Bizmates "slots" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bizmates Employee Reviews about "slots"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
210 Ratings
Pros
  • "The support team is superb since I can always count on their quick response when I encountered some technical problems(in 29 reviews)

  • "An individual version of the Trainer Support group(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Skype is a very unreliable platform (I've got my cancellations and emergency due to skype problem)(in 14 reviews)

  • "Most are in the very early morning or at the late night slots(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "slots"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Blessed to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Trainer/Assessor in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Allows work from opportunity Flexible Time slots Good Support from the support Desk

    Cons

    I don't have anything to share

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-12-05

    Bizmates Response

    December 23, 2019President

    Thank you so much for your heartfelt message. And congratulations to you for making the most out of your time and adjusting to your new life. You truly are an inspiration to others who’ve had to give up their office job to raise a child, take care of a family member, or just couldn’t physically continue the dreadful commute. I wish you the best at Bizmates and hope to see you in person one day at one of our get-together. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  2. "Most relaxing job I've had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business English Trainer in Alabang
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to work flexibly. Professional students. Very polite and non-stressful conversations.

    Cons

    You have to do a lot of your own government related paper work such as Tax. When you lose connection or electricity your rate drops drastically and very difficult to recover. Very few day time students. Most are in the very early morning or at the late night slots.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-07-17

    Bizmates Response

    July 19, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad you’re enjoying your time with us. As for taxes, I really wish I could make the process easier, but these are BIR’s processes and it’s outside our jurisdiction. But be proud to be a tax-abiding citizen. And if you do have a bad term and your rate does drop a bit, don’t be discouraged because your lesson cancellations will reset to zero and you’ll have a fresh start in the next term. And the more you teach, the sooner the next term will start. Best of luck. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Pay rate is high but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Pay rate is high compared to most online ESL companies 2) They provide an even higher rate for the 4 AM slot (just the 4 AM) 3) Students are business professionals and are very kind and receptive 4) The management are kind, understanding and helpful 5) Good ratio of student to trainer - can get 90% fully-booked in all the slots 6) You are free to choose whatever slot you prefer to open - AM or PM BUT...(check cons)

    Cons

    1) Tax rate is really high at 10-15% depending on your status. 2) Tax requirements are absurd - COR and OR issuance. You'll issue a receipt on every payday and have to mail those receipts to their Finance Department in quarterly batches 3) Support team is supportive indeed but they sometimes do not have the appropriate answers to queries 4) No dispute for bad ratings from students. You can get suspended depending on the frequency and gravity of the complaint 5) You have to be "promoted" before you can open afternoon slots and this "promotion" does not come easy nor early 6) Preposterous KPI system 7) The only slots available for newbies are at 4 AM to 8 AM and 5 PM to 11 PM BUT 8) You can only open the 5 PM to 11 PM slots IF you render at least 2 hours of work between 9 PM to 11 PM or else you will be part of a list and can get sanctions 9) No HOLIDAY PAY - be it a Japan or Philippine Holiday 10) There are some errors on some of their materials 11) When students cancel the class, are absent or does not show up, you get paid only A QUARTER of your hourly rate - say your hourly is 140, half is 70 and a quarter is 35. Yeah I know you did not put in much work and all that but still, the student got charged for the lesson in full so you should get paid for the class. It wasn't your fault the student didn't attend the class in the first place. 12) No coaching sessions UNLESS you request for it yet that depends on whether someone is available or not 13) The rating form is sent to the student after you submit the class feedback form yet Bizmates does not encourage the student to answer it to help the trainer as it is part of one of the KPIs. Been here for years and yet I only got 120 forms answered 14) Some of the management are unresponsive to urgent questions and "seenzones" the messages you sent.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-10-26

