Bike Gallery Reviews | Glassdoor

Bike Gallery Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Bike Gallery CEO Jay Graves (no image)
Jay Graves
2 Ratings
  1. "Sales person on the floor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Bike Gallery

    Pros

    Surrounded by people interested in bikes and people

    Cons

    Business can be slow at times

    Bike Gallery2019-05-08
  2. "Bike tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bike Gallery part-time

    Pros

    Great fun fixing bikes, good atmosphere

    Cons

    Nothing to note for what it is

    Bike Gallery2017-04-06
  3. "Run of the mill retail toy shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bike Gallery for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I got paid every two weeks

    Cons

    I got Low pay every two weeks

    Advice to Management

    pay more

    Bike Gallery2016-08-12
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Account Management in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bike Gallery part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, fantastic staff, wonderful selection of products and the service department is full manned with professionals that will go out of their way to help customers bikes run properly

    Cons

    In the winder months the customer base and sales slow. This allows for too much time not doing anything but waiting for someone to come in.

    Advice to Management

    Happy in sales.

    Bike Gallery2015-12-07
  5. "Great people, experienced employees that know customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bike Gallery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment, good mechanical resources, good staff, great deals on bike parts. I enjoyed my level of independence and was allowed to try on a lot of different hats during my time at BG. The shop crew that I worked with was a colorful cast and most days it felt like working on a sitcom. The history of the shop in Portland is pretty impressive too.

    Cons

    Can be very busy at times, some of the corporate expectations don't line up with individual store realities. Multi store chains can feel less neighborhoody.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff and your staff will take care of you.

    Bike Gallery2014-09-18
  6. "Professional, well run, and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bike Gallery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Six locations offer lots of opportunity for growth and advancement.

    Cons

    no cons come immediately to mind

    Advice to Management

    management is always willing to listen

    Bike Gallery2012-10-16
  7. "A fun place to work with good people but a company that lacks business savvy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Portland, OR

    I worked at Bike Gallery

    Pros

    Bike Gallery is a small tight-knit company with lots of great people. The CEO makes great efforts to invest in the community and cares deeply about environmental issues and his employees. The dress is casual and the benefits are fantastic. Often training and classes are paid for. Opportunities to organize community events are encouraged. If you are self-motivated and passionate there are plenty of opportunities... to move up.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a small company, often office politics are at play. Communication and job reviews are few and far between meaning that raises are put off for months or years. Poor business decisions on the part of the leadership have affected the bottom line and led to layoffs. At times the company lacks innovation and intelligent insight, organization and communication.

    Bike Gallery2012-01-23
Found 7 reviews