team is everywhere in the organization, and is shown day after day as each of us step in and provide assistance to one another anytime a question is asked, or a challenge is faced. We have frequent team building exercises, socialize with one another both in and out of the office, and constantly have banter to keep work fun! It’s truly an honor and a privilege to work with such a dedicated, professional, knowledgeable, and caring family.

    Cons

    While I don't consider this a con, some will find the expectation of self-management challenging.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202020-01-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beyond20 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive team and management Interesting and varied projects Super smart teammates Generous benefits (vacation especially) Frequent happy hours and other events outside the office Competitive salary Free training on pretty much anything you want to learn Opportunity to move around and try new things

    Cons

    Still working out kinks with some processes Can be extremely fast-paced at times

    Continue reading
    Beyond202019-06-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not a healthy culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beyond20 full-time

    Pros

    I am representing here only my opinions on what the pros are, from my personal perspective: - Snacks - Some colleagues are bright and positive

    Cons

    I am representing only my opinions on what the cons are, from my personal perspective: - Lacks structure org wide - Leadership lacks integrity - Leadership manage operations dishonestly - Literally, they lie to staff to get out of sticky conversations - Employees have been yelled at, not often but more than once is enough - I learned I was being underpaid by approx $15K for comparable work - Heavily under-resourced with poor training and onboarding for any new staff that are brought in

    Continue reading
    Beyond202019-01-31

    Beyond20 Response

    March 13, 2019Principal

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry things didn’t work out for you here. We’re pretty proud of the fact that we’re a small company doing meaningful work, and we don’t have the formal structure of a large organization. We also strive to create transparency every day (through daily stand ups, collaborative team planning, etc.), and employees can come to any member of the leadership team at any time with questions or issues. We welcome feedback and are constantly looking for ways to improve. Further, we pay our employees competitively and frequently reward performance with increases in pay. I genuinely wish you the best in your future endeavors. -Erika

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beyond20 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Company will reimburse Metro fares costs, which can be considerable if one commutes a distance to downtown DC.

    Cons

    Owners displayed lack of integrity in almost everything they did. You cannot count on them being honest or straightforward. Culture is characterized as do anything necessary to get money, even if government rules get in the way, such as assigning someone to work products before government clearance approved.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202018-04-02

    Beyond20 Response

    April 11, 2018Principal

    I'm sorry things did not work out for you here. We genuinely wish you the best in your future endeavors. -Erika

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Management - Go any place but here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beyond20 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not many. Do not walk, rather run in the other direction from these people.

    Cons

    The management clearly plays favorites when it comes to employees. Some employees have to barely be present and they get no slack for it. While others get slack for not consistently working late. There are a few superficial perks like snacks and beer that might trick a person into thinking this is a cool, laid back environment to work in - those are just words. These people are incredibly picky when it comes to investing any amount of money - they act like they are doing you a massive favor by putting you through their own classes. The two principals of the company consistently bicker in meetings and blame each other when it comes expenses. While the President is supposed to be Erika Flora - she doesn't make any major operational or financial decisions on her own which is very dishonest to their clients/for their brand. The other principal of the company, Brian is an aggressive person to work with if you can actually catch him - usually he dodges people/paying bills to the extreme.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202017-07-18

    Beyond20 Response

    July 27, 2017Principal

    I am sorry you had a bad experience with us. We work very hard to create an environment that is fair to everyone that works with and for us, employees and vendors alike. I wish you the best in your endeavors. -Erika

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beyond20 for less than a year

    Pros

    I believe Beyond20 is a wonderful company with even greater potential. I felt like family when working there, with both the owners and my peers. Team structure is good. There is always someone there to assist with questions. Management listens to individuals. Good benefits and pay I felt that the company and owners cared about my well being. I was just not another cog in a machine

    Cons

    The only con I can think of and I would not even call it that is you have to be able to manage yourself. As long as you are a responsible individual and can manage your own workload you will be fine.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202017-03-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A great company with great people and tremendous potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beyond20 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and amazingly talented staff. Within my first week of employment, management was taking action on feedback I had provided. Every employee is valued. Well respected within our working community. Education is important to the company, and employee training is a high priority. The company maintains an active YouTube channel to share tips with the public/client. Continuous feedback is given to help ensure you are on the right path and no surprises. The company stays engaged in various events and user groups. I've been in the IT industry for over 20 years, primarily in operations, and have never encountered a more talented team. Everyone is ready and willing to help one another as needed, while having fun! The company is growing, so the expected growing pains are there as things become a bit more structured, but management realizes things may not be right the first time, and are willing to change if they find something isn't working. The entire operations team meets once a week to discuss things, and the entire company meets every two weeks for an All Hands meeting. The transparency in the company is amazing, with management and the principals sharing tons of information you would expect to be held at C-Level. For me, the move to Beyond20 was the greatest thing I could have ever done for myself, and I would make the move again if given that opportunity.

