Bizmates Reviews | Glassdoor

Bizmates Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
180 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing STUDENTS from all over the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible, convenient, highly professional & reputable

    Cons

    care for your own employment benefits

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-09-01

    Bizmates Response

    September 5, 2019President

    Hi there. I’m sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with our admin staff. As we are a company that helps our students improve their communication skills, I expect all our admin staff and our trainers to display the highest level of effective communication at all times. Since the beginning of this year, we have started to expand recruitment of our trainers to outside the Philippines. So we have begun to see more trainers from other parts of the world which personally I find very exciting. However, at the same time, this change may cause new challenges such as time zones, country-related concerns, and cultural differences. So, certainly our staff will need to learn to adjust their approach better depending on the geographical locations of our trainers. Thank you for bringing this up. As for your case, I’ve asked our Human Capital Director to look into this. As we have about 40 admin staff working in four different departments that are involved in recruiting and supporting our trainers, it is sometimes difficult to uncover all the details immediately. So for concerns like these, I suggest you report them directly to Trainer Relations who will address your concerns much faster. Hope that makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Realistic - You can earn a lot - if you make this your whole life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good website. Seems organized. Impressive to an applicant. Polite and professional interviewers. I have nothing but respect to the people here. I'm writing this so I may be of help in changing and providing better working conditions for home-based employees.

    Cons

    So you passed the language test, you passed the interviews. Here comes the training. What I can say is it's inconsistent. I went through 3 trainers. One told me my hands moved too much, I should exude...professionalism...something like a newscaster...okay...i went to my next training. I was told I was too stiff. I should move my hands..This really happened. I told them to please put their act together and be consistent. What can I say about blazers? I'm not going to say anything because I don't have anything nice to say except blazers are so like a decade ago:) Ah but those are their rules. It should be respected. A little change in the outfit would be good, though.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-08

    Bizmates Response

    October 20, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Being a home-based consultant teaching English has its merits and demerits, no doubt. It certainly isn't for everyone. You need to be self-motivated, professional, and responsible for your own actions and own equipment. Those who do well can get over 200php/hour and earn 50,000, 60,000, and in a handful of cases, over 80,000php/month. To get 200php/hour, no you don't need to work 12 hours a day. There are only 6 hours of peak time slots during the week, so working more than that won't help you get a higher rate. You need to get 6 stars to get 200php. If you have pretty high customer feedback scores, low cancellations and emergencies, and if you are available for 6 peak hours a day, you would hit 200php. As for the inconsistency you went through in training, that is disappointing. Although we can expect some variations in the way we all teach, there certainly should be a little more consistency among our mentors. However, our mentors became mentors because they were all really good trainers. So, I think there is always something you can learn from them. What works for one trainer might not work for another. But keep in mind that your mentors are actually trying to help you become a better trainer so you can get more bookings. Complaining about the advice they give you actually does very little to help you. Anyway, I hope you find what you are looking for. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Teaching one to one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere wirth friends colleagues are very helpful

    Cons

    Really poor rate of pay. Way below the minimum wage in any country

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-04

    Bizmates Response

    October 7, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the atmosphere and the contacts you made weren't enough to keep you with us. Since we started recruiting trainers from outside the Philippines, we've received a few people complain that the rate is low. However, in this home-based job where you have the freedom to work and rest when you want, a rate of 140php - 230php is very competitive. We have several trainers earning up to 80,000php or about 1500 US dollars monthly and many that earn above 40,000php or 50,000php monthly. We don't offer a premium for being a native speaker or for having a teaching degree. We have a performance based system and everyone starts at 140php. Depending on your performance, you can move up very quickly to the top rate in under a year. However, you don't get that rate just because you are from a certain area of the world or speak English a little better. We get 1000s of applicants each week and we are looking for trainers who are the right fit. I hope you find a school that is a right fit for you. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  5. "BIZMATES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Tutor in Batangas, Batangas City
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, with great pay.

    Cons

    Difficulty in processing BIR for tax and even had penalties.

