Black Bear Diner Reviews | Glassdoor

Black Bear Diner Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
48%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Black Bear Diner CEO Bruce Dean (no image)
Bruce Dean
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty flexible, you don’t share tips at all, menu is pretty simple(in 4 reviews)

  • "Good music, Good food, Susupenders(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Pay, Amount of hours, no benefits, no discounts when not at work(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Grants Pass, OR

    I have been working at Black Bear Diner part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love this job and the customers that come to eat.

    Cons

    Not one job is perfect its what you make it.

    Advice to Management

    Managers do a great job and are helpful they work very hard.

    Black Bear Diner2019-11-09
  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner part-time

    Pros

    People were nice. Customers okay

    Cons

    Money was not too great at the time

    Black Bear Diner2019-11-20
  3. "Server, Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love serving customers and guests and provide exceptional customer service. Great company with maximum growth

    Cons

    Not many, get others to love what they do

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for providing me a great place to work

    Black Bear Diner2019-10-31
  4. "Will Never Work in a Black Bear Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Cashier in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Regulars, fun coworkers, Easy to get hired

    Cons

    Management that ignores problems until they blow up, constantly out of at least one item, no room for promotion/progress, constantly revolving staff that leads to chaos

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what you're employees need

    Black Bear Diner2019-11-05
  5. "Good money, good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the money was good during busy season, the previous GM was amazing! made good friends

    Cons

    corporate, too much drama, din't compensate employees for working so hard

    Black Bear Diner2019-10-15
  6. "Poor communication and immature management staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Cashier in Saint Charles, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PLENTY of hours to be worked.

    Cons

    Server's have poor communication with other staff members, trainers do not train well and leave people to learn on their own (which isn't an issue for someone more advanced) and management have their own communication issue. Almost all employees take their bad attitudes out on the job itself and it reflects in the whole company.

    Advice to Management

    Demote or fire the weakest link in management and have a meeting with an idea box for all employees because everyone needs to learn how to be a team.

    Black Bear Diner2019-11-19
  7. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the money their

    Cons

    Management needed improvement but other than that it's ok

    Advice to Management

    I felt like some managers were two face n only cared about some employees

    Black Bear Diner2019-10-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Colma, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black Bear Diner part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was good you received a discount on meals

    Cons

    Not given enough hours most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people

    Black Bear Diner2019-09-10
  9. "NOW bitter... WAS sweet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - "Server" in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black Bear Diner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co workers that have become family. The way we all come together and work hard for each other is rare and it was something that was shown to us by a great GM we had. Some of the awesome regulars that have kept coming in over the years regardless of newer and constant changes.

    Cons

    People quit people and once BBD sold out to corporate and brought in DMs nothing has been the same. Everything that has been good and positive has gone right out our store and our store is one of the original BBDs in AZ and was considered the best one. Also, working Christmas Day/holidays sucks. Especially when there is zero additional compensation and you end up spending the entire day at work and not with your... family.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire a DM that doesn’t make decisions based off emotion especially when wrong and one that isn’t so far out of touch with what ACTUALLY goes on in a BUSY restaurant. Cutting back on product, food and labor for their personal benefits (bonus) as it hurts the business and goes against everything the brand built itself on: take care of the guests.

    Black Bear Diner2019-09-05
  10. "Blackbear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black Bear Diner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great food.Great service. A great atmosphere.

    Cons

    There are no cons at Blackbear.

    Advice to Management

    No advice...they are great.

    Black Bear Diner2019-08-09
Found 83 reviews