Black & McDonald Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the only cons that I can see on my experience was my long hours of daily driving to get to the work(in 6 reviews)

  • "I was traveling for so long it messed up my work/life balance a few times(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    The employees are well taken care of. The benefits are great and safety is a priority. Corporate safety coordinators make regular visits with lower level employees. HR is very involved as well, making sure benefits are fully understood. Regular meeting could come across as a hassle but it goes to show the company really cares.

    Cons

    The only cons I can come up with have to do with the company we were contracted to work for, not Black and McDonald.

    Black & McDonald2018-03-19
  2. "Every Man for Himself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Black & McDonald part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable company, good pay, benefits & bonuses.

    Cons

    They don't train anyone well

    Black & McDonald2019-03-29
  3. "Needs Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cost Estimator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The drive is not bad only 30 minutes

    Cons

    Poor Management decisions and a good old boy network

    Advice to Management

    Start over replace all upper management

    Black & McDonald2019-03-23
  4. "Constructive critiques"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Hard-working people, dedicated to fulfilling customers' request.

    Cons

    There needs to be more communication among the staff.

    Black & McDonald2018-01-24
  5. "Was a good campany when I started, going downhill now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Streetlight Maintenance in West Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Union pay and great benefits

    Cons

    Union company going rat Union employees don't treat each other like union brothers High turn over Poor training

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to the employees

    Black & McDonald2017-10-02
  6. "Former PM in SLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young energetic staff that was very willing to integrate to new technologies. Also, there were opportunities for employees to learn quickly.

    Cons

    Management did not listen to employees concern or have an idea on how to effectively manage the organization. Senior management for the department (Kansas City) also micromanaged employees and made promises that were not fulfilled.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Good luck.

    Black & McDonald2017-07-20
  7. "Mr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald

    Pros

    relentless work ethic sane environment respectable well supervised strong values

    Cons

    never enough workers no over time n/a n/a n/a

    Black & McDonald2016-07-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald part-time

    Pros

    Great company structure and they hire good people

    Cons

    Available work is geographically effected

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Black & McDonald2015-06-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good Pay for entry level work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meter Reader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for a mindless job.

    Cons

    Poor communication from leadership, no compensation for uniform purchases, vehicle expenses, or other work related expenses. I spent $3,000 last year alone so I could work here, so while the pay is good, it's not as good as it appears at first glance. Also, little to no room for advancement. The job is extremely physical.

    Black & McDonald2014-08-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Union contractor going rat, might as well change the name to Newman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreman Electrician in Williston, ND
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quick money, union benefits, good stepping stone to other opportunities, street light maintenance is a dead end road but can it can get your foot in the door for a real apprenticeship, like an electrician or power lineman.

    Cons

    Seem to be doing what every other rat in town does, ship your guys off to Casper for 4-10's and make you drive home on the weekends on your own time or sit in Casper for 3 days doing nothing. Not staffing jobs with competent Journeyman status employees, 2 cheap guys are less expensive than 1 qualified Journeyman? Staff any position possible with a non-union employee. This includes labor in and around the shop ( non- office...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to be a union contractor than be one. Stop using the union for your benefits but condemning your employees from protecting it. Stop hiring every Non-union Newman employee and offering him a union job at less wages than your current employees make. You are breaking down the conditions for those around you, someday it may break you.

    Black & McDonald2014-03-15
Found 85 reviews