Big Squid Reviews | Glassdoor

Big Squid Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Big Squid CEO Chris Knoch
Chris Knoch
0 Rating
  1. "Exceptional People and Platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible team culture with an awesome platform that provides an insane amount of value to customers.

    Cons

    It's a start-up so it requires dedication and commitment outside of a 9-5.

    Big Squid2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Abusive leadership unhealthy work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Big Squid for more than a year

    Pros

    The people on the teams are great. There's good communication and teamwork, and they have client interests in mind when communicating expectations.

    Cons

    Upper management (CEO) creates an abusive work environment belittling employees, blaming them when he is caught in lies, and manipulating others to vilify individuals who upset him.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2019-11-19
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great team, horrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people that worked there were great it was fun to work in multiple industries and learn to implement ML for businesses. They had a great team who worked hard to gain every inch of success.

    Cons

    The great team mentioned before was constantly undermined by upper management(CEO/President). The team always gave constructive feedback and tried our best to set proper expectations for the client but that was never a concern for management and seen every time as being negative. The culture was good 2-3 years ago but has rapidly declined. I would never recommend working in this environment. You are constantly blamed for company/leadership failures. Dishonest and untrustworthy leadership. After leading the team astray and loosing accounts because they were saying the product could do things that it couldn't do. The CEO laid off half the staff and the people he laid off were part of the team actually delivering any sort of results. Absolutely no management changed. This is attributed to the fact that he cannot see any of his own faults and blames the team. He continues to do the same thing expecting different results.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Lack of ethics and lack of common sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time

    Pros

    The only good thing about this company is that you get to work in an industry that is arguably at the height of the hype cycle. Machine learning is incredibly interesting. Getting the exposure and understanding of what that ML actually is rewarding.

    Cons

    I would have said that the second best part of the company is your coworkers. However, Big Squid just let go about half of its work force and even cut entire departments. While I still like my coworkers, we kept a lot of people that, in my opinion, didn’t earn their spot. Work is a lot more stressful now, and I miss the greater team environment we used to have. Layoffs aside, here is the highlight reel of the cons: - the product provides very limited value for clients (Most complaints come from no advanced features, clunky UI, and an exorbitant amount of pre and post processing needed outside of the product). - internal feedback is not received well, if at all, and that complacency causes our competitors to evolve where we’re not willing to and get better than us. - you have to check your morals at the door. The company recognizes revenue that doesn’t exist. There are fake deals at the end of quarter, execs knowingly fudge our numbers, and they count blatantly churned clients as active. - The management teams’ incessant and overwhelming need to lie about the state of Big Squid perpetuates disillusionment throughout the rest of the company. No employees really knows where we stand as a company and no executives know what it takes to make a client successful because they’re too busy pretending like they ARE successful. - very few experts on machine learning in the building (although everyone will act like they are). Everyone has close to no experience actually modeling. - Hardly anybody actually works. The company value of “freedom with accountability” is abused by nearly everyone. Coming into the office for two or three hours a day isn’t enough when the company is failing. - Theres a prevailing sense of fear now. We’re all terrified of losing our jobs and don’t trust anything our management team tells us. They’ve lost all credibility both professionally and personally.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2019-09-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Cool Team, Poor Management, Sub-Par Platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever worked with—excluding most of the management team. Ample opportunity to work on cool and exciting projects in a cutting edge industry.

    Cons

    Ironically (for a predictive analytics company), one of the least data driven companies I have worked for, not to mention, Big Squid has yet to build and implement its own first predictive model. Extreme lack of transparency perpetuated by the CEO, who also happens to be in a romantic relationship with a member of Big Squid's customer success team. No visibility into the company's customer retention or sales goals, which makes sense, considering Big Squid just laid off one-third of its staff two weeks ago.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2019-09-18
  7. "Growing Company With Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Big Squid full-time

    Pros

    Great team with solid potential. Very interesting technology to be working with.

    Cons

    Conflicts within leadership shows in company moral occasionally.

    Big Squid2018-11-07
  8. "Exciting times ahead at Big Squid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time

    Pros

    An innovative tech that is at the top of the hype cycle. The machine learning platform actually works and is giving value to customers. A company this small making the Gartner report as leaders next to companies like Amazon, Goolde, and Oracle in ML/AI is impressive.

    Cons

    Still pretty early in the companies customer acquisition process. This makes it hard to have relevant customer stories to share with prospects. Leadership can be a bit scattered with the rapid growth on strategy with the VPs pulling in different directions.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2018-06-25
  9. "Fast-Moving, Capable Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent coworkers, good location, great culture. As a developer, I especially love our quick feature development process. You can start a new feature and see it in production within a week or two.

    Cons

    There is a lot going on at Big Squid, so it can sometimes be tough to stayed focused on an individual goal. Management mitigates this problem by having processes in place that help lift the mental load.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2018-06-19
  10. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid for more than a year

    Pros

    Big Squid hires smart and capable people. I enjoy working with pretty much everyone. I look up to my peers and I'm always learning. Culture of freedom with accountability. Schedule is flexible, as long as you take care of what is expected of you.

    Cons

    It's a high growth company. Constant change. Not a place for someone who needs a "defined role" and "regular business hours". The accountability side of the "freedom with accountability could be improved for some of the low performers.

    Continue reading
    Big Squid2018-04-11
  11. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Big Squid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The main reason I love Big Squid is the team and the collaborative environment. Everyone who works here is incredibly committed to the success of the company and solving challenging problems to help our customers grow and scale. Each day is a challenge and that makes it fun and exciting. I have worked very structured, large company positions and the freedom and flexibility to get my work done without being micromanaged is a perk that keeps me motivated and committed to Big Squid.

    Cons

    We are a start up and definitely run with that mentality. Wearing multiple hats is common and while fun, can be challenging to balance work load.

    Big Squid2017-09-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews