Bizmates Trainer Reviews | Glassdoor

Bizmates Trainer Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
94%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
93 Ratings
  1. Helpful (17)

    "Business English Trainer for a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business English Trainer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was really good. Pay was ok. Awesome CEO. Nice Coworkers

    Cons

    The taxation system. It was very tedious.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-09-07

    Bizmates Response

    September 9, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your input. Thank you for the awesome remark. : ) As for the taxation system, it’s not Bizmates that’s making it hard. It’s the BIR. They set the rules and policy. And we are forced to follow them. And if you ever work in a company that doesn’t follow the rules, they are breaking the law and you would be too. No one wants to live life wondering if they’ll ever be caught by the BIR. I certainly don’t want my trainers to feel that way and neither do I. Hope that makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  2. "Flexible working hours!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part of working at Bizmates is that you choose your own working time. You are your own boss. TSS are very responsive and supportive at all times. The Japanese clients are very polite. What more can I say. If you work hard and improve yourself, surely you'll get rewarded. Thanks BIZMATES!

    Cons

    None that I can say at the moment.

    Bizmates2020-02-18

    Bizmates Response

    February 19, 2020President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Sounds like you’re making it all work for you. Good for you. You’re absolutely right about working hard and getting rewarded. We don’t reward people for being a native speaker or having a teaching degree. We reward people for getting good results. And to do that, you need to work hard. Good results equal good pay. Mediocre results lead to mediocre pay. I don’t know any other online school that has a metric system that shows the trainer how they are performing with numerical values in almost real time. And this allows us to take a very subjective role like teaching to make it objective. I’m glad it’s all working out for you. Keep it up. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. "It gave me career opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Trainer in Mangaldan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for more than a year

    Pros

    *KPI system motivates me to do my best *doesn't tolerate abusive students unlike my previous company *Trainer Support responds fast *It's a two-way learning *You feel like a professional *The CEO himself is not someone that only limited people can talk to

    Cons

    *I hope we could have a space to put notes about our students since it is not allowed to input personal infos, it really helps us to build rapport with students when we remember something we previously talked with them about.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2020-02-18

    Bizmates Response

    February 20, 2020President

    Thank you for your feedback. You bring up some really good points. I hate that only non-personal info could be placed on the peda. It’s just that in this day and age there are some really sensitive people when it comes to their personal information. And the risk of having that information is too high. However, eventually I hope I could add a memo page which only the trainer who wrote the info could see. As for materials for beginners, I totally agree. We have been getting more and more complete beginners who need a lot of support before they enter level 1. That is something we are looking into now. And news articles are another area that we are considering. We think alike. Lots of good ideas. Thank you. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  4. "evaluator is not compassionate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - ESL Teacher Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates

    Pros

    home base work at home 10 hours weekly minimum

    Cons

    pressuring, evaluator not giving the chance despite seen potential

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2020-02-03

    Bizmates Response

    February 5, 2020President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a tough evaluator. You know, the number one reason that an applicant doesn’t make it is because they fail to show commitment. And if you came to the final demo without having watched all the videos and properly prepared for the demo lesson, the evaluator is going to think you lack commitment. Not having enough time or the videos were too boring to watch aren’t acceptable. You can either win or learn. But if you blame other people, your environment, the system, or process, you lose. Don’t go down that path. Pick yourself up, reflect on what you can do better, and try again. That’s what winners do. Best of luck. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  5. "My first ever esl company and so far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Promotes work, life balance. Support team is reliable. Cool ceo. And most of all, students are professionals.

    Cons

    -Tax system is tedious.

