Billy Casper Golf Reviews | Glassdoor

Billy Casper Golf Reviews

Updated May 12, 2017
81 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Peter M. Hill
26 Ratings

81 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great people to work with, as well as an enjoyable work environment (in 5 reviews)

  • Meet great people who play at your course (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Horrible benefits, long hours (50 (in 5 reviews)

  • low pay (minimum wage) even after working for many years, shifts are either 5:00 am-1:00 pm or 1:00 pm-9:00 pm (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Billy Casper Golf is a welcoming, rewarding and enlightening experience."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Billy Casper Golf part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pros include flexible schedules, free golf, rewarding experiences, reciprocating respect from co-workers and management, and advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Cons include seasonal work, weekend hours, and a higher turnover employment rate.

    Advice to Management

    Pay respect and be respected in return. Those who are treated well will stay around the longest and make your job the easiest it could be.


  2. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Billy Casper Golf full-time

    Pros

    Golf is a tough business, but BCG makes it work. Golf will never be a get rich place to work. They do a nice job working towards making a profit and paying appropriately.

    Cons

    Beyond the GM level, there is not much opportunity.

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Aug 15, 2016

    Thanks for being a part of our team!


  3. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Billy Casper Golf full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They treat their employees great and it was an awesome opportunity out of college.

    Cons

    They have General Managers who are working 30 hours a week and getting paid triple of anybody else who works there.

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Aug 15, 2016

    Thanks for your contributions to Billy Casper Golf and being a part of our team!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great company, but low pay"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pro Shop Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Pro Shop Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Billy Casper Golf part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    free golf at any BCG course in the nation, great company values, generally nice employees and managers, laid-back atmosphere, discount on pro shop merchandise, opportunity to advance within company

    Cons

    low pay (minimum wage) even after working for many years, shifts are either 5:00 am-1:00 pm or 1:00 pm-9:00 pm

    Advice to Management

    give raises!!

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Aug 15, 2016

    Thanks for being a part of our team and providing your feedback.


  6. "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of Flexibility, Family Environment, Manager seems to care a lot

    Cons

    Compensation is low, understaffed at times

    Advice to Management

    Better Market Research on compensation

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Aug 15, 2016

    Thank you for the review and we are certainly to have you as part of the team! Let us know if we can do anything to improve your employee experience.


  7. "Not bad for a summer job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They try to keep the courses nice and the workers professional

    Cons

    Might be out of touch in some areas, but not too bad

    Advice to Management

    I liked the company

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Feb 27, 2017

    Thank you for being a member of our team and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Billy Casper Golf full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Family friendly
    Good people to work with
    Technology savvy

    Cons

    Golf business is tough
    Work expectations are high

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Feb 27, 2017

    Thank you for being part of our team!


  9. "Great Work Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Billy Casper Golf full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, opportunities for growth, work culture

    Cons

    Better communication between departments and the field.

    Advice to Management

    This is a great company to start and grow your career with. They provide lots of learning/training opportunities while at the same time providing flexibility that allows for a healthy work life balance.

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Mar 2, 2017

    We appreciate all you do for BCG day-in and day-out to support our employees. Communication is a priority and something we are actively working on improving.


  10. "Operations Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ops Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Ops Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Billy Casper Golf full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Rewarding work environment. Support from HQ and the genuine feeling that senior staff cares about field employees. Promotions are frequent and usually are from within the company. Salary on par or above other similar companies. Strong benefits package/excellent health insurance

    Cons

    Wish i played more golf

    Advice to Management

    Keep making smart decisions when it comes to growth and continue to invest in current employee training and development

    Billy Casper Golf Response

    Mar 10, 2017

    We are beyond grateful for your decade of service to the Billy Casper Golf team! Increasing Training & Development opportunities for all of our employees remains a core HR objective. We hope ... More


  11. "Best career move"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Billy Casper Golf full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have been fortunate enough to work for BCG for 6 years and the are a progressive supportive company that is on the cutting edge of the golf industry. The friendships and enjoyable work enviornment along with corporate support afford me the autonomy to succeed.
    I would highly reccommend this company for any driven professional with a desire to improve their quality of life.

    Cons

    I often work more hours during the summer months but that does afford me more time off in the winter


Showing 81 of 81 reviews
Reset Filters