Birst Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Birst CEO Jay Larson (no image)
Jay Larson
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -This is a great place to advance your career in software sales. If you are looking to be part of a world class team and company this is a place to be. - World class training and support so that a future leader in the space has the proper tool to learn and grow

    Cons

    -There are none that i can think of

    Continue reading
    Birst2017-01-30
  2. "Infor is the mothership"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Birst full-time

    Pros

    Great team and leadership with perks

    Cons

    Infor runs the show.

    Birst2019-11-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic work environment in customer success team"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Birst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people in other teams but overloaded.Nice office ,good snacks.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment in customer success team. No career growth in this team and neither any one will ever talk to you about it. There is no learning of any sort of technology or product other than looking at the logs and filing bugs which product is full of. People are micro managed so be on a clock.Support team has no benefits at all and looked down upon as compared to other departments. Co ordination among teams in different geographic is not good lot of friction among teams and members along with shortage of resources especially in Head office. Team has been short staffed ever since and as it is a difficult place to stay longer.

    Continue reading
    Birst2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Sucked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Danville, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Birst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing of substance. They had good snacks I guess. The bathrooms were clean. My peers were nice people for the most part. A few jerks here and there.

    Cons

    Most everything else. The office was cramped, the founders were cheap, and the product was filled with bugs. It was like living in a NYC slum.

    Continue reading
    Birst2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Mom Always Said "If you don't have anything nice to say...""

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Birst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much good to say about it. Most of the people who worked there were solid and dependable. Sales leadership was awful and the founders seemed in over their heads.

    Cons

    Too many to list. Product wasn't ready for the enterprise yet CEO/found constantly tried to push it. Company would have been better off focusing on an OEM business model. Bigger deals. Lower cost of customer acquisition. Smaller sales team needed. Stickier product.

    Continue reading
    Birst2018-02-20
  6. "Great Team, Good Luck Birst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Birst for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best Marketing Team ever. Accomplished a lot on a small budget. All employees opinions valued.

    Cons

    Not enough budget given to Marketing

    Continue reading
    Birst2017-11-09
  7. "Recently Acquired, Additional Opportunities on the Horizon"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Birst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance Central Location Diverse culture Work from home optional Excellent team & accommodating management Excellent freedom & growth opportunities Free snacks, occasional lunches (3-6x per month), opt-in dinners (6x per month)

    Cons

    With the acquisition, many good people transitioned elsewhere Somewhat spaghetti codebase (growing pains)

    Continue reading
    Birst2017-07-26
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Ok place to start"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Birst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -learned a lot -paid well -flexible vacation policy -became close with some of my team members

    Cons

    My team: -extreme micro management -terrible hours- most SDRs work 12 hour days and some brag about working weekends -poor culture: cold, aggressive -extremely difficult to hit quota. They were dishonest about this during the interview process -very poor promotion path. It is almost impossible to get promoted from an SDR to an AE. AEs here are in their 30s-50s, much more tenured, and hired from outside of the company 95% of the time Company as a whole: -essentially zero company perks. No commuter benefits, no gym reimbursement, no catered meals. SDR team got 1 lunch once a week. Perks may seem frivolous, but it really has an impact on the happiness of your employees. Investing in your people is essential, or they will leave -poor sense of community. Birst is very fragmented by their teams. I believe a big part of this is due to the fact that this is not a young company. The only young people here are on the SDR team. If you're looking for a young, fun startup to work at, this is not the place.

    Continue reading
    Birst2017-02-25
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Difficult Place to Work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Birst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - high caliber talent when I first joined - decent pay - flexible PTO

    Cons

    - 1:3 manager to SDR ratio - stressful work environment - 10% hit quota - extreme micromanagement - working 12 hour days, it's so stressful, you feel like you're working inside and outside of work to get to 80% of quota

    Continue reading
    Birst2017-02-27
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Terrible management all around"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Birst full-time

    Pros

    The pay was good for the industry.

    Cons

    Management is terrible. I've never seen anything like this. Everyone on my team was depressed and looking for other jobs. The managers would make us cry with mean and rude comments. I would get anxious before every one-on-one. Additionally the C-suite is impersonal and not transparent. Even within my team there were all these secret meetings I wasn't a part of. Most stressful time in my life was working at Birst.

    Continue reading
    Birst2017-03-22
Found 94 reviews