Cover image for BioWare
Logo

BioWare

Is this your company?

BioWare

Add a Review

BioWare Employee Reviews about "studio"

Updated Nov 13, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 128 of over 128 reviews
3.8
75% Recommend to a Friend
83% Approve of CEO

Found 15 of over 128 reviews

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
BioWare CEO Andrew Wilson (no image)
Andrew Wilson
29 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "studio"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A great place to learn the mmo game and a much better run game studio than most.

    Feb 16, 2015 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talented, passionate people all over the place. I particularly want to call out the embedded QA analysts (if you get a contract QA position I highly recommend pursuing any of these opportunities that open up) and our community/marketing teams which do a really great job of engaging the community and looking through data to make sure that we're using our finite resources to develop parts of the game that keep players happy. EA has great benefits - great medical/dental, 401k, employee stock purchase plan, charity donation matching, tuition reimbursement, active living benefit, free games, etc etc etc. EA has an 'evil empire' reputation, but they actually put a lot of effort in to taking care of their employees. You'll have coworkers all over the age/gender/sexual orientation/racial/religious/political/diet/brogrammerness/shoe size map. It's not an echo chamber. Not so much crunch time and boom-and-bust as other game studios. There aren't massive layoffs all the time and crunch time is kept pretty minimal compared to previous sudios I've been at. I'll second the reviews saying communication from studio management is abundant and informative. You always know what the studio's goals are and how your role plays in to it.

    Cons

    I agree with the reviews lamenting the contract vs full time split. There's a place for contract-to-hire, but when half your staff is temp segregating them is really demoralizing. Fortunately managment uses temp positions much more sanely now. The Heroblade middleware is pretty universally loathed. There are a lot of negative reviews for the contract QA jobs, and yeah those jobs suck but they just kind of suck everywhere. If you can land an embedded job you're going to have a highly respected role and challenging work that affords you a lot of autonomy.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Can be a good place

    Mar 17, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good Benefits, Nice People

    Cons

    Doesn't get the recognition the studio deserves compared to the main (Edmonton) studio.

    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    One of the over-all, best places I've worked.

    Oct 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, for the most part are collaborative, smart, creative. The studio is awesome. The benefits are great.

    Cons

    Transparency seems to be an issue. Meeting or private space (open floor plan) can sometimes be an issue.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    A studio barely clinging to life

    Sep 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Opportunities to work on famous and popular AAA franchises - EA's pay and benefits are tops in the industry - Good facilities with lots of perks - Inclusive workplace that values and promotes diversity - There's a sincere effort to ensure work-life balance, but that's the first thing to disappear when a project catches fire

    Cons

    - Studio leadership is untrustworthy, unaccountable and obsessed with politics - Bad creative and business decisions are allowed to survive for years and destroy the projects that get stuck with them - Sub-studios are the public scapegoats for the Edmonton mothership's failures - Constant high turnover at all levels, with many replacement hires being temp workers who don't receive any benefits - After years of high-profile failures, fans and EA have lost faith in BioWare and left its future in doubt

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    There are worse places to work

    Nov 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company values work/life balance. Management genuinely seems to care about bringing employees into the fold in terms of decision making.

    Cons

    Constant change in upper management means a constant change in the studio direction. Not the best environment in the world to foster creativity.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Toxic environment for innovators and free-thinkers

    Jul 13, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As far as major video game companies go, BioWare puts on a better show than many of acting like they truly care about employee quality of life rather than cost-benefit equation for assessing risk of disgruntled employees. There are some in low level leadership positions that actually do care. This care doesn't mean anything when it would change their bottom line, though, or change studio operations in any significant way.

    Cons

    When I first arrived, the work environment was great. Eventually all social conversation that didn't focus on video games, wardrobe or pop-culture were verbally shamed. People were clearly feeling ashamed that they didn't hold the same ethical standards that I and some others did, and chose to instead mock me for having empathy and refusing to be a socially narcissistic nihilist. The worst was when my team lead took it upon himself to mock me for giving feedback on how the workplace could be more conducive to the employees. It was over an issue I could sue over, and the workplace was completely in the wrong. Despite this, I didn't want to create the antagonism of a workplace lawsuit, so instead I brought up the merits of change, and the reasoning behind it. I will never forget the defensive reaction of my lead and the silence of HR, as though I was telling them to be ashamed. We worked in an environment that is supposed to thrive on criticism to make itself better. Instead it placed a high social barrier that is needed before criticisms would be considered from an individual. This is a highly toxic environment for people who like to innovate, adapt, and grow. I still have nightmares about a couple people in this company.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great company, but recent years suggest concern.

    Aug 21, 2013 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great and supporting environment. The people mostly are excited about their projects. People try to be accommodating of real life. Bioware also creates great games consistently. Even the games that haven't sold as well are still respected. It's a great name to have on your resume. There are good opportunities to do cutting edge work.

    Cons

    Bioware has somewhat of a crunch atmosphere. Project schedules tend to run tight and there are year or longer crunches and sometimes perpetual ones with little breaks. Crunch has always been seen as necessary. In the past, there was a camaraderie that made this tolerable. It felt like the company had your back. By the time I left, there was a growing sense of uncertainty. It felt like layoffs could happen any time to anybody. Just one bad project and everyone would be out the door. Bio used to value people over projects, but now that seems reversed. It is possible that this trend will reverse again with shifts in leadership at EA, but be aware, I've heard of people move and then getting laid off within months. Also be aware that each Bio studio is different. Edmonton, Montreal, and Austin are all somewhat different.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great complete overview of the games industry as an entry level employee.

    Dec 29, 2012 - Platform QA Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People Good learning experience Can learn many aspects of business from here

    Cons

    At the time it was a very large studio with 500+ people. So there is a lot of bureaucracy to communicate with anyone not part of your team. The approval processes and number of meetings can occasionally be disruptive to work flow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with great values.

    Dec 27, 2012 - Environment Artist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great IPs to work with, lots of emphasis on personal input, management is open to listening to your ideas and is generally concerned with your work satisfaction. There was a really great emphasis on work/life balance as well.

    Cons

    I don't have too many cons to report. I had a great experience during my tenure at the studio.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    It is truly a learning experience

    Jul 17, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can learn a lot about the game industry.

    Cons

    The game industry is based on people's extra income and as that shrinks, so does the studio.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with BioWare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BioWare? Share Your Experiences

BioWare logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

BioWare Photos

+ Add Photo
BioWare photo of: BioWare Austin
BioWare photo of: Team fun
BioWare photo of: BioWare Edmonton Holiday Party
BioWare photo of: SWTOR
BioWare photo of: BioWare Celebrates Pink Shirt Day

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Electronic Arts Inc.Digital Illusions Creative EntertainmentMythic Entertainment, Inc.
Respawn Entertainment

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BioWare Job Seekers Also Viewed

Blizzard Entertainment Logo
Blizzard Entertainment

3.7

1,307 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 128 BioWare reviews submitted anonymously by BioWare employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if BioWare is right for you.