Bizmates ESL Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Bizmates ESL Teacher Reviews

Updated Feb 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
5 Ratings
  1. "evaluator is not compassionate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - ESL Teacher Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates

    Pros

    home base work at home 10 hours weekly minimum

    Cons

    pressuring, evaluator not giving the chance despite seen potential

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2020-02-03

    Bizmates Response

    February 5, 2020President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a tough evaluator. You know, the number one reason that an applicant doesn’t make it is because they fail to show commitment. And if you came to the final demo without having watched all the videos and properly prepared for the demo lesson, the evaluator is going to think you lack commitment. Not having enough time or the videos were too boring to watch aren’t acceptable. You can either win or learn. But if you blame other people, your environment, the system, or process, you lose. Don’t go down that path. Pick yourself up, reflect on what you can do better, and try again. That’s what winners do. Best of luck. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Realistic - You can earn a lot - if you make this your whole life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good website. Seems organized. Impressive to an applicant. Polite and professional interviewers. I have nothing but respect to the people here. I'm writing this so I may be of help in changing and providing better working conditions for home-based employees.

    Cons

    So you passed the language test, you passed the interviews. Here comes the training. What I can say is it's inconsistent. I went through 3 trainers. One told me my hands moved too much, I should exude...professionalism...something like a newscaster...okay...i went to my next training. I was told I was too stiff. I should move my hands..This really happened. I told them to please put their act together and be consistent. What can I say about blazers? I'm not going to say anything because I don't have anything nice to say except blazers are so like a decade ago:) Ah but those are their rules. It should be respected. A little change in the outfit would be good, though.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-08

    Bizmates Response

    October 20, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Being a home-based consultant teaching English has its merits and demerits, no doubt. It certainly isn't for everyone. You need to be self-motivated, professional, and responsible for your own actions and own equipment. Those who do well can get over 200php/hour and earn 50,000, 60,000, and in a handful of cases, over 80,000php/month. To get 200php/hour, no you don't need to work 12 hours a day. There are only 6 hours of peak time slots during the week, so working more than that won't help you get a higher rate. You need to get 6 stars to get 200php. If you have pretty high customer feedback scores, low cancellations and emergencies, and if you are available for 6 peak hours a day, you would hit 200php. As for the inconsistency you went through in training, that is disappointing. Although we can expect some variations in the way we all teach, there certainly should be a little more consistency among our mentors. However, our mentors became mentors because they were all really good trainers. So, I think there is always something you can learn from them. What works for one trainer might not work for another. But keep in mind that your mentors are actually trying to help you become a better trainer so you can get more bookings. Complaining about the advice they give you actually does very little to help you. Anyway, I hope you find what you are looking for. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "KPI and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher Trainer in Manila, Manila

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    with good support system- just a message away good teaching materials learners are all adults

    Cons

    pay is based on your KPI.. you can get as high as 230 with perfect KPI, but I doubt it unless you can control the weather or your electric power, your internet connection.. Last night. I did something else right after I finished my class thinking to submit my peda ( notes for the students) before going to bed but it completely slipped out of my mind. It's very disappointing though how only 3 missed pedas in hundreds of lessons can have a great devastating impact to our KPI, just 3 missed pedas and I got already -1 star, .. submitting peda is nothing compared to sleeping past midnight and having to get up really early in the morning just to keep up with the peak hours and have that hard earned star , I feel that all that effort just went to the drain with only 3 missed pedas.. I'm starting to think that Bizmates is all about making money.. that's the message I get from the KPI. We have to control our internet connection, we need to control the weather or the power.. or else good bye KPI.. well guess what we're not GOD! or maybe we can wash down our cancellation rate by beating ourselves out! I guess it's time to say NEXT PLS!..

