Bird Construction Reviews | Glassdoor

Bird Construction Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Bird Construction CEO  Ian Boyd (no image)
Ian Boyd
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alberta, AL

    I worked at Bird Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A well established GC in the Canadian market

    Cons

    They don't listen to employees

    Bird Construction2017-05-11
  2. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bird Construction full-time

    Pros

    Big company with good reputation. Nice boss.

    Cons

    A lot of operation and management issue with subsidies office.

    Bird Construction2019-09-09
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bird Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team-oriented culture, great management teams, and amazing work ethic from a high-level to a low-level.

    Cons

    Stressful work at times.

    Bird Construction2019-09-07
  4. "Great Company with great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bird Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company for career development

    Cons

    Great company-Nothing at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Bird Construction2019-07-29
  5. "Big Company Boring Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Process Coordinator 

    I worked at Bird Construction full-time

    Pros

    Staff Lunches, could leave early sometimes

    Cons

    lack of culture at the business

    Bird Construction2019-07-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company but culture and processes need improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bird Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -big company with stable turnover from key long term clients means there will always be another project around the corner -interesting and varied work -great opportunities for learning and development... if you seek them out -there are some really terrific people that work at Bird.

    Cons

    -at the time I joined in 2014, Bird had gone from ca. $500M/yr turnover in 2005 to over $1.6B/yr in under a decade. The growing pains were obvious. All the forms were still paper and done by hand, no useful company intranet, no orientation or onboarding for new employees. It may be different now but when I left Bird were still struggling to build the systems that a big company needs to run efficiently. -long hours... are typical for this industry, but my experience at Bird was that coordinators were expected to be on site before 7am and couldn't leave before 5:30pm .... regardless of how busy we actually were. This just ends up breeding resentment and lowering productivity when you're out of things to do and counting down the hours on the clock -I learned a lot at Bird but I was also very aggressive in seeking out opportunities and speaking to management about what I wanted to get out of each project. I watched some of my soft-spoken colleagues get stuck in roles they didn't enjoy for long periods of time with little growth or learning. Management doesn't prioritize development and you get out what you put into it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bird has all the right elements to compete with PCL, EllisDon etc but they need to get out of the 20th century and start viewing their employees (especially lower level) as people rather than grunts.

    Bird Construction2019-05-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Systemic Executive Leadership Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bird Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are good people at the District levels and some unique challenging projects

    Cons

    All you need to know about the culture at Bird can be found in the latest financial results in which the CEO states that there were systemic issues in one of the districts that are the cause of the poor results. The only thing systemic is the drop in share price since he was named CEO. A good leader does not shirk responsibility, or surround themselves with “yes” men. Until the executive leadership team changes... their attitudes, it is hard to expect an improvement in culture

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have the courage to realize they are a big part of the problem and take steps to improve upon their OWN performance. They gave themselves some fairly significant salary adjustments, so they could at least work on that.

    Bird Construction2019-05-25
  8. "Account payable clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pointe-Claire, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bird Construction full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly ambiance and really good colleagues.

    Cons

    Not a good way to flourish.

    Bird Construction2019-01-23
  9. "BDT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bird Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exposed to plenty of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Under-utilization of employees in certain depts. Over utilization in others.

    Bird Construction2019-01-25
  10. "Co-op Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Bird Construction

    Pros

    - Given meaningful responsibilities - Tight-knit project teams

    Cons

    - remote project teams feel disconnected from employees at head office

    Bird Construction2018-11-14
Found 43 reviews