Black & Veatch Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
284 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management has a vision that middle management isn't executing on(in 24 reviews)

  • "Forced to take B&V stock and can not sell it(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee shared ownership, good compensation, every-other-Friday off

    Cons

    No current cons at this moment

    Black & Veatch2020-03-20
  2. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Good overall company with many opportunities to travel around the world to various construction site or to other office locations. Work/life balance is fantastic as the flexible schedule allows you to adjust as needed.

    Cons

    Can be difficult to get promotions even if deserved. Change the mindset of “this is the way we’ve always done it”.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-05-24
  3. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed vibe in office culture

    Cons

    Old fashioned Ways of management

    Black & Veatch2020-05-17
  4. "Great company to work for. Got boring after a while."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good company culture and work potential. I learned a lot very quickly and developed core understanding of the power generation business.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape. Rigid old-school engineering-firm mentality. Very low on diversity, most people are old white men.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-05-09
  5. "Fantastic Company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Civil Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & Veatch for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Flexibility, Benefits, People, Culture

    Cons

    No cons to report at this time

    Black & Veatch2020-03-14
  6. "Amazing work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & Veatch

    Pros

    Laid back work environment Flexible Hours Great leadership Ability to grow within company Employee Ownership available Education Assistance available

    Cons

    Promotions can take a long time to earn

    Black & Veatch2020-03-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management Unable to know what is really Happening"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with some works hours but not really workable. Everyone leaves you alone.

    Cons

    Nobody knows how to do their jobs. No job description or guidelines were correct or current. They wanted me to update their instructions before I was let go because they they were too lazy to do their jobs as a manager. They use the good people up on low wages and pay the lazy ones who call themselves managers too much. Close to $100,000 for no results.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-04-08
  8. "Lots of great people, projects and experiences"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    leading edge technology decent salary and benefits

    Cons

    as with anywhere depends on who you work for growing pains/more recent reductions in force as they revamp for future growth

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-03-02
  9. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthcare benefits and retirement plan

    Cons

    no downsides of working at Black and Veatch

    Black & Veatch2020-02-26
  10. "Great Company to work for. 15+ years with BV."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities - Career Growth.

    Cons

    - Lack of organization vision in the past 7 years. - Kansas City oriented firm. IF your base in California, you will notice the difference.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-22
Found 700 reviews