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-08-02

    Bizmates Response

    August 3, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. So you forgot after your lessons and missed the deadline to fill in your notes. And you got penalized for it which hurts your performance evaluation. That is a bummer. It happens. But as you know, your stats do get reset after each evaluation and you get a fresh start. Listen, less than 3% of our trainers miss that deadline. And you happened to fall in that 3% because you forgot. How does this make the company have no compassion? We have very clear rules. You work and rest when you want. But when you work, you need to follow very simple guidelines. Open the times you want to work. You don’t need to do this days in advance. Do it anytime. But you need to click the “I’m ready button” at least 15 minutes before the lesson. Teach your 25-minute lesson. And then fill in your notes by 4am. No, I’m not going to allow trainers to push the button 13 minutes before. No, I’m not going to allow a 22-minute lesson. And no, I’m not going to allow to fill in the notes by 5am. The rules are clear. If you think these rules are ridiculously strict and suggest that there’s no compassion, please check out the other schools because you need a reality check. Tell me another home-based job that allows someone as young as 23 years old to work/rest when you want and earn 40,000, 50,000, plus pesos a month. And these aren’t our top performers. These are trainers who work a full time schedule. Trainers who go to RJ or 51T from Bizmates are trainers whose contracts we’ve decided not to renew. Many of them have asked if they could reapply which we’ve said no to. And your GOD comment is absolutely inappropriate. We have a handful of trainers earning 230php/hour but many earn above 200php/hour. They achieved these rates not because of a miracle, but because of hard work. If you can’t accept that, this job is not for you. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  4. "One of the best home-based online companies to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates

    Pros

    I've done a few online jobs already, and I can say that Bizmates is one of the best. That says a lot considering it's an English teaching company with some serious competition. Here are some pros: + reasonable pay + somewhat flexible work hours + taking a day off is easy and no big deal + professional teaching materials are provided + the students are for the most part excellent + the website is easy to use and intuitive + most of the people are great to work with + the CEO is a great guy who is easy to talk to I'm probably forgetting some more advantages, but bottom line - I'm happy here and would love to stay here for the foreseeable future.

    Cons

    Of course, no company is perfect. If it was, everyone would be working there, right? - need to click an I'M READY button 35 minutes before a class (very annoying) - difficult to start out as a beginner (you do get used to the routine, of course) - the pay stops increasing after a while (it's still pretty high though) - some students are difficult to work with (luckily, there are very few of these types) - power interruptions and outages are the trainer's fault (except if you've exceeded 20 mins) - sending a text message to support is needlessly complicated - no clear career path if you get bored as a trainer (not really a complaint, just a suggestion) - the number of trainers keeps increasing, meaning more competition for students (maybe not a problem at all) Overall most of the cons are easy to deal with. There isn't really anything that would make me consider quitting.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2016-11-12

    Bizmates Response

    November 14, 2016President

    Thank you for saying so many nice things about us. And thank you for bringing up your concerns. Just to confirm, you need to push the button only 15 minutes before the lesson. I know trainers aren't crazy about the I'm Ready Button. But I have to back it up because it's saved us from emergencies so many times. I wouldn't implement or keep a feature that isn't doing any good for us. I think the bigger issue is the user-friendliness of the feature. Sometimes trainers are so focused on their current lesson that they forget about the button. I really want that button to jump out of the screen so trainers don't miss it. We're still working on that. So I understand how that could be frustrating. However, after missing it a few times, trainers really do get into the habit of pushing it. Like I've written before, everyone misses pushing the button at least a few times. It's no big deal. It happens to all of us. Hika President Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Mandaluyong City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great lessons, easy to teach materials, friendly staffs. Very accommodating support team and well-mannered students.

    Cons

    Failure to click I'm Ready button puts you into a lesson slot limit, from 1 to 3 days. No matter how you strove hard to notify them via SMS, you hold no justice and your schedule will be blocked for 3 days. VERY UNFAIR, it's not always the trainer's negligence, there are MANY OTHER circumstances that we may not be able to click it on time. Limited lesson scope, only for business english. Why not try some TOEIC, TOEFL or IELTS?

