Big Lots Reviews | Glassdoor

Big Lots Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1535 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Bruce Thorn
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Part time can encourage laziness in employees(in 66 reviews)

  • "Lack of available hours and low pay(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Cashier in Chalmette, LA

      I worked at Big Lots part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great co workers, good discount, and awesome customers

      Cons

      Bad wording on sale advertising

      Big Lots2019-06-14
    • "Big lots inc"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mooresville, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Big Lots part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I like working with the public and running the cash register

      Cons

      Long hours and rude customers

      Advice to Management

      Be nicer to your employees and make sure you let them know you appericate them

      Big Lots2019-06-20
    • "Fun place to work, great merchandise"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Lakewood, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Big Lots part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The merchandise offered at Big Lots is really unique. I got to purchase food items from around the world. There are plenty of different jobs to do, so you don't get bored.

      Cons

      Guests leaving merchandise lying around everywhere instead of taking it back to where they picked it up.

      Advice to Management

      I really liked when the managers talked about corporate issues with me. I felt more enrolled in my job being trusted with "management" information.

      Big Lots2019-06-10
    • "Little Starter Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sugar Land, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Big Lots part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Twenty percent off of merchandise.

      Cons

      Hourly pay and raise opportunity is low.

      Big Lots2019-06-24
    • "Store Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Associate in Dallas, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Big Lots part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great Teamwork Great work environment

      Cons

      Must be able to perform

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing

      Big Lots2019-06-09
    • "Sales floor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Stocker in Canoga Park, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Big Lots part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Helping customer clean nice and neat

      Cons

      I have good experice helping customers

      Advice to Management

      I have good experiences

      Big Lots2019-06-09
    • "Decently easy first retail job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Associate in Ballwin, MO
      Recommends

      I worked at Big Lots part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice people, laid-back, 20% discount, good leadership, good hours, regular customers became friends

      Cons

      Got boring because you basically work by yourself, low pay, and felt understaffed. I was always the only person running the front end most the time, which got chaotic sometimes especially when managers expected you to also stock the front aisles.

      Big Lots2019-06-07
    • "Part time pickup"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 

        I worked at Big Lots part-time

        Pros

        this is a good place if you are transitioning between jobs, or going to school. workload is not to heavy except during the winter holidays.

        Cons

        Unsatisfying pay and insurance. Sometimes management can be unorganized.

        Advice to Management

        need more strategic plans to provide a better work flow.

        Big Lots2019-06-14
      • "inequality in management duties"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in Las Vegas, NV
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Big Lots full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        40 regular hours plus 5 guaranteed OT hours per week in this district

        Cons

        Dealing with harassment by customers and shoplifters

        Advice to Management

        Take care of all your managers not just the store managers. They would be nothing without these managers and their crews yet the store managers get all the credit and reward

        Big Lots2019-06-15
      • "Nice people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Project Manager in Columbus, OH

        I worked at Big Lots full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        The people are good to work with. Nice team work.

        Cons

        It’s Retail. Changes were needed to stay on top that caused cuts.

        Big Lots2019-05-26
      Found 1535 reviews