Bizmates Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Teacher

Bizmates Teacher Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
21 Ratings
  1. "My dream work-from-home- job come true!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Bacoor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good lesson material; encourages all its stakeholders to adhere to standards of quality, excellence and professionalism; non-discriminative (people of all race, religion, age, etc. can work here) approachable CEO, and over-all a great company to work with and work for.

    Cons

    None that I can think of for now.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2020-02-06

    Bizmates Response

    February 7, 2020President

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your feedback. You have a great outlook on life and work. Just love your positive spirit. Well said. I sincerely hope more people make Bizmates a positive addition to their lives, both trainers and students. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  2. "evaluator is not compassionate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - ESL Teacher Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates

    Pros

    home base work at home 10 hours weekly minimum

    Cons

    pressuring, evaluator not giving the chance despite seen potential

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2020-02-03

    Bizmates Response

    February 5, 2020President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a tough evaluator. You know, the number one reason that an applicant doesn’t make it is because they fail to show commitment. And if you came to the final demo without having watched all the videos and properly prepared for the demo lesson, the evaluator is going to think you lack commitment. Not having enough time or the videos were too boring to watch aren’t acceptable. You can either win or learn. But if you blame other people, your environment, the system, or process, you lose. Don’t go down that path. Pick yourself up, reflect on what you can do better, and try again. That’s what winners do. Best of luck. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. "Good management, support, transparency, well compensated ,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher in Quezon City, National Capital Region
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Superb management Professional support Well compensated Flexible schedule

    Cons

    None that I have experienced of so far

    Bizmates2019-10-20

    Bizmates Response

    October 28, 2019President

    Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you are enjoying the benefits of working from home. Keep up the good work. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not Realistic - You can earn a lot - if you make this your whole life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good website. Seems organized. Impressive to an applicant. Polite and professional interviewers. I have nothing but respect to the people here. I'm writing this so I may be of help in changing and providing better working conditions for home-based employees.

    Cons

    So you passed the language test, you passed the interviews. Here comes the training. What I can say is it's inconsistent. I went through 3 trainers. One told me my hands moved too much, I should exude...professionalism...something like a newscaster...okay...i went to my next training. I was told I was too stiff. I should move my hands..This really happened. I told them to please put their act together and be consistent. What can I say about blazers? I'm not going to say anything because I don't have anything nice to say except blazers are so like a decade ago:) Ah but those are their rules. It should be respected. A little change in the outfit would be good, though.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-08

    Bizmates Response

    October 20, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Being a home-based consultant teaching English has its merits and demerits, no doubt. It certainly isn't for everyone. You need to be self-motivated, professional, and responsible for your own actions and own equipment. Those who do well can get over 200php/hour and earn 50,000, 60,000, and in a handful of cases, over 80,000php/month. To get 200php/hour, no you don't need to work 12 hours a day. There are only 6 hours of peak time slots during the week, so working more than that won't help you get a higher rate. You need to get 6 stars to get 200php. If you have pretty high customer feedback scores, low cancellations and emergencies, and if you are available for 6 peak hours a day, you would hit 200php. As for the inconsistency you went through in training, that is disappointing. Although we can expect some variations in the way we all teach, there certainly should be a little more consistency among our mentors. However, our mentors became mentors because they were all really good trainers. So, I think there is always something you can learn from them. What works for one trainer might not work for another. But keep in mind that your mentors are actually trying to help you become a better trainer so you can get more bookings. Complaining about the advice they give you actually does very little to help you. Anyway, I hope you find what you are looking for. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  5. "Grateful to have explored online teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher in Quezon City, National Capital Region
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible teaching hours Friendly, professional students Well-thought-out materials

    Cons

    I'm quite satisfied. Yes there are some issues, but they're manageable for me.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-08-15

    Bizmates Response

    August 17, 2019President

    Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. I think there are still so many people who have yet to realize the joy of teaching from home. It requires a bit of adjustment going from an office-based job to a home-based job, but once you take on the responsibility of being your own boss, you begin to really appreciate the flexibility and earning potential. Glad you are enjoying your time with us. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "KPI and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher Trainer in Manila, Manila

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    with good support system- just a message away good teaching materials learners are all adults

    Cons

    pay is based on your KPI.. you can get as high as 230 with perfect KPI, but I doubt it unless you can control the weather or your electric power, your internet connection.. Last night. I did something else right after I finished my class thinking to submit my peda ( notes for the students) before going to bed but it completely slipped out of my mind. It's very disappointing though how only 3 missed pedas in hundreds of lessons can have a great devastating impact to our KPI, just 3 missed pedas and I got already -1 star, .. submitting peda is nothing compared to sleeping past midnight and having to get up really early in the morning just to keep up with the peak hours and have that hard earned star , I feel that all that effort just went to the drain with only 3 missed pedas.. I'm starting to think that Bizmates is all about making money.. that's the message I get from the KPI. We have to control our internet connection, we need to control the weather or the power.. or else good bye KPI.. well guess what we're not GOD! or maybe we can wash down our cancellation rate by beating ourselves out! I guess it's time to say NEXT PLS!..