    Bizmates Response

    December 1, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your taking the time to write so much so I’d like to reciprocate that by replying in detail. First of all, as I’ve mentioned that our trainers are evaluated based on the amount of contribution they have on the business, and I decide what contribution is. You aren’t evaluated on how hard you think you worked or how good of a trainer you think you are. When you have 1000 trainers, I need to look at actual figures and give trainers with higher figures a higher rate and trainers with lower figures a lower rate. If you can’t understand this concept or if you think this basic concept is unfair, the KPI system will not make sense to you. Now let’s go through each of the points you’ve brought up. 1. The tax has nothing to do with Bizmates. That is a BIR requirement. You have a legal responsibility to pay your taxes. 2. Again, this is a legal requirement for all consultants. If you weren’t paying taxes in your previous company, you and that company were breaking the law. 3. If you’re not happy with a dept’s response, you should report it to the dept head. If you’re still not satisfied, it’ll be escalated to me. 4. The evaluation from students is a survey. You might get a low score from a student who is just in a bad mood. It happens. But at the same time, some students just give perfect scores for all evaluations. This happens too. At the end of the day, really good trainers have high scores and average trainers will have average scores. As for getting suspended, of course that can happen. If you get multiple complaints within a 500 lesson term, yes you can and should be suspended when most trainers don’t get any complaints out of 500 lessons. If you are worried about getting suspended, that means you need to rethink what you are doing in the lesson because very few trainers get suspended for complaints. 5. I don’t know if promoted is the word. But you do need to become an assessor which about 70% of our trainers achieve in their first month. So I don’t think it’s such a difficult target. 6. If you don’t believe in a performance based system, this is not for you. 7. A trainer can become an assessor after teaching 100 lessons if their stats are good which about 70% achieve. Then you can open all slots. So I suggest you focus on improving your stats so that you can become an assessor rather than complaining that you are not allowed to open those slots. 8. Like I said, let’s focus on improving your own stats first. 9. Why would you complain about this when you even said that the pay is higher than most ESL schools? Do you prefer to get a holiday rate but a lower regular rate? Our top trainers are taking home over 80K a month. 10. Sure, we have over 1000 lesson materials. When a trainer finds a mistake, they report it and it gets fixed. 11. Why should you be paid in full when you didn’t even work? And the student doesn’t get charged for the lesson because students don’t pay per lesson. 12. No coaching sessions unless you request for it? Then why don’t you request for it? The great thing about this job is that you have no boss who monitors everything you do. You are your own boss. But it sounds like to me that you want someone to supervise you. This is a job for people who can self-manage not for people who need constant support. 13. We do encourage students to fill out the form. But we can’t forced them to do it. It’s like forcing diners to fill out a form after every meal at a restaurant. We can’t do that. But with 120 forms, I think we should get a pretty good idea of your actual performance. 14. If you don’t get a response, you follow up. If you still don’t get a response, you escalate it. Like I said, if you don’t believe in the concept of pay for performance, you’ll never be satisfied with the system. If you are willing to accept a system like this, I suggest you focus on improving your performance. Hope that makes sense. Hika Ito, CEO Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  4. "Helpful people. Reasonable salary. Motivating..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Support is very helpful especially when you need something. - Work is not that stressful. You can open and close slots anytime - The salary is reasonable. I think it is one of those high paying online English companies - No stress at all cuz no traffic. Even if you woke up 30 minutes before the lesson you still have time to prepare. - CEO is very friendly and he is just one Skype away for inquiries. - The materials are very useful. Once you get the hang of it, it would be easy for you to deliver or change styles depending on the student.

    Cons

    I don't think there are cons for now. :)

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-10-03

    Bizmates Response

    October 8, 2018President

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good and Bad at the same time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    Hourly rate is good. Professional students, you seldom encounter rude students. Flexible Schedule.

    Cons

    You have to comply with BIR being a "Independent Consultant" which means if you don't comply with this, you cannot get your first salary. You only get to work between morning and evening time slots, you can't get to work in the afternoon.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-10-04

    Bizmates Response

    October 8, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Yes, I hear you about the BIR requirements. But that's a legal requirement that the BIR makes us follow. But you know, a lot of trainers who went through the process have said it was a lot easier than they had expected and they are now glad that they don't need to live in fear of getting caught by the BIR. As for more slots, once you become an assessor, all the slots will become available to you. Hope that makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "YOU GOT IT ALL!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business English Instructor in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have a lot, should I just say many to mention? Lol. Kidding aside, I think I found the best home based ESL after so many search. We have the best CEO whom we have direct contact to raise our concerns about anything or when you just want to say "hi". Great support team, they are just like friends. Very nice people. Very professional. We have the best rates ever. My starting rate is higher than my previous ESL's rate and just on my 4th month, it already increased!!! I am just very thankful. The portal is accessible even from a mobile phone. I can open/close slots from my phone. I find it very easy and helpful since my computer is a "VIP" type of computer. Lol

    Cons

    The cons would only be the tax filing which might take a lot of time but I guess it helped me in terms that I know the process in case that I will be having my business in the future.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-06-05

    Bizmates Response

    June 15, 2018President

    Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you are doing a great job already. Keep it up. As for no cancellations, that’s pretty awesome. For your first term, we only have the rookie award. But from your second term, we have the perfect score award, which you can get 1500php if your cancellations and emergencies are one of the lowest. So you’re on track to getting it. Good luck. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  7. "great but not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - you open or close slots easily - minimum of 10 hours working time a week which really gives you control over your schedule - staffs are nice - ceo is hands on

    Cons

    - they will only allow you to open slots in the morning and evening if you're just starting - pay is not as high as some other flatforms - payment system is quite complicated but they're working on it