    Bizmates2019-08-23

    Bizmates Response

    August 26, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Glad you are enjoying the freedom to work and rest when you want while earning good money. This is the essence of home-based work. You are your own boss. You are your own employer. With this comes the responsibility to file your own taxes. To many first timers, it can be overwhelming, but to the majority, they say it was a lot easier than what they had expected. If you have past violations, the BIR will see them and collect penalties. Just pay them and feel proud to be a law-abiding taxpayer who is supporting your country. Hope that makes sense. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "KPI and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher Trainer in Manila, Manila

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    with good support system- just a message away good teaching materials learners are all adults

    Cons

    pay is based on your KPI.. you can get as high as 230 with perfect KPI, but I doubt it unless you can control the weather or your electric power, your internet connection.. Last night. I did something else right after I finished my class thinking to submit my peda ( notes for the students) before going to bed but it completely slipped out of my mind. It's very disappointing though how only 3 missed pedas in hundreds of lessons can have a great devastating impact to our KPI, just 3 missed pedas and I got already -1 star, .. submitting peda is nothing compared to sleeping past midnight and having to get up really early in the morning just to keep up with the peak hours and have that hard earned star , I feel that all that effort just went to the drain with only 3 missed pedas.. I'm starting to think that Bizmates is all about making money.. that's the message I get from the KPI. We have to control our internet connection, we need to control the weather or the power.. or else good bye KPI.. well guess what we're not GOD! or maybe we can wash down our cancellation rate by beating ourselves out! I guess it's time to say NEXT PLS!..

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-08-02

    Bizmates Response

    August 3, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. So you forgot after your lessons and missed the deadline to fill in your notes. And you got penalized for it which hurts your performance evaluation. That is a bummer. It happens. But as you know, your stats do get reset after each evaluation and you get a fresh start. Listen, less than 3% of our trainers miss that deadline. And you happened to fall in that 3% because you forgot. How does this make the company have no compassion? We have very clear rules. You work and rest when you want. But when you work, you need to follow very simple guidelines. Open the times you want to work. You don’t need to do this days in advance. Do it anytime. But you need to click the “I’m ready button” at least 15 minutes before the lesson. Teach your 25-minute lesson. And then fill in your notes by 4am. No, I’m not going to allow trainers to push the button 13 minutes before. No, I’m not going to allow a 22-minute lesson. And no, I’m not going to allow to fill in the notes by 5am. The rules are clear. If you think these rules are ridiculously strict and suggest that there’s no compassion, please check out the other schools because you need a reality check. Tell me another home-based job that allows someone as young as 23 years old to work/rest when you want and earn 40,000, 50,000, plus pesos a month. And these aren’t our top performers. These are trainers who work a full time schedule. Trainers who go to RJ or 51T from Bizmates are trainers whose contracts we’ve decided not to renew. Many of them have asked if they could reapply which we’ve said no to. And your GOD comment is absolutely inappropriate. We have a handful of trainers earning 230php/hour but many earn above 200php/hour. They achieved these rates not because of a miracle, but because of hard work. If you can’t accept that, this job is not for you. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bizmates is a great opportunity but lacks of consideration from supports."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Tutor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a part time online English tutor and I love Bizmates! It's amazing to talk to foreign people and be able to connect with them while both of you are learning. The pay was good as well, it really depends on your time, hard work and willingness to teach. Teaching time is also flexible but with limitations. New trainers are not allowed to teach on some specific time until they reach 500 lessons.

    Cons

    Support from Bizmates are kind but somewhat inconsiderate. It was heartbreaking when I got deactivated for having skype issues and low eval. When student rated me low evaluation but the records shows otherwise, supports will ask for record but will not consider to adjust the evaluation ratings as per their assessment. I think it's really because the company's strict compliance I guess. But it shouldn't be that awful.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-08-02

