Black & Veatch Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & Veatch Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
90%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great company to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ability to grow your career with many training resources and senior staff willing to share knowledge and mentor. The international assignment opportunities is also another thing I love working at Black & Veatch.

    Cons

    Trying to get a friend or acquaintance hired by the company has been a frustration of mine. Follow up from recruiting would be a benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Follow up from recruiting on people applying to Black & Veatch would be good. I have had multiple people apply but have not heard back from recruiting.

    Black & Veatch2018-01-10
  2. "Cost controls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cost Control Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic, fast paced environment.

    Cons

    Constant state of change with system upgrades.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support race and gender diversity.

    Black & Veatch2019-11-04
  3. "Solid company with excellent backlog of work. Very nice office environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Strong position in the industry. Plenty of backlog of new work for new opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of onsite IT and admin support.

    Black & Veatch2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Meaningful, Stable Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company has a long history which creates a stable work environment. I believe the work we're doing really is making a difference for others all over the world. There is a lot available to professionals here - you just have to take advantage of those opportunities.

    Cons

    With such a long history, it's easy to think we have an old, white man culture. It lingers still but I've seen some major initiatives going on in the organization to change that. I was so proud to work at this company when Steve Edwards signed the CEO ACT!ON for Diversity pledge earlier this year.

    Advice to Management

    If you've got someone on your team that's making life miserable for everyone else, no matter how much you like them, fire them.

    Black & Veatch2019-09-06
  5. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager 

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Co ntract basis Autonomous management style

    Cons

    Heavy work load. Little support

    Black & Veatch2019-05-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "overall good company, telecom division is most agile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Procurement Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    provides good benefits and pay

    Cons

    don't require managers to actually have managerial experience, continue old non-value add processes to detriment of winning new work

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate what responsibilities should be for the roles in place. Make sure there are employees to do the work and let the managers manage and be strategic.

    Black & Veatch2019-01-16
  7. "22 years IT experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Competitive salary. Good management

    Cons

    Work from home options are limited

    Black & Veatch2018-06-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Midwest Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Director in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable workers and people are generally nice.

    Cons

    Challenged with growth and slow in spotting and riding market trends

    Black & Veatch2018-05-28
  9. Helpful (4)

    "My Opinion of B&V"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, career development opportunity due to both size and geographic span, multiple industries means reasonable stability and ability to move around

    Cons

    Leadership rarely held accountable for poor decisions

    Advice to Management

    Remember when layoffs and downsizing were other companies issues?

    Black & Veatch2018-02-20
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Was a good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Materials Manager in Bucks, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be they took care of people....

    Cons

    Just like any other large company...they become mean and do not care about there folks.

    Advice to Management

    Change your old Technology.....In to use new Tech.

    Black & Veatch2017-11-14
Found 55 reviews