Bizmates Online English Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Bizmates Online English Teacher Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
12 Ratings
  1. "My dream work-from-home- job come true!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Bacoor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good lesson material; encourages all its stakeholders to adhere to standards of quality, excellence and professionalism; non-discriminative (people of all race, religion, age, etc. can work here) approachable CEO, and over-all a great company to work with and work for.

    Cons

    None that I can think of for now.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2020-02-06

    Bizmates Response

    February 7, 2020President

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your feedback. You have a great outlook on life and work. Just love your positive spirit. Well said. I sincerely hope more people make Bizmates a positive addition to their lives, both trainers and students. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  2. "Good management, support, transparency, well compensated ,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher in Quezon City, National Capital Region
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Superb management Professional support Well compensated Flexible schedule

    Cons

    None that I have experienced of so far

    Bizmates2019-10-20

    Bizmates Response

    October 28, 2019President

    Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you are enjoying the benefits of working from home. Keep up the good work. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. "Grateful to have explored online teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher in Quezon City, National Capital Region
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible teaching hours Friendly, professional students Well-thought-out materials

    Cons

    I'm quite satisfied. Yes there are some issues, but they're manageable for me.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-08-15

    Bizmates Response

    August 17, 2019President

    Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. I think there are still so many people who have yet to realize the joy of teaching from home. It requires a bit of adjustment going from an office-based job to a home-based job, but once you take on the responsibility of being your own boss, you begin to really appreciate the flexibility and earning potential. Glad you are enjoying your time with us. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great online job experience and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Dasmariñas, Province of Cavite
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly think that the recruitment team is a bunch of able professionals who know their craft well. From the moment I started with their recruitment process, I was amazed by how they handle my application well. Also, once you are in the company, you are always surrounded by the support that you need. The Japanese learners are very receptive. I am humbled by their desire to keep learning and how they strive for excellence!

    Cons

    Because of the nature of online learning and teaching, you can only manage to facilitate so much that fits your time. bit then again, this is not the company's fault. that is just how it is.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-06-24

    Bizmates Response

    July 1, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your kind words. Your comments about the Recruitment Team make me so proud. They all started off as trainers and worked their way up. They really are passionate about what they do as well as all the support teams from Quality Assurance to Trainer Support to Trainer Relations, and I’m so glad that you’ve recognized them. We are proud to have had you with us as well. Hope to see you again. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  5. "Proactive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Iloilo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Proactive Management, Good and Responsive Teaching Modules

    Cons

    Limited Employee- Employer Connection outside of Manila

    Bizmates2019-02-12

    Bizmates Response

    March 3, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Yeah, that’s one of the drawbacks of being home based. It’s hard to get the face-to-face interaction, especially if you’re based outside of Manila. Having said that, that doesn’t mean we won’t have a chance to meet. We’ve had trainer get-togethers in Davao, Cebu, and Baguio before. We may have another one outside of Manila soon. So don’t get your hopes up. Hika Ito, CEO. Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  6. "Good home-based job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Home-based Online English Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    -Salary increases with performance and tenure. -Considerable freedom in setting your schedule. -No unreasonable penalties and support does its best to avoid causing teachers unnecessary stress. -The culture within the company seems friendlier and although it's online, teachers are able to support each other. -Teachers are not forced to take abuse from rude or unreasonable students. This is very important as I worked for another eikaiwa that had a policy that forces teachers to talk to the student until the lesson time ended regardless of the student's behavior.

    Cons

    -When you start, you're only limited to lessons at certain parts of the day which can be especially hard for people who have full-time jobs as they have to work around that. -Bizmates isn't a 24- hour school so lessons are only from 5am-1am in Japan time so this is another thing to consider when planning your schedule.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-08-02
  7. "First and Last Choice for Online Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Online English Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Bizmates has allowed me to widen my horizons in providing excellent service by gearing me to become an effective Online English Teacher. The recruitment process was a breeze and the staff and facilitators were all professional and accommodating. The learning environment was very effective and the materials provided were easy to comprehend. The management team is very transparent and approachable. All other departments are just exemplary with what they do. The payment is always on time, if not early. They are also very flexible when it comes to working hours and the support team is very friendly. This was the first company I found online and with the experience I am having, I will not need anyone else.

    Cons

    The adversities of being a home based job are technical issues with equipment, power interruption or failure and other unavoidable circumstances such as ISP latency or outage, typhoon, erratic connection issues and students cancelling lessons.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-07-18
  8. "Bizmates as Work and Life and Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Cagayan de Oro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO. Great TL. Great pay. Great Trainer Support Team

    Cons

    sometimes I am Ready button needs to be clicked twice

    Bizmates2018-06-04

    Bizmates Response

    June 15, 2018President

    Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear things are going well so far. Hmm..., the I’m ready button shouldn’t need to be clicked twice. It might be the internet connection or perhaps a bug in the system, but please report incidents like that to our Trainer Support Team. If we get multiple complaints like that, we’ll have IT look further into it. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  9. "The perks of earning while taking care of your family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Calatagan, Province of Batangas
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm really happy to have learned about Bizmates. I could not have imagined being able to earn and take care of my family at home at the same time, is possible.. In my previous work, i prepare myself for an hour, spend 3 hrs stuck in traffic, work for 10 hrs, get home late and tired only to earn a minimum wage. I felt my child's longing for my attention everyday during that time. Now, we have a mother-son bond tighter than ever, and i am providing more than my salary before, without being stressed and sacrificing my health.

    Cons

    The scoring of Cancellation/Emergency is not categorized. Even if it's not trainer's fault such as power outage, the score deduction is too high that greatly affects the trainer's KPI score

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-03-04

    Bizmates Response

    March 6, 2018President

    Hi there. You know those stories of our trainers living better lives is really my biggest motivation. As for your concern about cancellations and emergencies, it's well noted. But you see, as this is a home-based job, the trainer's internet connection and power source are key. They are your lifeline in this job. I know it's not your fault when you cancel lessons due to these reasons, but it's still your responsibility. It's like saying it's not my fault for being late to work because I live so far away and there was so much traffic. I feel for you, but it's still your responsibility. As for students not understanding the meaning of "connection" is not the case. It's translated in Japanese as "The trainer's audio, video, and internet connection". It's as clear as it can get. However, you're right that it would be better to get more students to fill out the form. Only about 10% of the students take the time to fill it out. However, after a while, you'll have hundreds of evaluations, and good trainers will have good scores while average trainers will have average scores. There's truth in numbers, just like any other survey. I hope that makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  10. "great but not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - you open or close slots easily - minimum of 10 hours working time a week which really gives you control over your schedule - staffs are nice - ceo is hands on

    Cons

    - they will only allow you to open slots in the morning and evening if you're just starting - pay is not as high as some other flatforms - payment system is quite complicated but they're working on it

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-02-25

    Bizmates Response

    March 3, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback and for mentioning me and our staff. Our staff really are extremely dedicated and go out of their way to support trainers. As for our pay, the starting rate is 140php/hour which may not seem high, but the rate of increase is extremely fast. I mean a trainer is evaluated every 500 lessons, which takes full time trainers 1 month to hit. And you can go up to 150-160php, and this goes up to a maximum of 220php/hour. So, we have trainers who get to 220php/hour after 4 months. And because of this system, our top earners get over 80,000php/month, which so many trainers tell me that's more than what managers can make at a nice office job. If the job market gets more competitive, we will certainly make adjustments to our payment system. However, for now, we get thousands of applicants each week and so many people tell us that our payment system is very high compared to other schools. Anyway, I hope that makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews