Black & Veatch Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & Veatch Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
68 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician II in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with hours. Offer a 9-80 schedule. Amazing management.

    Cons

    People who have issues with decision seem afraid to say something about it.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when they mention unhappiness and strive to fix the issue.

    Black & Veatch2019-06-06
  2. "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer-In-Training 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    with such a big company and broad range of fields, there is a ton of different opportunity here.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and behind some current cultural trends.

    Black & Veatch2019-12-27
  3. "Full time entry level engineer on job sites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Civil Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Networking - opportunities within the company Overtime pay when working on site Good company culture Global work

    Cons

    Only 80 hours of vacation starting out Not the best benefits Old fashioned company

    Black & Veatch2019-12-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Apparently not everyone is a "true" engineer here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent flexibility Medium Stress environment Good work / life balance

    Cons

    Any job grade below 130 cuts you out of bonuses, vacation time, etc.. You are not looked at as a true engineer unless you have a silly degree.

    Advice to Management

    Not all positions require degrees. Real world experience trumps college. I can say it 'til I'm blue in the face. College does have credibility, and more power to those who pursue it, but working in the field and getting hands-on experience should be an equivalent in anyone's eyes. It doesn't matter how you learn these skills - it is the end result that counts. Treat everyone fairly.

    Black & Veatch2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "SOUNDS GREAT UNTIL YOUR HIRED ON"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Tech in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible hours. Good benefits. Up to 1 hour lunch Birthday Cup cakes monthly!

    Cons

    A lot of back stabbing going on. Poor middle management. Will mislead you & only agree with you to keep you on and not follow thru to help you attain your future goals as discussed in reviews. Poor project scheduling. Unexpected mandatory OT.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your professionals under you!

    Black & Veatch2019-12-18
  6. "Everyone I know That Worked There Got Laid Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Tech 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything needed to do the job was provided. It is a nice place to work and I enjoyed my experience there. It is a decent place to start a career. It put me on the right track to the career I have now

    Cons

    Most of the people there get laid off between 6 months to a year. They will chose art majors to be leads over people with real engineering degrees. The deadlines are cut throat. Even the best can be let go.

    Black & Veatch2019-11-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horror - Where to begin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    none... maybe client relations that you have to fight for

    Cons

    $Salary Benefits Management Promotions are not within but from outside Triple Standards

    Advice to Management

    Dissolve your station business unit if you want to succeed.

    Black & Veatch2019-12-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Company in a long, slow and inevitable decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Far too much work for too few people. Very few talented engineers left in design roles after multiple rounds of layoffs and exodus of good talent.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring exclusively new graduates, hire some experienced engineers, start doing technical competency examinations on hire to weed out the underachievers, find ways to add innovative value to projects. Stop working on pie-in-the-sky "spark" initiatives. Our core markets are sound - but we are at the bottom of the innovation barrel and beset with execution problems, all due to the lack of talented mid-career engineers in design roles. Some of our best engineers are in project manager roles. Design entirely falls to level 1-2 engineers who don't know what they are doing because they were hired right out of school and we didn't train them.

    Show More
    Black & Veatch2019-11-10
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic work culture with fake image in the outside world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to lots of resources

    Cons

    The upper management doesn't care about you. They hire bunch of people to get their projects done and then you will be let go. They micromanage employees and treat them like school children.

    Advice to Management

    Have some loyalty for employees. Stop micromanaging them.

    Black & Veatch2019-09-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Don't Bother -Especially Jacksonville Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent to above average

    Cons

    Forced relocation required to keep job or to move up. VERY top heavy on management side which forces higher than industry standard overhead rates. Your just a number and don't let anyone tell you different. Poor to zero training. Benefits are average to below average. If Project Managers don't bring in work, you'll be looking at unemployment.

    Advice to Management

    Company has lost focus with current management. Too interested in Yammering instead of getting work. Need to severely cut upper management ranks and go lien from top down. Too many "sales" guys not bringing work, yet they still keep their jobs. To much emphasis has been put on EPC. That market is dead and has overall never made anybody money. If you can't see that, then your in more troulbe than you think.

    Black & Veatch2019-09-11
Found 170 reviews