Big Fish Games Employee Reviews about "middle management"

Updated Dec 19, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 255 reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "great work life balance you will get from here(in 41 reviews)

  • "Casual work environment, very flexible work schedule, great co-workers(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seemed disconnected with the employees that work under them and it didn’t feel like they really cared(in 14 reviews)

  • "Ideas and improvements are blocked off by inept middle management(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "middle management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun office, good pay, and great mentors throughout the organization

      Mar 24, 2016 - Production in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary levels are decent. Know the industry standard and negotiate this well upfront. Very knowledgeable senior staff that is aware of all issues and are trying to fix things, despite hands being tied due to regular corporate process stuff. They are finalizing the matrix defining how employees can get from one position to another. Should be rolled out in a couple months or sooner. Unfortunately it's a little too late for me but it's a very, very good step for all existing and new employees. Team rallies behind key metrics and are super focused on hitting KPIs Lots of fun in the office as long as you try it out. Need a break? Play ping pong or a game of pool. Or play video games! Want to get away from your desk, choose any of the 4?+ couches to get away from distractions. (CAVEAT: I only played one game of pool, but that's because I was kind of a work-a-holic). Many others took advantage of all these amenities. My favorite meeting of my week was my 30-minute massage in a legit massage room in the office. Great colleagues and excellent mentors if you know where to look. As with every company, there are people who tend to stick with their same worker-besties. If you put yourself out there, it's not hard to find a great group of people to hang out with at the office. Want to move to another group? Work with your manager, and they will find a way--hopefully (see Cons). I met multiple people who started in one position in the company and ended up in different roles as they progressed. To me, this says they really value most of their talent. Colleagues/mentors in Seattle were extremely helpful. I can't say enough great things about them. Game team members shared info as opposed to being super secretive as in another especially-antagonistic game company. One of the most helpful and reliable QA and Release/Operations teams I've worked with to date.

      Cons

      The Product role also has Producer responsibilities. This is necessary in a startup but not so much after two acquisitions. It reduces the amount of time available to focus on Product items and stunts growth as a Product Manager. Separate these responsibilities into two roles. I found the negativity (or lack of positivity) from some middle managers to be disappointing. The negativity breeds doubt, questions about one's value at the company and about the exec team or company itself. Some things should/should not be said around their teams or other teams! This doesn't mean they can't be transparent; it just means that they need to position the truth from a different angle (I.e. glass half full) and remember that some people are really impacted by negative rumors. I heard multiple rumors about my project that I knew were half truths, but it was still annoying to hear this from my peer, who should not have been spreading rumors without all the facts.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Customer Service Rep

      Nov 25, 2015 - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lost of possibilities to move up into better roles, great benefits, ok pay

      Cons

      Terrible middle managers in customer service department, lots of big fish/small pong tiny Napoleons. Terrible QA policies, terrible treatment of CSR's by everyone in management roles.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Used to be great, now it's just okay.

      Jun 18, 2014 - QA Tester in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I work with are all pretty great.

      Cons

      You generally need to be already doing the position above you before they even "decide" if there's a "business need" for the position. They pay the standard pay rate for the title that you have, but you are rarely just doing that positions responsibilities. The company also has some transparency issues with a handful of the middle management (although not all). A decent amount of the middle management got to where they were because they were good at playing politics instead of being good at the job. This definitely shows.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      A Unit with too many Captains

      Dec 19, 2016 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good life-work balance - Good benefits

      Cons

      - Low salary - Executive management is out of touch with the average employee - Too much corporate BS - Too many "chiefs" and not enough "indians" - Ideas and improvements are blocked off by inept middle management - No clear, but confusing career developement - Promotions rewarded inconsistently or not al all - "Cheap and Fast"-Thinking - Low salary [not competitive with market value] - "Love it or leave it" mentality

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A fun place to work... until somebody decides they don't like you.

      May 9, 2014 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outside of the occasional crunch time late nights, they have a good policy around work-life balance (though things were getting worse toward the end of my tenure). Some interesting projects to work on and problems to solve If you can manage to stay on your manager's good side, things will be good for you Depending on where you sit, its a great view You get to work with some talented and fun people

      Cons

      The aforementioned talented people typically don't last very long. Pay far under the industry average in the area. For the average employee, the opportunities for promotion are severely limited. Politically adept or highly favored individuals are promoted rather than those deserving based on merit. Which brings me to my next point. My single biggest gripe about the company is how amazingly political and bureaucratic it is; especially considering the size of the company. Middle management has very little oversight and depending on the team you're in, favoritism and double standards are rampant. If you get on your manager's bad side; or if you get on the bad side of somebody they favor more than you, things can get very difficult very quickly. For these unfortunate individuals, the work they do and their level of competence and productivity don't matter. Verbal status reports (and the occasional written ones) are typically ignored if its not directly affecting a high visibility project. Stand-ups are more of a way for managers to relay information to you than for you to talk about your status or any issues that may have come up with your tasks. Getting issues, both personal and project-related documented (typically via email to a manager) is a necessity. Speaking directly with a coworker regarding a problem will get you in trouble if a dispute arises for any reason. Middle managers are not trained adequately. They don't understand how to resolve disputes within the team or coordinate effectively with other teams. They are not trained on alternative leadership styles, such as those found among their team leads, and as such are not receptive toward any management style other than their own. And often, managers resort to a blame game should any problems arise, either interpersonal or project-related. Finally, I'm not certain what level the decision was being made from, but job/career-altering announcements are often kept secret from employees. The announcement of the death of the project you're working on or being shuffled to another team is often the first indication a low level employee has that something is wrong.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company, Poor middle management

      Aug 2, 2015 - Anonymous in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great company with great perks - PTO (paid and unpaid), holidays, winter break, RSUs, 401K with matching. Wonderful and fun people to work with.

      Cons

      Inexperienced and lazy middle managers.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good

      Apr 26, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good vibe, flexible working hours, no pressure from bosses as long as you do your job, decent money.

      Cons

      Middle management is a bit random, they try a bit too hard to be a "cool company where everything is good and everyone is happy. just let people do their jobs and they'll be happy. not many growth opportunities, but that's just due to the company structure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Big Fish Games Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Big Fish Games? Share Your Experiences

    Big Fish Games logo
    or