Black & Veatch Civil Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & Veatch Civil Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
9 Ratings
  1. "Civil Engineer I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Civil Engineer in Pitman, NJ

    I worked at Black & Veatch for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company and people to work with.

    Cons

    Travel distance was a lot for me.

    Black & Veatch2016-11-16
  2. "Full time entry level engineer on job sites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Civil Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Networking - opportunities within the company Overtime pay when working on site Good company culture Global work

    Cons

    Only 80 hours of vacation starting out Not the best benefits Old fashioned company

    Black & Veatch2019-12-02
  3. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Using bad evaluation system

    Black & Veatch2018-03-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The worst company I ever heard of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Civil Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Terrible benefits, No PTO, No stock options, horrible health insurance, no retirement and zero 401K

    Cons

    Good Office building , good location in Kansas

    Advice to Management

    In order to be professional , you need to act professional.

    Black & Veatch2018-03-23
  5. "Engineering Technician II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineering Technician in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for with good people. There is open communication between employees and upper management. You are never treated as a number.

    Cons

    Cafeteria food is expensive and hours could be extended like the self checkout in the IP cafe. Vending machines need card readers.

    Advice to Management

    Open a general suggestions area in the iNet for employees to communicate ideas and concerns at any time in an anonymous fashion.

    Black & Veatch2016-10-15
  6. "2 years employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been given several opportunities to grow in the short time that I've been employed with BV. I feel valued as a professional by management and my peers. It's a great place to develop your skills and make your career the one you want.

    Cons

    It is a corporate company and every now and then the corporate requirements and processes seem to interfere with your production (minor con).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, hire more good people so we can continue to grow!

    Black & Veatch2016-04-27
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Civil Engineer II in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch for more than a year

    Pros

    Good schedule flexibility and compensation

    Cons

    High pressure at times and no free coffee

    Black & Veatch2016-03-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Civil Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Portland, OR

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people were great to work with, very professional, and several technical experts available to ask questions.The project execution is well organized and the standard specs/templates are easily accessible. There is a lot of career development information available and they do a good job with their social responsibility efforts.

    Cons

    The different division do not communicate staffing needs very well. There were quite a few layoffs in the last couple years in some divisions while other divisions were hiring at the same time. The human resources people did not seem to do a very good job at talking to other divisions to transfer people instead of letting them go. The latest strategy is to grow the business to double their size in the next 5-10 years which doesn't make sense with the layoffs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More focus on work/life balance and supporting employees.

    Black & Veatch2015-11-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Civil Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great professional working environment. Offers competitive pay/benefits Company focuses on training and career growth

    Cons

    No real cons to report

    Black & Veatch2015-10-23
  10. "Mid Level Civil Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer IV in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with competitive salary, flexible working hours, and team atmosphere. I have received great support in continuing education and career advancement. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Some times procedures or protocols are not communicated effectively due to size of the company and those policies are not always logical for all aspects of the business.

    Black & Veatch2015-06-20
Found 33 reviews