    Bizmates Response

    August 6, 2019President

    Hey there. Thank you for your comments. I'm sad to hear about the deactivation. But certainly, you didn't get deactivated because of a couple of cancellations due to skype issues and a low evaluation. You need to get a few cancellations over multiple incidences to get to the point that Trainer Support would deactivate your account for 3 days. Also, you would need to get at least 3 complaints from students during a 500-lesson term to get deactivated by the Quality Assurance Team. Anyway, if you got deactivated, it's supposed to be a time for you to resolve your skype or connection issues or to reflect on those complaints so that within the next few days you are ready to up your game to make up for it, not to complain about how unfair it is. If that's the approach you take, the same thing is likely to happen again. If TSS or QA were rude , unprofessional, and called you names or something, I would take immediate action against them because that's not how they should be communicating with our trainers who are on the frontline bringing our brand to life. However, if you are complaining that your performance evaluation was hurt because they didn't bend the rules and cheat the system for you, I don't have any sympathy. As soon as someone bends the rules for one trainer, we are cheating all the other trainers. And that I can't allow. Now, let me respond to some of your suggestions. As for opening all slots, this is something that I've started to consider. As you know, there are only 5 hours out of 21 working hours that non-assessors are not allowed to work. But I will consider this. As for the double whammy, well the Lesson Slot Limit is something I'm testing now. But if a trainer has high cancellations or high complaints, I don't think that trainer should be allowed to teach until the trainer can do something about it. It just wouldn't be fair to the students or to that trainer as well because their KPI scores will just continue to fall. As for students being absent or canceling their lessons 5 minutes before the class, like you described, you do get paid half the lesson. If you are asking for a full lesson for not teaching the lesson, I disagree. When you say other companies paid in full, are you talking about those office-based ESL schools that give you a 40-hour schedule and pay 8,000php/month even if you don't get booked? I'm aware of these low-paying schools and you read about them on Glassdoor all the time. At Bizmates, you have absolute flexibility. No one is forcing you to work from 4am or until 1am. If you want to get a higher rate, yes, you will need to make some sacrifices, such as morning lessons and late-night lessons. But that's up to you to control. So, here’s my advice. Stop thinking about your rate. Think about how much you want to take home each month. Because a high rate doesn't equal high pay. You need to get booked. You need to teach lessons. So, are you happy with 20K? Do you want 40? Do you need 60K? 80K? Yes, there are a couple of trainers who consistenly get 80K. Whatever that amount is, you can divide it by your hourly rate. That gives you the number of hours you need to work in that month. If you have a lot of regular students, it'll be easy to get booked. If you don't have regulars, oh boy, it's going to be much harder. So, how do you get regulars? Well, you need to wow your students. You need to be better than the other trainers. And that means have a more stable internet connection, better teaching techniques, and the ability to personally connect with the student. I've created videos for this. OK, now you are getting regulars and you're not canceling lessons. Before you know it, your KPI stats increase, and your rate goes up. This means you need to work fewer hours to reach your goal. And you do so well that you get the Perfect Score Award and add another 1,000php to your pay. You submit a couple of Discovery articles that get accepted and you get 500php for each article. And by chance, I pull your name out of the Bizmates weekend raffle and you win 10,000php! That's what I want you to focus on. Yes, many trainers have done this. Well, maybe not the raffle. We only have 1 winner for 10,000php. Then, you will mean it when you say you love Bizmates and Bizmates is amazing. Best of luck. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  8. "Most relaxing job I've had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business English Trainer in Alabang
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to work flexibly. Professional students. Very polite and non-stressful conversations.

    Cons

    You have to do a lot of your own government related paper work such as Tax. When you lose connection or electricity your rate drops drastically and very difficult to recover. Very few day time students. Most are in the very early morning or at the late night slots.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-07-17

    Bizmates Response

    July 19, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad you’re enjoying your time with us. As for taxes, I really wish I could make the process easier, but these are BIR’s processes and it’s outside our jurisdiction. But be proud to be a tax-abiding citizen. And if you do have a bad term and your rate does drop a bit, don’t be discouraged because your lesson cancellations will reset to zero and you’ll have a fresh start in the next term. And the more you teach, the sooner the next term will start. Best of luck. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  9. "Wondering if I can reapply again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Math Tutor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company Nice benefits Nice CEO Flexible schedule Higher rate

    Cons

    I didnt pass the demo.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-07-29

    Bizmates Response

    July 30, 2019President

    Hi there. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t pass the demo. Sure, you can reapply. Wow, I respect your eagerness. You have a go-getter attitude and that’s a good thing. But I would wait 3 months before applying again. I hope this helps. Cheers. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  10. "High pay than other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Pasay, Albay
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher pay than other ESL companies.

    Cons

    You don't have any benefits

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-07-19

    Bizmates Response

    July 30, 2019President

    Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. Yes, pay is high but no benefits that regular employees have because our trainers are professional consultants. This gives you the flexibility to work when you want from the comfort of your home and earn up to 80,000php for our top trainers. This is only possible because our trainers are professional consultants. We do have incentives and awards. But many of our trainers realize that with their high earnings, they could get their own HMO and still have more take home pay as a consultant. Hope this makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  11. "Good company and good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Ser, Punjab
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company and good people

    Cons

    The rate is very cheap for well-experienced trainers.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-07-03

    Bizmates Response

    July 5, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. As for the rate, the starting rate is 140 php/hour whether you have a masters, you’re a native speaker, or you have 20 years work experience. That’s because we believe solely in the results you produce once you join us. But you can go up quickly to a max rate of 230 php/hour. Some trainers achieve above 200php after 1 year. We’ve had young trainers with no teaching experience who used to work in a call center or was a nurse become amazing trainers while we’ve had people with years of teaching experience perform miserably. It’s really hard to gauge who’s going to turn out to be a superstar. Anyway, hope to see you again. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 216 reviews