    Cons

    I'm not sure these are necessarily cons, but others might: 1. You must be able to self-manage. While management is available and you have an entire support organization, your traditional "hierarchy" isn't a driving factor. Each employee is valued and expected to manage their workload and clients, as well as additional tasks. 2. Be able to handle your manager being remote. Due to the nature of our business, we often have management flying around the country performing assessments and training. Getting responses may be slow, but you do have other team mates and experienced staff to ping. 3. Travel - You should expect to do some travel on behalf of the company. Whether that's flying out to Colorado or DC for training, or to a client location. Our more tenured staff do a lot more travel, but eventually, you too will be tenured, so the travel requirements may increase. 4. Change - Don't be afraid of change, as the company constantly changes and tweaks things to make life better for staff and clients alike. If something doesn't work, they don't try to keep forcing it, but will make the necessary changes (after getting input from staff). At the same time, Change isn't done just to make a change happen. 5. Social - If you don't like "work" to be fun, and for your co-workers to be more like family than co-workers, then the social / cultural aspects of the company may be a con for you. While we maintain professionalism, the team dynamics are so much more personable than that. So while I don't consider it a con, I feel it's fair to list this as some may prefer their work environment to be more "rigid" than we have here.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202016-12-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Signs Of A Bad Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beyond20 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay well, supply you with all the equipment you need to do the job and have a decent infrastructure for developing.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment due to the following reasons: Expected to work 60+ hours a week. Belittling communication styles and lack of communication from peers / team leads. (Literally being yelled at when doing something wrong and rarely receiving an explanation for correction / individual development.) Empty promises of bonuses and assistance / training from peers / team leads. Crude pranks, some of which could have lead to a lawsuits. Disorganized processes for developing. Lack of cooperation with teams, all using different tools / styles making cross developing / hand-offs on projects a mess. Lack of cooperation within teams, every person has their own style (no style guide) of developing offering no consistency with any of the projects. In my opinion I did not understand how this was not a bigger issue because without consistency this company offered very little QoS and it showed. I wish I could rate Erika and Brian separately.

    Continue reading
    Beyond202017-01-16

    Beyond20 Response

    January 27, 2017Principal

    Thank you for your feedback. As you know, we have spent much of the past year analyzing and improving our development methodologies to support our growth, provide a first rate customer experience, and make life easier for our team (NO ONE at Beyond20 is expected to work 60+ hours per week - period). While we never claim to get things right 100% of the time, it is fair to say that when something is not working we do try to "fail quickly" rather than continuing to try to force something that does not work. We are sorry that things did not work out for you here. We did not take this decision lightly and worked diligently to try and make things work out. We wish you the best in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "You won't find a better team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing & Communications in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beyond20 for more than a year

    Pros

    "Team" doesn't seem sufficient a word to describe the motivated, brilliant, selfless group of people I have the pleasure of working with at Beyond20 every day. It routinely blows my mind. We're growing quickly, so there are certainly bumps, but the unbelievably supportive leadership combined with the dedication, intelligence, and creativity of the team minimizes them - and we work together to move forward, better than we were. This is possible because of the (intentionally and actively kept) flat organizational structure here. Lines of communication are and have always been open in every direction. I can't think of a time - even as a new employee - when my ideas (bad ones included) weren't welcomed and thoughtfully considered by leadership and the larger team. The result is a group of people who want to constantly improve, and know they have the agency and empowerment to do so. Continued education is encouraged, and opportunity to pursue it is provided. Growth potential internally is huge based on this continued education.

    Cons

    I don't know that these are Cons, necessarily, but: // Must be able to self-manage. // Must be able to adapt quickly to change. // Must be able to withstand an inordinate amount of puns from the development team.

    Beyond202016-06-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews