Bizmates "support team" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bizmates Employee Reviews about "support team"

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Bizmates President/Chief Quality Officer Hika Ito (no image)
Hika Ito
212 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great admin support team and Excellent CEO (very hands-on)(in 29 reviews)

  • "An individual version of the Trainer Support group(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Skype is a very unreliable platform (I've got my cancellations and emergency due to skype problem)(in 14 reviews)

  • "Most are in the very early morning or at the late night slots(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "support team"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My first ever esl company and so far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Promotes work, life balance. Support team is reliable. Cool ceo. And most of all, students are professionals.

    Cons

    -Tax system is tedious.

    Bizmates2020-01-03

    Bizmates Response

    January 7, 2020President

    Hi there. Thanks for your post. So glad you’re enjoying your time with us. Filing your taxes does get a bit of getting used to. But just like with anything, once you get used to it, it’s no sweat. Keep it up. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  2. "My Bizmates Experience 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Trainer/Assesor in Taytay, Rizal
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Career Opportunities - Move up to higher positions such as Assessor, Mentor, etc - Hone your writing skills by submitting lesson articles - Meet Japanese professionals from different backgrounds and industries; Improve your interpersonal skills, critical thinking, strategy, and resourcefulness. Compensation and Benefits - Earn twice the pay of many online schools - Performance incentives - Higher referral incentives Work/Life Balance - Flexible schedule - No graveyard shift - No traffic so you get to spend your precious time with your friends and family or for things you want to pursue, do, etc. Culture and Values - Monthly Performance Recognition; - Learn a lot from other trainers in the Facebook Group - Great admin support team and Excellent CEO (very hands-on)

    Cons

    * This is not the job for people who want to be managed and supervised. You plot your own schedule, find ways to market yourself as a trainer, you set your own goals, you motivate yourself, you pay your own taxes, government contributions, etc, you pay for your own equipment and resources. * This is not the job for people who want to discuss easy topics; You need to have work experience to relate this to your lessons to make it interesting and engaging for students; You need to have wider perspective;

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2019-10-16

    Bizmates Response

    October 28, 2019President

    Hi there. Thank you for al your feedback. Glad to hear that you are enjoying the benefits and getting a handle on the additional responsibilities of being your own boss. You are absolutely correct about this job not being for people who want to be managed or need to be managed. And thank you for your suggestions. If you haven’t attended our Get-Together before, please do. We have a lot of giveaways and it’s a great opportunity to create close ties with other Bizmates trainers and staff. Cheers. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (29)

    "The best company - at least, it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Baguio, Baguio
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Superb Materials 2. Professional and Polite Students 3. Fast Support Team 4. Approachable Executives 5. High Service Fee (it used to be, at least)

    Cons

    I've been with many ESL companies, whether they be online or academy, and I must say, Bizmates came to me as a surprise. I used to think that Bizmates is the best ESL company out there. Here, you get to teach Business English and other ESL programs, have the most flexible time schedule where you can go on a day off whenever you want to, work with really polite and efficient trainer support team and let's not forget our ever approachable CEO - Hika, and finally, get the highest compensation (you don't call it salary since you're not really an employee). The new KPI system just kicked in and I may be rushing to make a comment here without knowing how it will turn out in the long run but based on what I see now, I can definitely say that you're back to square one regardless of how long you have worked for the company. Sadly, that is Bizmates. It claims to be a progressive company but the way I see it, your lifeline depends on a certain number of lessons you finish. To summarize, here are a few things I would like to point out 1. Your rate depends highly on customer feedback. The problem with this is that regardless of how good your audio and video connection is, the fault is on you if your student evaluates you low. Your students don't know the value nor the impact of the feedback they have about you. So, your rate basically depends highly on the student. Some students evaluate you subjectively and you know what that means, you can't do anything about it. Some students think if the connection is bad, the students will give you a poor rating on your connection, when in truth and in fact, the problem is on their end. A lot of students are taking classes while driving, walking, on train, and even inside restrooms. In such situations, their using their cellphones and on top of that - data or wifi connection. Unfortunately, if there's a bad reception, the trainer is ALWAYS PRESUMED to have a bad connection. 2. In addition to connection issues, if there's a sudden power outage in your locality or in cases where your internet connection is not working well by reasons out of your control, IT'S ALWAYS YOUR FAULT. It's your fault that you can't control your electric utility provider nor your internet service provider to give you the best service they can. 3. There's no incentive to people who stayed long enough in the company. Yes, it's under Philippine law that you're merely a service provider to Bizmates and all the mandatory governmental welfare programs have been excepted due to the nature of contractual relationship you have, still, the nature of your job is highly akin to that of an employee. Why? The elements of an employer-employee relationship are present and they are: (1) selection and engagement of the employee; (2) payment of wages/salary; (3) power of dismissal; and (4) employers own power to control employees conduct. Notwithstanding, you're not an employee. That means you're dispensable. 4. You may get a really, really high compensation if you want, but that doesn't assure that you're going to have such rate after your next evaluation. This means that even if you have performed at your best, did all what you can do, but due to one customer feedback, cancellation, or other personal emergency matters, your rate could get as low as the rate you had when you first entered the company. 5. Teaching is something I enjoy the most, but when you're anxious or feeling nervous everytime you have a class, it's actually demotivating. Why? You're anxious because you can never tell if the student will give you a low evaluation. You can never tell if your power gets cut off. You can never tell when something bad happens while having a lesson with the student. And if something does happen, you're always PRESUMED to be at fault. To make matters worse, you are in most cases. Even if you consistently grow or develop your vocation as a language teacher and you get better every single day, your compensation will always remain on rough waters due to many other reasons beyond your control. If you're looking for lifetime employment, go look somewhere else. If you're looking for stability, go look somewhere else. If you want to get a really good compensation, be a zombie and join us. Finally, if you like to gamble, join us.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-09-06

    Bizmates Response

    September 9, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your honest feedback and still giving me positive feedback as the CEO. I think you are jumping the gun a bit with your comments. You've written all this on the day we launched the new system. Come on, give it a bit of time before you judge it because some of your points just aren't correct. 1. Your rate depends less on customer feedback now compared to the old system. It's only worth 30% of your evaluation. If you get a low score from a customer, it may affect your score a bit, but if you get high scores, it'll affect your score a bit too. 2. If you have internet problems or a power outage, it's the trainer's fault. Out of all the home-based, online teaching jobs that you've had, have any of them overlooked canceling of lessons when you had internet or power issues? In this job, they are your lifelines. We don't give out fines like some schools. But yes, it will affect your performance. 3. As for incentives for tenure, yes you're right. I'd admit that this is an area we need to look into. For now, if you are looking for benefits, then I suggest you work to become part of our admin team and eventually part of the management team who are full-time employees. Yes, there are limited spots, but they exist. 4. Your rate won't drop due to one cancellation or emergency. You have to get quite a few cancellations and emergencies out of 500+ lessons to be given a bad evaluation. And if you have a bad evaluation, yes your rate will drop for the next term. And in the next term, all those cancellations and emergencies will be reset to 0. And if your performance is good, your rate will go right back up. But doesn't that make perfect sense? Good performance gives you a high rate. Bad performance gives you a lower rate. 5. You know, the targets are based on the averages of all the trainers. If you have an above average term, you get an above average rate. If you have a super term, you get a super rate. That is a performance-based system. If you're hoping for a seniority-based system, I'm sorry but this is not it. Here's my response to your last paragraph. If you're looking for lifetime employment, get a Government job. If you're looking for stability in a home-based job, create a stable in work environment by having a back up connection, a power generator, staying health, etc. But if you want to be successful, you need to set your goals and work hard towards them. This is true wherever you work. It sounds like you still haven't completely made up your mind about the new system and are just releasing a bit of stress. That's fine, but give the system a try because some of your comments tell me that you may not be undrstanding the system completely. Hope this makes sense. Hika Ito, CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "YOU GOT IT ALL!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business English Instructor in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have a lot, should I just say many to mention? Lol. Kidding aside, I think I found the best home based ESL after so many search. We have the best CEO whom we have direct contact to raise our concerns about anything or when you just want to say "hi". Great support team, they are just like friends. Very nice people. Very professional. We have the best rates ever. My starting rate is higher than my previous ESL's rate and just on my 4th month, it already increased!!! I am just very thankful. The portal is accessible even from a mobile phone. I can open/close slots from my phone. I find it very easy and helpful since my computer is a "VIP" type of computer. Lol

    Cons

    The cons would only be the tax filing which might take a lot of time but I guess it helped me in terms that I know the process in case that I will be having my business in the future.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-06-05

    Bizmates Response

    June 15, 2018President

    Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you are doing a great job already. Keep it up. As for no cancellations, that’s pretty awesome. For your first term, we only have the rookie award. But from your second term, we have the perfect score award, which you can get 1500php if your cancellations and emergencies are one of the lowest. So you’re on track to getting it. Good luck. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and the support team is amazing!

    Cons

    I can not think of any at the moment.

    Bizmates2018-06-04
  6. "Bizmates as Work and Life and Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Cagayan de Oro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO. Great TL. Great pay. Great Trainer Support Team

    Cons

    sometimes I am Ready button needs to be clicked twice

    Bizmates2018-06-04

    Bizmates Response

    June 15, 2018President

    Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear things are going well so far. Hmm..., the I’m ready button shouldn’t need to be clicked twice. It might be the internet connection or perhaps a bug in the system, but please report incidents like that to our Trainer Support Team. If we get multiple complaints like that, we’ll have IT look further into it. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines.

    Continue reading
  7. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer/Assessor in Makati City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome Management and Support (The CEO, Sir Hika is hands on and the support team are always accommodating) - Great pay (I started from the bottom and am trying to work out on increasing my hourly rate) -I can comfortably work at home while taking care of my daughter -98% great students (Japanese professionals are really friendly and engaging)

    Cons

    -Some of the modules are slow-paced. Some students find it boring but I try to make the class interesting and interactive

    Bizmates2018-05-02

    Bizmates Response

    May 6, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Glad you are enjoying your time with us. Yes, it's hard to please all of our students with our materials. But feel free to expand on what's in the textbook and add your own personal touch. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  8. "Bizmates : A Company That Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Baguio, Baguio
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great support team,TSS never fails to help me whenever I need help -great pay,I started at the lowest pay which is reasonable but after only a few months,my salary has increased.It feels good to be recognized with your efforts - great students - most are very kind -what more can I say,Bizmates helps you to grow ...

    Cons

    - sometimes I feel demoralized with students who give me low score but of course you can't please everybody

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-04-10

    Bizmates Response

    April 12, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your feedback. Yeah, we really have a great team of managers and staff who earnestly want to make the Bizmates experience as enjoyable as possible. As for the occasional low scores from students, just like you said, you can’t please everyone. Getting one every now and then is no big deal. It’s only an issue if it becomes frequent. But it doesn’t sound like that’s an issue for you. So well done. Hoping to meet you in person at a future trainers’ get-together. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great CEO, Great Company, Great Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Trainer in Imus, Province of Cavite
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates part-time

    Pros

    To work in the comfort of my home where my family is just an arm away is the most rewarding work experience for me. I can be productive with my time since I don't need to waste my time with the horrendous traffic in Manila. The support team is superb since I can always count on their quick response when I encountered some technical problems. The starting pay is the highest compared to its competitors. I love the idea that trainers who excel and teach passionately will be rewarded with a higher salary. (fair enough) Mr. Hika Ito is not just an ordinary CEO but an excellent leader who take delight in the welfare of his trainers. He's down to earth and an innovative leader.

    Cons

    The BIR requirements is a tedious process. It took several weeks for me to complete my requirement.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-04-04

    Bizmates Response

    April 12, 2018President

    Hi there. Thank you for your feedback and good on you for completing your BIR requirements. No need to worry about the BIR catching you someday. You are a tax-abiding citizen who supports the Philippines. Well done on living the Bizmates Lifestyle. Hika Ito. CEO, Bizmates Philippines

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Flexible Hours and Professional Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Trainer/Assesor in Baguio, Baguio
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bizmates for less than a year

    Pros

    - The schedule is flexible and the support team is very accommodating and responsive to inquiries. - New hires do not have to worry too much about the teaching materials because everything has already been provided for. - The students are mostly business professionals, or are working closely with that industry, so they behave accordingly. - Overall, joining them allows you to work at a friendly, professional, and stress free environment.

    Cons

    There is a slight discrepancy between what their finance dep. and BIR consider as a valid trade name/receipt so it's best to consult finance regardless of BIR's assurance that your documents are valid. However, it's still pretty manageable as long as you can allot some time for it.

    Continue reading
    Bizmates2018-03-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews