Birch Communications "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Birch Communications Employee Reviews about "work environment"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
20%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
Tony Tomae
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Cbeyond had some good core values; it all went to crap when Birch took over(in 12 reviews)

  • "The good people were crushed by the tyrannical senior management that did not care about customer service or staff(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Worst work experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Provisioner in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Birch Communications full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I liked the people that I worked with.

    Cons

    This company purchased Cbeyond and after the buy out the work environment went downhill. The new management didn't have the experience with the service platforms of legacy Cbeyond customers and they didn't take the time to educate themselves. Management was truly clueless.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to learn to really appreciate talented employees and they need to educate themselves on the services offered by a company BEFORE the buy out the company

    Birch Communications2017-11-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales Solution Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Birch Communications for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great and fun work environment and open door policy

    Cons

    A lot of changes happen with the company and you have to adapt to those changes quickly or you will not make it.

    Birch Communications2016-12-14
  3. "Really good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birch Communications

    Pros

    Great peers and work environment

    Cons

    pay is a problem. hope hey deal with it

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the engineers

    Birch Communications2016-10-04
  4. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tier I Tech Support in Emporia, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birch Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is good. The people you work with are the best. Usually a good environment. Balance of work/family life is very nice.

    Cons

    Some members of management shouldn't be allowed to continue. They can cause a hostile work environment. Customers can be difficult and demanding at times that the fault lies in their own responsibility of equipment or premise wiring.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly you need to look into a few members of your middle management team. They create a hostile work environment and cause good people to quit or to seek out jobs in other departments. Also the communications between departments needs to be more clear. There are times policy changes and I understand that is necessary however ALL employees should be aware of the changes so we can decrease hold times and unnecessary...

    Show More
    Birch Communications2016-05-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Micro Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of IT in Marietta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Birch Communications

    Pros

    Very structured work environment and culture.

    Cons

    The company does not value collaboration. They want everyone at their desk, hands on keys. NO meetings. Management are too involved in the details.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people. Take some management and/or team building classes.

    Birch Communications2015-07-19
  6. "Order Entry/Billing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Macon, GA

    I worked at Birch Communications full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment. Job Stability. Great work environment

    Cons

    Not any that I can think of right now.

    Birch Communications2015-06-20
  7. "Tech Support Tier I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tier I Tech Support in Emporia, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birch Communications full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work environment. Great people, amazing managers to assist and teach you at any given time. They work with you and have Flexible hours. There is ALWAYS room to grow with this job and you can Learn A LOT if you choose too. Benefits are great here as well. They strive to make sure everything works out for you and that you succeed in the company

    Cons

    The Pay isn't the best for what all we do but It is a work in progress. The communications between higher levels and lower levels of tech support are not the best. More Training documentation is needed and more time showing techs how to trouble shoot would be a good thing to do. There are a lot of people who need more time learning and this job is more of a here is what you get and now go. More Training in some areas...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication is needed badly between Tiers. And pay is quite low for how much we do.

    Birch Communications2015-06-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Miserable place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Birch Communications

    Pros

    Employees left from prior acquisitions are great people.

    Cons

    Management really sucks. They have no direction. They constantly issue overly aggressive deadlines and NEVER meet them due to lack of proper planning. They love to lay off employees in a systematic, yet consistent manner which creates a miserable work environment for its employees. It's nearly impossible to be motivated in a place like this.

    Advice to Management

    Quit or change the miserable culture you have created for your people.

    Birch Communications2015-06-11
  9. "Review of Birch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birch Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is an excellent work/life balance with more PTO/paid holidays than I have had at previous companies. My supervisor and team are very easy to work with, are understanding, and are great to bounce ideas off each other. Very positive work environment, where everyone pulls their weight. The executives are real people who can be emailed with questions, concerns and who are just generally “present” and not people...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a small cafe that serves breakfast and lunch, but the food is not the best and the selection is limited. I would recommend bringing your own breakfast/lunch/snacks! Office supplies are limited and I have brought several things from home.

    Advice to Management

    Keep updating employees on the goals and actions of the company, as we like to be in the loop! Also, please continue to provide employees with perks such as breakfasts/lunches/ and fun events-it makes us feel like we do matter and are appreciated.

    Birch Communications2015-01-19
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Acquisition Nightmare (of Cbeyond)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Birch Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of many right now. Still working through the acquisition, so some benefits may present themselves in due time, at which I will revise this review. They haven't taken the company gym away (yet?), so that's a plus.

    Cons

    Company focus is on the bottom line (maximizing profit margins). No culture of innovation or promotion of healthy work-life balance. Financial processes in complete disarray. Systems integration work hastened by firm deadlines with no connection to reality - result: Service degradation for customers. Day 1 of the acquisition there was an immediate implementation of a strict dress code and office orderliness policy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Establish open communication avenues from employees to senior management. Fully understand the business before making such hefty decisions and provide solid reasoning behind such decisions. Provide more gradual adjustment to new workplace policies (or at least have some that make sense in this day and age). There's no need to keep changes hush hush and then beat them into the employees when they come out of nowhere..

    Birch Communications2014-08-05
Found 172 reviews