BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1977 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
633 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Someone PLEASE fix management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BlackBerry

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay, hard working employees that really care about the company and customers

    Cons

    Where to start? Employee morale is in the toilet, especially in sales and support. Senior leadership needs a change. So many leaders are too tunnel visioned. They don’t want to see or hear the truth about competition, what is needed to succeed, or how to win. Departments are walled off, working in a vacuum and don’t want to work or communicate with other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Please do something to improve morale. People are working so hard for your this company, start treating them better. Listen to their ideas and needs. Pretend you guys care about people.

    BlackBerry2018-07-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy place to work at if you do t to make much commision

    Cons

    Too much micro management from leadership

    BlackBerry2018-07-25
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work would recommend

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    BlackBerry2018-06-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Switch to Software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, challenging projects, 401K match,

    Cons

    People get laid off in small numbers regularly.

    BlackBerry2018-06-12
  5. "Student Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    New office, worked with a lot of easy going and nice people

    Cons

    Bureaucracy large corporation feel, kind of like old IBM

    BlackBerry2018-05-26
  6. "Getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry

    Pros

    -pay is decent - office is nice - cohort is friendly - things finally starting to get better

    Cons

    - things can only change when there's a new fiscal year

    Advice to Management

    Be nimble and take advice

    BlackBerry2018-05-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, work from home.

    Cons

    Poor marketing, still viewed as a dying device company. High turnover in sales.

    Advice to Management

    Change the company name and start making more efforts to change a culture of churning and burning sales reps.

    BlackBerry2018-05-10
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Great start up and our team was a very tight team. Worked hard and our director let us have fun.

    Cons

    Upper management got to greedy and we got bought on a fire sale.

    BlackBerry2018-04-05
  9. "Improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch every friday Business casual Facetime with top executives

    Cons

    Company shows little interest in having a fun culture

    Advice to Management

    1 event a year that is very boring is not a good way to make people feel engaged and create a fun atmosphere to come to everyday

    BlackBerry2018-03-22
  10. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BlackBerry

    Pros

    Great time, working with professional people

    Cons

    You should work remotely with the manager and other members that sometimes is not fine

    BlackBerry2018-03-15
Found 1977 reviews