    Bizmates2020-01-03

    Bizmates Response

    January 7, 2020President

    Hi there. Thanks for your post. So glad you’re enjoying your time with us. Filing your taxes does get a bit of getting used to. But just like with anything, once you get used to it, it’s no sweat. Keep it up. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  6. "Blessed to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Trainer/Assessor in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Allows work from opportunity Flexible Time slots Good Support from the support Desk

    Cons

    I don't have anything to share

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-12-05

    Bizmates Response

    December 23, 2019President

    Thank you so much for your heartfelt message. And congratulations to you for making the most out of your time and adjusting to your new life. You truly are an inspiration to others who’ve had to give up their office job to raise a child, take care of a family member, or just couldn’t physically continue the dreadful commute. I wish you the best at Bizmates and hope to see you in person one day at one of our get-together. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  7. "Best Company for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Trainer in Meycauayan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this platform. I have been in this company for only three months and it's really nice. I think being a trainer here is my answered prayer. I and my husband is struggling in budgeting our income because we have five children. Now my salary here can augment the needs of my family.I am always excited during payday and the it is advance than the scheduled. Honestly I'm thinking to resign from my recent job to be a full time trainer so I can be with my family and at the same time earning money.

    Cons

    At first BIR concerns was my problem but so far Bizmates Jig and other trainers helped me fixed this out. Other than that the rest are really amazing.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-12-03

    Bizmates Response

    December 3, 2019President

    Hi there. So glad everything is working out for you. Actually a lot of trainers have never taught before but just realize they are really good at it. And eventually do this full time and really enjoy work-life balance. Keep it up. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  8. "My Bizmates Experience 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Trainer/Assesor in Taytay, Rizal
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Career Opportunities - Move up to higher positions such as Assessor, Mentor, etc - Hone your writing skills by submitting lesson articles - Meet Japanese professionals from different backgrounds and industries; Improve your interpersonal skills, critical thinking, strategy, and resourcefulness. Compensation and Benefits - Earn twice the pay of many online schools - Performance incentives - Higher referral incentives Work/Life Balance - Flexible schedule - No graveyard shift - No traffic so you get to spend your precious time with your friends and family or for things you want to pursue, do, etc. Culture and Values - Monthly Performance Recognition; - Learn a lot from other trainers in the Facebook Group - Great admin support team and Excellent CEO (very hands-on)

    Cons

    * This is not the job for people who want to be managed and supervised. You plot your own schedule, find ways to market yourself as a trainer, you set your own goals, you motivate yourself, you pay your own taxes, government contributions, etc, you pay for your own equipment and resources. * This is not the job for people who want to discuss easy topics; You need to have work experience to relate this to your lessons to make it interesting and engaging for students; You need to have wider perspective;

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-16

    Bizmates Response

    October 28, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for al your feedback. Glad to hear that you are enjoying the benefits and getting a handle on the additional responsibilities of being your own boss. You are absolutely correct about this job not being for people who want to be managed or need to be managed. And thank you for your suggestions. If you haven’t attended our Get-Together before, please do. We have a lot of giveaways and it’s a great opportunity to create close ties with other Bizmates trainers and staff. Cheers. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer/Assessor in Rosario, La Union
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We have the best support. All of them are kind and super approachable even Matel herself has been very helpful, responsive and kind to clarify things at all times.

    Cons

    Just the IRB thing if it does not refresh and suddenly a class gets cancelled after you've sacrificed to keep yourself awake so you could press it 30 mins before your class. it's really frustrating. I hope we can make it auto refresh every like 30 seconds

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-08

    Bizmates Response

    October 20, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Glad you are enjoying your time with us. Yes, the I'm Ready Button takes a bit of getting used to it. We're always looking for ways to make the system easier for everyone. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best days of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Trainer in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexibility once you get a hang of things -Awesome team - Good pay rate. You are paid what you work for. - Lessons are interesting to teach - Most students can be fun to talk to - Company lunch yearly meeting

    Cons

    - Scoring called KPI can be a bummer

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-09-03

    Bizmates Response

    September 5, 2019President

    Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Sure, the KPI system which is our evaluation system has its pros and cons. But in general an evaluation system isn’t something that most people like. You can compare it to a proficiency test for a learner or a physical exam for a patient. It’s not always something we look forward to. But we need something to take a snapshot of everyone’s performance to maintain quality. Anyway, that’s not what defines us. I think many of the pros you brought up are what’s important. Hope to see again. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 107 reviews