Black & Veatch Mechanical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & Veatch Mechanical Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
10 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Great place to develop a career.

    Cons

    Nothing serious that you wouldn't experience at any other engineering firm

    Black & Veatch2019-03-25
  2. "Good Company to work for with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Overland Park, KS

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, balanced work life, flexible schedules

    Cons

    Expectations are too high and there isn't enough job training

    Black & Veatch2019-03-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Mechanical Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work was assigned for design. I got some experience out this for my resume. I had decent intern pay.

    Cons

    Communication was very bad here and this was recently in 2017. I was an engineering intern trying to obtain feedback for months on the extension of a possible offer and saw very bad communication. No one answers the HR phone, emails, or voicemail. The HR team seemed to be overworked or perhaps they merely acted so. Unfortunately, my manager made no efforts to contact me - same for his boss, when they told me that they would let me know. I got an automated email half a year later, after going to find out a vague answer in person. Had a full timer do something disrespectful in the open towards me and had to address it with them in private, because I was the more professional one as an intern - sad. Later the person did apologize. Aside from this I went to a lunch and learn and the CEO is overly conservative and interrupted people in a rude way at times when they were talking or asking questions, notably when the person had qualities that stood out i.e. ethnic background - red flags to have this as a person that represents the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need a better call center and answering system. I can't believe this was a fortune magazine company. There are good people here but the bad/lazy people sure can stink up the place and make it look trashy.

    Black & Veatch2018-07-11
  4. "Very Good to Young Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great opportunities to learn -Diverse range of work -Good work culture -Good benefits -Great safety culture

    Cons

    -Compartmentalized engineering disciplines; sometime difficult to agree on best path forward

    Black & Veatch2018-02-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer IV in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable, Secure, International opportunities and reputable

    Cons

    They don't lay off enough of the bottom performers. Any warm body can keep a job at BV. The HQ is severely depressing. I dread the office and would much rather just work from home.

    Advice to Management

    Lay off your bottom performers and hire externally. The HQ is severely depressing. Innovative people don't live in the suburbs and live exciting lives. Get an office downtown like a real professional company. Overland Park is where people go to die.

    Black & Veatch2017-05-27
  6. "Best company I ever worked at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Fishkill, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, well managed. They trained us as young engineers very well under talented REAL senior engineers. Rewards were not given freely, they were earned. My mentors, Florea Cristea and Jorge Vizcarra may you rest in peace.

    Cons

    At times could be over regulated with big company siloed mindset.

    Advice to Management

    Think about what made you great and get back to that.

    Black & Veatch2017-04-27
  7. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mechanical Engineer VI in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company offers challenging projects, has a top notch engineering staff, provides many opportunities for advancement, and is an employee owned company.

    Cons

    Not really any criticisms. This is a great place to work.

    Black & Veatch2016-05-27
  8. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance; Great work-life balance; 9-80 schedule is very nice; Relaxed work environment;

    Cons

    Company is large, so it can be slower to change when compared to smaller firms.

    Black & Veatch2015-07-09
  9. "Solid company expanding internationally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and has been growing a lot recently. Plenty of internal opportunities and lots or new hire opportunities for new grads. Promote from within and good vertical movement opportunities as senior engineers are moving towards retirement.

    Cons

    More international work and moving more work to international offices. Difficult to transition to sharing work internationally. Different divisions invest in different software and technologies and O&G in particular is still using lots of software that has been out of date for 15+years.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in tools that help professionals do their job more effectively. Provide training budget and resources for new employees instead of only a day worth of videos and OJT from then on with all hours billed to projects.

    Black & Veatch2015-06-18
  10. "Forward thinking engineering company with good values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer I in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel well cared for as an engineer at BV. The upper management practices what they preach. I have plenty to work on and the company is invested in my career, education, and future.

    Cons

    It feels a little corporate at times. Otherwise, not a whole lot. I would prefer that the company be a little more liberal in its energy production and innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Take more risks on innovation, especially in the energy industry. There are many different ways to do things. Maybe partnerships with design companies.

    Black & Veatch2015-05-06
Found 24 reviews