KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Black & Veatch

Is this your company?

Black & Veatch

Add a Review

Black & Veatch Employee Reviews about "b v"

Updated Jan 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 1,085 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
491 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work-life balance is truly incredible with the 9/80 schedule(in 74 reviews)

  • "Good Work Environment and great management(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management thinks they can manage all aspects of a project without help from those who actually work in the trenches(in 26 reviews)

  • "Forced to take B&V stock and can not sell it(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Black & Veatch and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "b v"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Hard Work, Decent Pay, and A Lot of Learning

      Jan 3, 2021 - Controls Engineer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Started as a low level engineer at B&V and was provided many opportunities to work on various projects. Learned so much during ~5 years here and credit that mostly to the people I worked under and around. Very fair company and I always felt the management (branch as well as HQ) were quite professional. Flexible hours were a huge plus.

      Cons

      The pay felt a little light, but we all know the secret to making more money is changing companies every 3-5 years.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't Believe The Hype

      Feb 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health care benefits, and matching 401K. Relatively fast upwards mobility for those that know how to play politics and talk the most nonsense. Flexible hours IF you have a good boss. A steady paycheck if that's what you need, rather than a true career.

      Cons

      No training provided, horrific management. antiquated technologies, and a VERY questionable future for their Telecom department. They have ONE major client, in which B&V built an empire around. Unfortunately, as B&V 'leadership' will quickly learn, you never put all your eggs in one basket in the wireless telecom industry. Last I heard, they laid off 20% of the staff in the regional offices across the entire country in Jan 2015, with some offices getting hit harder than others. However, this is likely only the beginning of a downward trend. Their only client (AT&T) is slashing spending left and right for the foreseeable future, as they need to come up with BILLIONS in extra cash for the FCC spectrum auctions and Direct TV merger. The second half of 2015 will almost certainly get rather ugly for B&V Telecom, as the work literally dries up across the board. On a secondary note, don't believe all the positive reviews on Glassdoor. They were likely pushed out by the HR department in order to keep it's reputation in tact, and keep the artificially inflated stock value up (it will almost certainly tank once their financial results come out later this year).

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about Black & Veatch

      Join the conversation on
      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Employee owned, people focused, challenging environment.

      Jan 16, 2015 - Construction in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the work flexibility and how quickly new professionals can "have a seat at the table." I have worked for companies in similar industries and they can be stuck in the past, set in their ways with the "due your time" mentality. Don't get me wrong, B&V is still pretty conservative but we have flexible work schedules and recognize that, to meet our aggressive growth initiatives, we have to be open to new and innovative ways of getting the job done. They do a good job of promoting internal job opportunities which I like as well.

      Cons

      It's a matrixed corporate environment so making decisions or getting the go ahead can be a lengthy process at times. Also, we are growing rapidly so there is naturally some pain involved with the process. Lots of new exciting programs but you have to be resilient to change.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Staff controls engineer

      Oct 30, 2014 - Instrumentation & Controls Engineer in Kansas City, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At B & V the work atmosphere is great it's layed back but thing get completed. They have a "flex schedule" with core work hours that is nice when you wnt to beat the traffic or have somethng that requires you to be out of the office. the pay rate for the area is about the same as simular groups. It was nice that with a large company, when assigned to a new job / contract - they would arrange to have the group working on the job into the same general area of the building, this makes for much eaiser communication between diciplines.

      Cons

      It seems as though all employees are on a per getting the next contracted job. I worked there for 2 plus years and was always wanting to know what the next job would be.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Telecommunications...

      Oct 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of people to work with in the immediate office! Interesting, challenging work. Most people are really helpful & it's an enjoyable work environment.