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2016-10-28

    Bizmates Response

    November 14, 2016President

    Thank you for your kind words and your honest feedback on the I'm ready Button feature. As for the I'm Ready Button, its purpose is to protect both the trainer and student. If we didn't have this feature, there would be hundreds of cases where students would be just waiting for their trainer to call. This feature has saved trainers from getting many emergencies. Now, there are times when the trainer is online and ready to teach but just happens to forget to push the button, or is just away from their desk, or is just too focused on their current lesson. And this leads to the lesson being cancelled which is an unfortunate event. The student loses out, the trainer loses out, and the company loses out. However, if we look at all the times that the feature has actually prevented emergencies, it's a necessity for a home-based job. So I realize this is not a perfect feature, but I think if you look at the overall impact of it, it does more good than harm. I hope this makes sense. Hika President Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  6. "Best ESL school in the Phillipines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - ESL Teacher in Quezon City, National Capital Region
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Highest paying ESL school in the Philippines and easiest to navigate(system)

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Bizmates2016-10-04
  7. "Bizmates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    ESL Teacher 

    I have been working at Bizmates

    Pros

    Higher starting rate compared to other ESL company. There's already training videos provided and Mr.Ito is very hands-on.

    Cons

    A certain trainer mumbles when she speaks that would make the interviewee ask her again the question.She seems not very accommodating and perfectionist in evaluating applicants. When I applied I could even hear her children's noise and her headset didn't work properly at that time too.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2016-09-08

    Bizmates Response

    September 20, 2016President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. It disappoints me that our interviewer was not able to make a good impression. We expect our trainers to have noise-cancelling mics so there's no excuse for the interviewer to not have a working headset. I've asked our HR Manager to look into this. Thank you for bringing this up. As for giving applicants who have potential a chance, we certainly do that. However, we receive 1200-1700 applicants each week. And the very thing we look for in the initial screening process, where only 30% pass, is potential. And since you made it to the interview, our screener must have recognized your potential. In the interview, it has a lot more to do with professionalism and preparation. The number one reason that applicants fail the interview is because they haven't carefully watched the video I created. You need to know the content in and out. However, many applicants just breeze through the video or even skip it and it's those applicants who will feel like a fish out of water. I explain very clearly what to expect in the pre-interview video. If you watch it carefully several times and learn the content, there is no reason you should not pass the interview. For some applicants, it does take a couple of attempts before passing. You mention some good things about Bizmates. So if you are still interested in joining us, I encourage you to apply again. Thank you for your feedback. Hika President Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "MYSTERIOUS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -high rate compared to other ESL

    Cons

    -no contact numbers for aspiring applicants -fb page replies are automated -SLOW application process -schedule is NOT FLEXIBLE. available slots for new teachers 4am-9am and 5pm-12am? savage. -clients are only adults and working professionals. (no kids and university students) that's so intimidating. dull as well at times.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2016-08-18

    Bizmates Response

    August 19, 2016President

    Hi there. Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm sure there are areas that we still need to improve for our trainers. I'm not sure what you mean by no contact numbers for aspiring applicants and FB page replies are automated. I'll bring this up with HR, but I suggest you do the same. We gratefully accept feedback from our trainers. Many of the changes we made to our portal and evaluation system started as suggestions from our trainers. As for the flexible schedule, the only slots that a new trainer cannot teach are for 4 hours 9am-1pm. These slots which we started 2 weeks ago are only available to trainers who have taught at least 100 lesson (which many trainers reach after 1 or 2 weeks), and have fairly good feedback from students and low cancellations.The reason we don't allow everyone to open is because there are very few lessons during these times, so your chances would be very low to get booked during these times. If you have reached 100 lessons and have fairly good stats, you should be allowed to open those slots. You can talk to our Retention Manager if you have the requirements but still are unable to open those slots. As for expanding our clients to include kids, I'm a bit surprised with this suggestion. We brand ourselves as an online business communication school focused on helping business professionals with their business English needs. We are Bizmates, which stands for Business Partners. As much as I love kids, that is not an area that we plan to go into. So please don't expect this to happen. Hika President Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews