Cover image for BlackRock
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2023

BlackRock

Engaged Employer

BlackRock

Add a Review

BlackRock Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Nov 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 4,951 of over 5K reviews
4.2
84% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2023
BlackRock Chairman and CEO Laurence D. Fink
93% Approve of CEO
Top CEOs 2021

Found 286 of over 5K reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BlackRock Chairman and CEO Laurence D. Fink
Laurence D. Fink
2,581 Ratings

What people are saying about BlackRock

Join the conversation on

Finance

140.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=BlackRock~9331
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about BlackRock? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with BlackRock employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are smart and great to work with(in 443 reviews)
  • "Culture is great very friendly(in 389 reviews)
  • "Work Life balance is good at Blackrock(in 243 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and always trying to improve.(in 241 reviews)
  • "Smart colleagues with a good work environemnt and flat hiearcy structure allowing you to contact people at any level(in 88 reviews)
Cons
  • "Long hours and not much help(in 165 reviews)
  • "Low pay and blackrock discount common(in 123 reviews)
  • "Inefficient organization and poor management at the group level(in 122 reviews)
  • "low salary and bonus.(in 107 reviews)
  • "Bad managers can result in terrible experience.(in 84 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of BlackRock and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Still alright after aqcuisition

    Oct 18, 2015 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The engineering team is pretty small but gets a lot of features done. We are very agile and release code daily. Everyone works on important features since we just don't have time for anything else. The company as a whole is pretty nimble and has lots of smart and passionate people. If you want to learn more about personal finance or investing, just chat with one of our financial advisors. FutureAdvisor was recently acquired by BlackRock. A lot of us were apprehensive about this, since we signed up to work for a startup, not a mega corp. Bo promised that we will stay independent and nothing will change, and so far, that's mostly been true, but I'm not sure if we can continue to be independent indefinitely. For now at least, I'm happy with the salary bump, 401k matching, and promise of performance bonus $ in lieu of stock options upside. The new B2B initiatives are pretty exciting and can significantly increase our customer base, especially with BlackRock backing us.

    Cons

    We are experiencing all sorts of growing pains. From running out of office space to teams not communicating with each other. Gone are the days when you can find one person who knows every detail on a project. The B2B initiative will definitely produce some unsexy work on the engineering side.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company Culture, Move A Bit Slowly

    Apr 29, 2019 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and company culture People are super smart and nice

    Cons

    Cons related to all big corporations

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the BlackRock team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Large Financial Firm

    Mar 30, 2022 - Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well known brand name 'prestigious' internal mobility if you have the patience and are willing to take mediocre to lower pay than industry norm People are smart and great to work with

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to industry averages Bureacracy and red tape Lot of internal politics and gatekeepers

    1 person found this review helpful

    BlackRock Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you’ve been able to take advantage of internal mobility opportunities that we offer and that you enjoy the people you work with. We’re disappointed to hear the cons you mention in your review. We are constantly looking for ways we can improve the experience for our employees and encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR business partner to share your comments.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Could not wait to leave

    Feb 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Budapest
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -okay salary -volunteer days -flexible time off (depends on your role though) -some of the management are really smart and good with people -some good concepts in the new office -lots of ambitious people -useful trainings available (e.g. programming, Excel etc.)

    Cons

    Your experience is highly dependent on which business / team you are joining. Partly because of budget (how "important" your function is) and partly because of the people. My experience: -no team spirit whatsoever -okay starting salary but it gets higher veeery slowly... So maybe somewhere else you are offered less in the beginning but you get a raise more often. I accepted the offer mainly because of the salary but looking back, I could have probably negotiated the same at my previous company. -they like to brag about how great they are but really, it's just another multinational company -hr and payroll processes were a nightmare, I spent way too much time with making sure I get paid and we had to check our payslip and actual payments because mistakes are made regularly -the new office.. Yeah looks good , but not at all practical and facility management was slow to respond to problems or suggestions. I would give up a modern-looking working environment any day for an office where things actually function well. -the job was different from how it was presented at the interview... I did not like my job and I wish they had picked someone else who could have been a better fit. -some of the management was difficult to work with: little understanding of our job but oh so much to say -they are trying to differentiate themselves from SSCs but it is what it is...

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    BlackRock Response

    Employer Brand Content Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our perks, leadership, and your colleagues. We pride ourselves on developing people managers at all levels of the organization and have an expectation that they provide a great experience for their direct reports and provide lots of opportunities for employee development. We are disappointed to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience, we will consider possible actions to address these concerns.

  6. 5.0
    Current Intern

    Intern

    Jan 22, 2023 - Alternative Investments Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gréât people and compensation and smart

    Cons

    Not very good training for juniors

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Associate

    Mar 31, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with some very smart and motivated people

    Cons

    Understaffed and lack of internal mobility

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Working at Blackrock

    Feb 19, 2017 - Associate Portfolio Management in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * You'll work with some very talented and smart people * It is the largest asset manager in the world right now

    Cons

    * It is a really big company, and you may get the feeling that you are "just a number" at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Brilliant, Kind, People Without Anyone Doing It

    Jan 29, 2017 - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great corporate perks, globally connected, opportunities to develop self, structured mentorship programs, networks. Great people who are smart and kind and collaborative (the no jerk policy is real here). Ability to lead and be autonomous here is great.

    Cons

    Too many "ideas" people who are brought on to do strategy, with no one actually executing on the tactics. Senior management can sometimes foster this cliquey, strategic, group

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Pros

    Smart and humble people with a strong work ethic.

    Cons

    Fast track is much more difficult now post BGI merger.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Lukewarm Experience

    Sep 3, 2014 - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people here are very smart and generally easy to work with. There is definitely a pretty good opportunity to learn while here.

    Cons

    Since it has become a bigger company, it has become more bureaucratic and difficult to find mobility as was once the case.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 286 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with BlackRock Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BlackRock? Share Your Experiences

BlackRock logo
or

Affiliated Companies

BlackRock Careers

Cover image for BlackRock

BlackRock’s purpose is to help more and more people experience financial well-being. As a global investment manager and a leading provider...More

  • Why BlackRock?
  • Inclusion
  • What We Stand For
  • Tech @ BLK
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

BlackRock

0 days ago

We’ve been named by Glassdoor as a 2023 Best Place to Work in the US! This recognition is a result of the feedback provided by current and former colleagues have provided to Glassdoor about their experiences working at BlackRock, and I'm proud that we're listed among the top 100 companies. #GlassdoorBPTW
Shared image - Best Places to Work | Glassdoor
Best Places to Work | Glassdoor
www.glassdoor.com
Logo

BlackRock

56 days ago

December 3rd is International Day of Persons with Disabilities. We're proud to work for a company that values #inclusivity and welcomes #diversity. I’m joining the Disability:IN digital relay to celebrate the global community of leaders that are moving the needle on #DisabilityInclusion, such as BlackRock. Together, let’s continue doing our part to build an inclusive global economy. Together, #WeAreIN! #IDPWD #InternationalDayofPersonswithDisabilities #OneBlackRock
Shared image
See all

BlackRock Photos

+ Add Photo
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
BlackRock photo of: #OneBlackRock
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BlackRock Job Seekers Also Viewed

Goldman Sachs Logo
Goldman Sachs

4.0

15,600 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 4,970 BlackRock reviews submitted anonymously by BlackRock employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if BlackRock is right for you.