Black & Veatch Reviews | Glassdoor

Black & Veatch Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
278 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A company without clear procedure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are bright and quick, you could probably survive a year here. After, just move on.

    Cons

    Not interested in the employee. Singular interest in the bottom line. Work structure is inexistent.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-23
  2. "You get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Overland Park, KS

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    billable hours pressure, still some "old boy club" feel.

    Black & Veatch2020-02-22
  3. "Great Company to work for. 15+ years with BV."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities - Career Growth.

    Cons

    - Lack of organization vision in the past 7 years. - Kansas City oriented firm. IF your base in California, you will notice the difference.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-22
  4. "Good people looking to do good work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities Flexibility in career path Positive name in industry

    Cons

    Some of their markets have high uncertainty

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-20
  5. "Not bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consulting Analyst in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Has kind people Flexible remote working

    Cons

    Slow work Lack of management oversight on staffing

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-19
  6. "Would Reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil/Structural Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule, wonderful mentors

    Cons

    No overtime allowed unless approved weeks ahead of time.

    Black & Veatch2020-02-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Cost Analyst in Moon Township, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I made $58,000 a year but only because I know how to negotiate a salary. Everyone around me mad way less which was totally taking advantage of them

    Cons

    This is the most unprofessional place I’ve ever worked in. They literally would take tolls about which way you would rather be sexually assaulted. Management was constantly getting caught in lies and they were total issues with fraternization as certain employees managers and the director were all best friends and hung out together and yet those were the only people getting promoted. All people dead in this department was bad enough each other and act superior to all the other departments which was why they were so hated. I had just had my year end review which said I was doing an amazing job and I Was let go a week later and they claimed to have had multiple meetings with me about under performing. I called my manager to find out what’s going on and she pretended she didn’t know what I was talking about. Complete cowards that lie. The bottom line is they don’t like me because I refuse to be a part of their click which frankly was so much like middle school I couldn’t wrap my head around it. But none of them had real jobs before this one where as I had 12 years of office experience so I knew how to behave.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-11
  8. "Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Acquisition Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people work there and culture is hard working.

    Cons

    Rey reactive to sector needs

    Black & Veatch2020-02-10
  9. "Great People, good environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instrumentation and Controls Engineer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive Outlook, good leadership and great opportunities

    Cons

    Poor project team with not many LSTK jobs

    Black & Veatch2020-02-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Promised growth, never tested."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people made it a very pleasant place to work. Appears to have lots of room to grow in the company (see cons).

    Cons

    No guidance. Training was barely relevant. Supervisor felt very disingenuous. Old fashion company, very behind on the times.

    Continue reading
    Black & Veatch2020-02-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 687 reviews