      Cons

      It's a "churn & burn" type of work environment to be honest. Contract to hire is misleading here because in reality only about 1 in 10, so 10% or less, contract people will actually be hired on as B&V employees. Getting hired on will take longer than anticipated too. There is a serious lack of communication. Many people live & work in Kansas. They are critical to understanding the projects. All time away from the office, including holidays etc, will have to either be made up through working additional hours on other days or missed altogether as there are no paid holidays or sick time. On the days work is slow at the office, employees will be sent home if there isn't work readily available for them & won't be paid for that time. When employees are given an assignment, they are given a timeline in which to complete things. If someone goes over that timeline, the boss will be notified.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Engineering Specialist 3

      Apr 26, 2016 - Third Party Auditor in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was work I needed at the time and paid fairly well working as a Third Party Auditor on a Google Fiber Project.

      Cons

      Management was vague day to day as what the work would be for that day, let alone next week. Many days, when no work was assigned, we were expected to sit at our desks and find something to do i.e.: review specs, or twiddle our thumbs. On Friday morning we were told more work was coming and we would be really busy. Monday morning 2 of us were laid off for "lack of work". I've been laid off from telecoms before...it's the nature of the business but you get a feel things are slowing down. But this was so sudden and unexpected, no warning, no 'sorry about this'....nothing except turn your rental car and equipment in, someone will drive you home! I may work for B & V again but not in that office, with that Manager.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company to work

      Aug 25, 2018 - Structural Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      B&V is an excellent company to work for in busy time. It is a large company with many opportunities to advance your career. It also has offices and projects in many parts of the country as well as outside of the US if you are interested in exploring the world. The pay is very competitive especially if you have been there for a while. The company’s stock options are also a great way to boost your 401k balance. All in all, B&V is a good company with a solid reputation in the industry for ability to execute complex projects.

      Cons

      With the softening of the Power market in the US and North America in general, B&V Power like many other companies in this field has seen a slowdown that is resulting in people switching industries, retiring early, or leaving the workforce all together.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent culture

      Dec 14, 2016 - Global Practice Leader in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. The people. I've only worked for a few firms over my 20 years, but I hear stories of other engineering firms and realize that B&V is one of the best. You'll always run into a handful of difficult people, but they're very rare at B&V and almost everyone I work with is very collaborative, supportive and has a positive outlook on our work 2. Balanced portfolio. With the focus on Water, Energy and Telecoms, B&V has a diverse portfolio that helps us ride out the lulls in the different markets.

      Cons

      In my department, work-life balance is tough. It's mostly the nature of the business as a process engineer, but it's tough to maintain a reasonable work-life balance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      One of the worst places to work on the face of the Earth!

      Jul 12, 2011 - Mechanical Technician in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will hire you right out of school. A good place to get 3 years of experience and then move on. That is the only positive I can think of at this time.

      Cons

      Where do I begin? B&V is without a doubt the most incompently run company in America. Senior (Mis-)Management has no clue how to run a business. If I could have given Morale a negative number, I would have done so. They are very good at locking a person down at a certain level and marooning them there. I tried on several occasions to bring up suggestions that I thought could help and I was listed as a trouble maker. Once you are "on the list", you can forget about any promotions. I wish I had know about that before I tried to talk to "leadership". As a designer you like to work with software that is generally available. However, B&V has a home-grown program that is very difficult to use. Everyone knows about it and it is a big joke around town. I can sum up B&V in one quote from a former co-worker of mine: Nothing is impossible to the person that doesn't know how it done. This is the person that makes the schedule.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Learning Experience

      Sep 24, 2017 - Engineering Technician in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Both my bosses and coworkers were incredibly kind - despite being a high school student, they treated me as a professional equal and respected my thoughts on projects. They also had a lot of wisdom to offer, from the engineering process to general professionalism, that truly made my time at B&V a learning experience.

      Cons

      Due to the nature of the industry, there were multiple occasions where the work flow was so diminished that we were out of work for some time; if you don't get entrenched in a long term project, expect to float a lot.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Black & Veatch Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Black & Veatch? Share Your Experiences

    or