Big Fish Games Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "great work life balance you will get from here(in 41 reviews)

  • "Casual work environment, very flexible work schedule, great co-workers(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seemed disconnected with the employees that work under them and it didn’t feel like they really cared(in 14 reviews)

  • "Ideas and improvements are blocked off by inept middle management(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      It was great for awhile

      Aug 24, 2020 - Senior Network Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, collaborative environment, great people

      Cons

      Not the best management. Lackluster comprehension with being able to keep good people wanting to stay there.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Graphics are pretty cool as well as playing the games

      Dec 30, 2020 - Game Tester in Merlin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like to play them

      Cons

      Deciding on what you could do better besides not paying real cash awards

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent work environment

      Apr 27, 2021 - Customer Support Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers were great, and immediate bosses were pleasant to work for. Workload was generally fair to handle

      Cons

      Upper management did not seem to care about our department, we often felt overlooked, culminating in the department being let go.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Paradise Lost

      Apr 5, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Originally one of the nicer places I worked, generally the people who work in office did their damndest for you and were kind, decent benefits and productivity incentives

      Cons

      After a buyout in 2018, things went downhill fast, and I have reason to believe that continued. Lots of Layoffs and shifts since then that were very hard to deal with on all fronts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Glad I got in early, feel like I jumped ship too late

      Mar 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm only giving Big Fish two stars because it used to be great for growth in the game industry. People in QA and CS were promoted out into other departments, shadowing was common and encouraged. I managed to get to a place where I had a launchpad to jump ship into a bigger role at another game company. The people I worked with, on the frontlines, were great as well. I've made many great friends that I still talk with today.

      Cons

      It's laughable how much this company pretends to care about their employees. Management wants to be seen so badly as 'the cool place to work', when none of the 'perks' (like a pinball arcade) even matter if you're feeling exhausted and overworked. Layoffs have been handled poorly. The first massive wave was hastily thrown together, where you either went to a hotel and survived the cut, or were told to leave the office immediately. Second wave wasn't much better. Claim to want more diversity, but most of the diversity I've worked with was cut in the second wave? Practice what you preach. There is no room for growth anymore. If you're not at executive level, you're not moving up. My position was considered 'essential' enough to survive both waves of layoffs, but not enough to ever be backfilled (per my old coworkers). Post-layoff mantra was literally "some work just isn't going to get done" and then expect the remaining employees to pick up the slack. Barely any COVID support. Only recently has started a low 'subsidy' for internet, ect. It ends in June. What's the point? More interested in sending branded swag to employees than actually helping with what they need: time off and monetary support. Multiple people, as well as myself, have been told to keep quiet about wages. I am aware of pay discrepancies in my department which are not addressed, specifically for those with the same level of seniority getting 2x the pay of others, and we are told to 'not rock the boat' by speaking about it. They are toeing a very thin line with these comments. It's obvious from these comments that they do not support the unionization of the game industry, and rather exploit the FOMO from those trying to get into it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Big Fish Games is challenging and a fun place to work

      Dec 3, 2019 - Project Manager, Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big Fish supports career growth for their employees. I started as a Sr. Motion Graphics Artist and wanted to move into Project Management. I was recently promoted to Project Manager, Mgr. It's a challenging and fun new role for me. BFG encourages and welcomes people that take risk, challenge theirselves, and push the boundaries.

      Cons

      Need to communicate between teams throughout the company more effectively.

      Continue reading
      62 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent folks with terrible company culture

      Aug 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of coworkers will share your interests if you're into gaming, or geek culture. Most teams have morale events a few times a year.

      Cons

      Lots of people at Big Fish have been employed there for nearly a decade, which means there's a lot of complacency. People who try to make improvements or changes often leave because it's like trying to push an immovable object. Pay is quite low, you will be guilt tripped if you ask for a raise or promotion. Managers also joke about how bad we're paid, that's just not funny. I was told on more than one occasion that the average employee only gets a 2% raise each year. If that's true it means most employees are losing money to inflation each year, if its false it means my manager lied to me to make my raise seem amazing. There is an incredible amount of resentment towards people who chose to leave the company. When a coworker quit my manager talked about how we were so lucky to work here, and they would regret their decision. Many essential teams are understaffed, so when someone quits managers will blame the person who left for internal slow downs or problems with projects. No one will be hired to fill their place, which leads to increased pressure on the rest of the team to not quit or take PTO.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Siloed teams and data practices

      Mar 11, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huge amount of resources, cool office, great snacks

      Cons

      "Will my team get all get fired today?" - you never know how / when upper management is going to make headcount decisions. Constant cycle of inflating employee numbers and cutting back

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great game company

      Jan 28, 2021 - Business Development in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun start up environment for games

      Cons

      Poor executive leadership that has been mended

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A gaming company in flux

      Oct 16, 2020 - Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/Life balance s great. Pay is slightly above average. Talent is strong. The culture is good.

      Cons

      They have been bought out by other companies several times and are now own by Aristocrat Games, which has forced them to become more risk adverse. When new leadership comes in, they fire a chunk of people and try to change everything. It happens too much.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 244 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Big Fish Games Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Big Fish Games? Share Your Experiences

    Big Fish Games logo
    or