Big Ass Fans Reviews | Glassdoor

Big Ass Fans Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Lennie Rhoades
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Open beer fridge at 5 pm when sales team hits a daily sales goal (fluctuates, but usually every 2-3 weeks)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Cool product, good benefits, opportunity for promotion depending completely on who manages you(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The second type is members of the "good ol boys club"(in 7 reviews)

  • "I have never seen upper management walk through the production area here and talk to the employees who keep this place going(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Big Ass Fans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This was a great place for me to develop and grow. There so many resources within this company, all you have to do is ask. There are no walls or barriers holding you back, you simply need the ambition. If you come in every day and put in the hard work you will be rewarded. Yes the company is gone through changes but you have to grow with the flow. Managers that are in place are here for a reason because they have the...

    Show More

    Cons

    One piece of advice would be to help out the inbound volume. There's a lot on the Reps plates, and the amount of inbound given the seasonality is a lot and this can take away from a lot of the work that needs to get done and some reps can feel overwhelmed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look for those individuals that truly care about this company, when you recognize them take them under your wing. These are the seeds for greatness within that company that are still there.

    Big Ass Fans2018-07-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Culture change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Big Ass Fans full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great product practically sells itself. Employee perks. Teamwork and spirit to do a good job.

    Cons

    New ownership/upper management is without focus on the people or product. Culture has shifted to profit oriented only, creating unstable environment.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people 1st, get to know them, then the product and profits will follow.

    Big Ass Fans2019-04-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Finance Anayst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Big Ass Fans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Leadership doesn't know which direction to go and there are significant financial issues with processes and data systems.

    Big Ass Fans2018-12-11
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Big Ass Fans full-time

    Pros

    Great people and opportunities if the right people in higher levels like you - fast paced

    Cons

    Promotion and retention is not based off of your ability, work ethic or results. Lessons learned may bring bad habits to another, normal, work environment.

    Big Ass Fans2018-11-28
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Big Ass Fans full-time

      Pros

      The products and the people you work with

      Cons

      At the time it was the owner and the higher level management all just afraid of the owner.

      Big Ass Fans2018-12-08
    • "Production worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Big Ass Fans full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Grear Co workers, great PTO benefits, generally relaxed culture.

        Cons

        Corporate is not as relaxed as it used to be. Unrealistic expectations about amount of parts we can manufacture

        Advice to Management

        Try being more realistic about what your workers can and cannot do.

        Big Ass Fans2018-10-13
      • Helpful (2)

        "Dumb fans"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington-Fayette, KY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Big Ass Fans full-time

        Pros

        None but the Cantina was good

        Cons

        Big joke! Immature lazy work crew! Perverts all around and i think my team leader was selling dope to the manangent team. Horrible environment with a good ol boy atmosphere! Dumb job in slow Lexington

        Advice to Management

        Those fans are apparently there to blow smoke up peoples holes! Garbage product really, trust i assembled that crap

        Big Ass Fans2018-10-11
      • Helpful (4)

        "No Communication"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Sales 
        Recommends
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Big Ass Fans full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Co-Workers were like family. Benefits were great. Company culture did a lot when uncertainty was in the air. Catered lunches were a good option to not go off site.

        Cons

        I started off in one position and got shifted into a completely new position. I never got a full explanation. It was quite the waiting game. The job position transition lasted a couple of months. Once settled into my new position, it was hectic to say the least. My manager was so busy that I didn't receive the proper training. I was told I would handle accounts but at the end of the day, was doing all the busy work for...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Be transparent with employees

        Big Ass Fans2018-08-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Transitional"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Big Ass Fans full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Better prospects now, and the focus on the mechanics of the business are being addressed. Most of the people are extremely competent at what they do.

        Cons

        Too much of the same language from before. Too many layers of management that are too busy figuring out where they are to worry about their charges. Little regard to the many elephants in the room about structure, product dev. Too many reversals of actions made to save money, that eventually cost more. Some depts. are still managed as clicks that end up limiting communication.

        Advice to Management

        Problem and solutions proposed lists aren't a firm enough

        Big Ass Fans2018-08-04
      • Helpful (4)

        "FUD (fear uncertainty doubt) factor used here!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lexington-Fayette, KY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Big Ass Fans full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Dynamic workforce Catered lunch cafeteria Good lighting Days fly by (always busy) Monthly Family outings Yearly pay bumps 4%-6%

        Cons

        This place will destroy your confidence or help you develop thick skin. You’ll drink more during the week than is natural just to escape the day...in fact past employees have brought vodka in their coffee mugs and taken Xanax when meeting with management just to cope. Fear Uncertainty and Doubt reign. Managers are not there because they can manage...but no where else for them to go. It’s a game of survivor daily....never...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Take a look at what your employees are doing. The quietest ones can tell you truth if you seek it out. Have loyalty to those that have been there and seek women in leadership roles. Get rid of the boys club.

        Big Ass Fans2018-07-10
      Found 85 reviews