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-08-02

    Bizmates Response

    August 3, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. So you forgot after your lessons and missed the deadline to fill in your notes. And you got penalized for it which hurts your performance evaluation. That is a bummer. It happens. But as you know, your stats do get reset after each evaluation and you get a fresh start. Listen, less than 3% of our trainers miss that deadline. And you happened to fall in that 3% because you forgot. How does this make the company have no compassion? We have very clear rules. You work and rest when you want. But when you work, you need to follow very simple guidelines. Open the times you want to work. You don’t need to do this days in advance. Do it anytime. But you need to click the “I’m ready button” at least 15 minutes before the lesson. Teach your 25-minute lesson. And then fill in your notes by 4am. No, I’m not going to allow trainers to push the button 13 minutes before. No, I’m not going to allow a 22-minute lesson. And no, I’m not going to allow to fill in the notes by 5am. The rules are clear. If you think these rules are ridiculously strict and suggest that there’s no compassion, please check out the other schools because you need a reality check. Tell me another home-based job that allows someone as young as 23 years old to work/rest when you want and earn 40,000, 50,000, plus pesos a month. And these aren’t our top performers. These are trainers who work a full time schedule. Trainers who go to RJ or 51T from Bizmates are trainers whose contracts we’ve decided not to renew. Many of them have asked if they could reapply which we’ve said no to. And your GOD comment is absolutely inappropriate. We have a handful of trainers earning 230php/hour but many earn above 200php/hour. They achieved these rates not because of a miracle, but because of hard work. If you can’t accept that, this job is not for you. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great online job experience and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Dasmariñas, Province of Cavite
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly think that the recruitment team is a bunch of able professionals who know their craft well. From the moment I started with their recruitment process, I was amazed by how they handle my application well. Also, once you are in the company, you are always surrounded by the support that you need. The Japanese learners are very receptive. I am humbled by their desire to keep learning and how they strive for excellence!

    Cons

    Because of the nature of online learning and teaching, you can only manage to facilitate so much that fits your time. bit then again, this is not the company's fault. that is just how it is.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-06-24

    Bizmates Response

    July 1, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your kind words. Your comments about the Recruitment Team make me so proud. They all started off as trainers and worked their way up. They really are passionate about what they do as well as all the support teams from Quality Assurance to Trainer Support to Trainer Relations, and I’m so glad that you’ve recognized them. We are proud to have had you with us as well. Hope to see you again. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  8. "Bizmates as it's finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - English Teacher 

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    work at your own pace and time

    Cons

    i cannot think of anything else

    Bizmates2019-02-23

    Bizmates Response

    March 3, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. Hika Ito, CEO. Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  9. "Proactive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Iloilo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Proactive Management, Good and Responsive Teaching Modules

    Cons

    Limited Employee- Employer Connection outside of Manila

    Bizmates2019-02-12

    Bizmates Response

    March 3, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Yeah, that’s one of the drawbacks of being home based. It’s hard to get the face-to-face interaction, especially if you’re based outside of Manila. Having said that, that doesn’t mean we won’t have a chance to meet. We’ve had trainer get-togethers in Davao, Cebu, and Baguio before. We may have another one outside of Manila soon. So don’t get your hopes up. Hika Ito, CEO. Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  10. "Good home-based job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Home-based Online English Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    -Salary increases with performance and tenure. -Considerable freedom in setting your schedule. -No unreasonable penalties and support does its best to avoid causing teachers unnecessary stress. -The culture within the company seems friendlier and although it's online, teachers are able to support each other. -Teachers are not forced to take abuse from rude or unreasonable students. This is very important as I worked for another eikaiwa that had a policy that forces teachers to talk to the student until the lesson time ended regardless of the student's behavior.

    Cons

    -When you start, you're only limited to lessons at certain parts of the day which can be especially hard for people who have full-time jobs as they have to work around that. -Bizmates isn't a 24- hour school so lessons are only from 5am-1am in Japan time so this is another thing to consider when planning your schedule.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-08-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews