Find jobs for Structural Engineer

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Black & Veatch

Is this your company?

Black & Veatch

Add a Review

Black & Veatch Structural Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 1,118 reviews

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
5 Ratings

What people are saying about Black & Veatch

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Black & Veatch and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    .

    Jun 19, 2021 - Structural Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    9/80 schedule is pretty nice

    Cons

    None so far, less than year exp

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Good

    May 12, 2021 - Structural Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very Good Company Black & Veatch

    Cons

    No Cons for Black and Veatch

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Jul 18, 2020 - Structural Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent compensation/benefits Great work life balance

    Cons

    Big company, East to get lost in the shuffle

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    review headline

    Sep 29, 2020 - Structural Engineer I in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A variety of opportunities and a wealth of knowledge to learn from

    Cons

    lack of communication with corporate and the various businesses

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Would Reccomend

    Feb 17, 2020 - Civil/Structural Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule, wonderful mentors

    Cons

    No overtime allowed unless approved weeks ahead of time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    B&V Posting Fake Reviews & Corporate Advertising

    Dec 6, 2017 - Senior Civil/Structural Engineer In Energy in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NEW GRADS DON'T COME HERE! Black & Veatch uses this site as corporate advertising. They post fake reviews. If it sounds like a corporate pitch for your talent and engineering prowess, and not like a person working in the trenches, it is exactly that. Advertising. Use your brains, and walk away from this company. There are better.

    Cons

    First off, if they lie to you on this site, then they sure are not going to tell you the truth on the inside. It's all project based, and there is absolutely NO company loyalty for your services. You are a means to an end. They won't give you the room to design and build a good project. Bottom line oriented, and that means a mediocre project design, and a built project that has no guarantees of quality.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company to work

    Aug 25, 2018 - Structural Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    B&V is an excellent company to work for in busy time. It is a large company with many opportunities to advance your career. It also has offices and projects in many parts of the country as well as outside of the US if you are interested in exploring the world. The pay is very competitive especially if you have been there for a while. The company’s stock options are also a great way to boost your 401k balance. All in all, B&V is a good company with a solid reputation in the industry for ability to execute complex projects.

    Cons

    With the softening of the Power market in the US and North America in general, B&V Power like many other companies in this field has seen a slowdown that is resulting in people switching industries, retiring early, or leaving the workforce all together.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Experience

    Nov 14, 2013 - Structural Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Real Profit Sharing Bonus Program for Engineer IV and Above Regular Salary Reviews to Keep You On Track Great Talent To Learn From Interesting Projects

    Cons

    Big Company, Can Feel Like a Number at Times 401k Match Isnt Great Easy to Get Pigeonholed into Specific Role

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Intern, more than 1 year

    All good

    Jul 2, 2015 - Structural Engineer II in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, Flexible hours, No micro managing

    Cons

    Very corporatey, lack of career advice

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Human Resources Dept. is not there to help you

    Sep 17, 2013 - Civil/Structural 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits package, it's an opportunity for you to do engineering with a high risk of ending up working for egomaniac bosses

    Cons

    Despite what their policies material says, HR is not there to help. A month after giving birth to our daughter I was added to my husbands insurance so I emailed HR asking them to cancel BV insurance. They did, but without informing me they cancelled it on the date of our daughters birth. (who would think it makes sense to change your insurance on the date you undergo a surgical procedure? I guess Black & Veatch thinks it makes sense because they are self insured) After I found out what happened I called HR and asked them to revise it.... I asked them to cancel it on the date when the email request was sent, or any date thereafter but the guy refused. He said if he changed it I would have to back pay the premiums and I said I would do that, but then he just said no. I asked to speak to his manager and he said he "didn't know the number". Of course I was able to get the phone number and I've contacted his boss but she has been unresponsive as well. We asked to speak by phone and received a short email reply, we've called and left messages and received emails with incomplete sentences....?? It's disappointing to be treated like a number, and I was surprised by their lack of professionalism.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Black & Veatch Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Black & Veatch? Share Your Experiences

or