Black & McDonald Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
58 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Privately owned company. Great team Atmosphere. Management sticks to their word.

    Cons

    Benefits could be modernized. Great basic dental and medical however.

    Black & McDonald2018-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    The people are great, team atmosphere, great ownership!

    Cons

    Can be slow to implement required change at times

    Black & McDonald2018-05-09
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Forty-two years and not so much as a thank you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    At one time this company cared about their employees.

    Cons

    42 years with this company with employment spanning from tradesman to General Forman and on up to a managerial position and when retirement came all I received was a phone call from an office clerk requesting my cell phone and computer be returned immediately. Thanks Black and Mac!

    Advice to Management

    Recognize those who help put the food on your table.

    Black & McDonald2018-05-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Division Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership, Career Opportunities, Culture an Values

    Cons

    Vacation plan is the only real con. Benefits could use a bit of creativity.

    Black & McDonald2018-03-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Management Needs to Enter the Modern Era"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Project Manager in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture and people. B&M is always lacking experienced individuals, so if you're willing to put up with below-average compensation, you will have the opportunity to accrue some seriously valuable experience, then us that to get a better paying job.

    Cons

    Compensation for my position was significantly below sector average and company had very high turnover, as observed from my position. There were some very bureaucratic HR policies as well. For example: HR requires all employees to submit vacation requests at the beginning of the year, utilizing all entitled days. So what to do if you have extra days-off unallocated? HR requires all vacation days to be submitted, your manager will tell you "just put something down, you can move it around later." Working from home frowned not permitted in my department. Nor were we allowed to modify working hours to line up with operational requirements

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer competitive compensation packages for the niche industries served, and you won't have the few experienced people leaving (and you will be able to actually attract experienced people). Mandate a working from home entitlement where ever possible. Mandate an entitlement to more flexible working hours. Overall the company is not on par with younger more innovative companies, nor is the compensation level where it need to be.

    Show More
    Black & McDonald2018-02-24
  6. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald

    Pros

    Great Construction Experience being exposed to various types of projects.

    Cons

    Not well managed by senior management

    Black & McDonald2018-02-08
  7. "Good Experience, Not for Long Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Looks good on resume, benefits.

    Cons

    Lower salary compared to competitive companies

    Black & McDonald2018-01-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place for advancement If you are a visible minority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Labourer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of safety Very good tools and equipment.

    Cons

    My experience was, no matter how qualified or skilled You are, If you are a visible minority, and I am not talking European you have no place in this company. It is mostly Anglo, and there is no room for You here. Top management is very mediocre in knowledge. However, if you Are the type of person that enjoys rubbing your bosses ego, This is the company for you because they really enjoy when people suck up to them and it works for moving up in the company fast regardless of experience or knowledge And that’s a fact.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just because a person happens to be a visible minority doesn’t mean they should be treated any less and easily disposed of.

    Black & McDonald2017-12-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "B&M Nuclear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Bowmanville, ON

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Decent pay and benefits Great people to work with Opportunities for training is available

    Cons

    Upper management does not support the Projects staff Although its roots is founded as a small family business. Its time to move beyond that Working in nuclear can become cyclical as the customer may start to take jobs away or not award new jobs and so the company has to cut its workforce

    Advice to Management

    Need to engage more with the Projects staff and support them more

    Black & McDonald2017-11-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Used to be all good, didn't even mind the low compensation. Now it's not.

    Cons

    Old boys club Bare minimum compensation Corrupt HR and VPs

    Advice to Management

    I've been with the company for many years. It's been changing for the worse, especially in the Markham office. The management and HR keep every employee afraid and act as if they own the place. I can't take it anymore. Just recently they fired a girl who complained directly to the CEO about a guy sexually harassing her and other women. We heard that the CEO hired someone from outside to investigate and the guy was found guilty. He is still here! Poor girl, she took the beating for standing up for herself and a bunch of other women. Even the CEOs know this but they cover up and enable corrupt individuals take advantage of people in the B&M name. I hope they wake up soon before all the good people are gone. I'm looking and will get out of this suffocating place.

    Show More
    Black & McDonald2017-11-16
Found 101 reviews