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-02-25

    Bizmates Response

    March 3, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback and for mentioning me and our staff. Our staff really are extremely dedicated and go out of their way to support trainers. As for our pay, the starting rate is 140php/hour which may not seem high, but the rate of increase is extremely fast. I mean a trainer is evaluated every 500 lessons, which takes full time trainers 1 month to hit. And you can go up to 150-160php, and this goes up to a maximum of 220php/hour. So, we have trainers who get to 220php/hour after 4 months. And because of this system, our top earners get over 80,000php/month, which so many trainers tell me that's more than what managers can make at a nice office job. If the job market gets more competitive, we will certainly make adjustments to our payment system. However, for now, we get thousands of applicants each week and so many people tell us that our payment system is very high compared to other schools. Anyway, I hope that makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  8. "Perfect for stay-at-home moms!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assessor and Trainer in Antipolo, Rizal
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    The schedule is flexible for a stay at home moms like me. I teach when my toddler is asleep and close when she's awake. No pressure in opening slots. The minimum teaching hours for a week is also achievable. The support team and mentors are superb!

    Cons

    There is none so far!

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-02-22

    Bizmates Response

    February 25, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for feedback. So glad you are enjoying your time with us. Keep up the good work. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "With a CEO who cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aside from the flexibility that Bizmates offer, I love that we receive personal messages from the CEO of Bizmates, Mr. Hika,to congratulate us or of if there seems to be a problem.

    Cons

    Newbies have limited allowed slots.

    Bizmates2018-02-05

    Bizmates Response

    February 10, 2018President

    Thank you for your post. Yes, I try to stay in touch with everyone as much as I can. I was an English trainer for many many years before we started Bizmates and in many ways, I'm still a trainer at heart as with just about everyone in our management team. As for newbies having limited allowed slots, that's true. But that limit is removed only after 100 lessons and you maintain above average stats. Those slots are not in high demand, so having too many trainers fight for limited lessons would be counterproductive. So, priority is given to trainers who've taught at least 100 lessons. So, if that limit hasn't been removed yet, not to worry. Just work towards your targets and it will be removed. Best of luck. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  10. "Bizmates is a perfect match for introverts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Trainer/Assessor in Baguio, Baguio
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    - The opening of slots is entirely dependent on the trainer (though teaching on weekends is highly encouraged and incentivized) so it perfectly suits the flexibility needs of full-time students looking for part-time work. - I work part-time yet earn income more or less equivalent to that of a full-time minimum wager less the hassle of commuting to work (save 2 hours on the road and convert it to a paid teaching opportunity instead) = 5 stars - The company takes sexual harassment issues very seriously. Not that I've experienced one (luckily, I get students that are professional and polite). But the fact that it has employed some measures on such matter is commendable.= 5 stars - As introverts, we would tend to frown on the idea of having to interact with a handful of people at the same time (even those whom we don't particularly like) which is inevitable if you have a regular job. With Bizmates, I get to hit it off with 1 student at a time, behind my laptop, in the comforts and security of my home where I'm not afraid to be myself. Of course, you don't get to choose students, so...surprise! = 4 stars -All students are adults (no kids)- PERFECT!!!

    Cons

    - Extremely poor and expensive internet service provided by the 2 telecommunications giants is a matter beyond the control of the trainer yet we get penalized for it, i.e. it is one of the 3 factors that students consider in evaluating you. - The company is non-discriminating on the reason you missed or had to cancel a class. Emergencies and fortuitous events that are again, not within the trainer's control, are nonetheless treated as if the trainer willed for it and your evaluation is again affected which has a bearing on your salary.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-01-13

    Bizmates Response

    January 29, 2018President

    Hi, there. Thank you so much for all your feedback. You're right that this is a job for introverts. Although many of our trainers are extroverts, the ones who tend to really connect with students and stay with us for many years are more introvert than extrovert, for sure. That includes me, too. Now, let me address your concern about internet connection. This is a concern brought up by many trainers. I'm well aware that internet connection is unstable in the Philippines, and can be really bad in some areas. Everyone is expected to have at least some trouble with internet connection or power outage. That's why we give a leeway for trainers to cancel some lessons. No one is expected to have a perfect score. However, as this job is home-based and a stable internet connection is a requirement for this job, the trainer bares responsibility. Our evaluation system is designed to measure the impact a trainer has on our business. The more positive the impact, the higher rate the trainer gets. So, if a trainer has a super stable connection and power source, yes, the trainer is likely to have a more positive impact even though it's not necessarily the skills as a trainer that got him or her this result. So, don't look at this as a personal evaluation of you as a trainer. It's an evaluation of the impact that you have on our business. I hope this makes sense. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews