KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Blackboard

Engaged Employer

Blackboard

Add a Review

Blackboard Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Oct 18, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,068 of over 1K reviews
3.9
71% Recommend to a Friend
Blackboard Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jim Milton
77% Approve of CEO

Found 57 of over 1K reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Blackboard Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jim Milton
Jim Milton
39 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "poor management(in 40 reviews)
  • "Low pay and very little to no advancement.(in 36 reviews)
  • "When I returned the training was short and only half of what was needed to do the job.(in 28 reviews)
  • "I eventually went full time, and survived 4 rounds of layoffs while I was there.(in 23 reviews)
  • "Poor leadership that is very reactive due to budget constraints placed upon them by private equity ownership.(in 22 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Blackboard and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Temporary Employee

    Working

    Sep 20, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Winter Haven, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great management, nice atmosphere, work from home, sometime hour lunches.

    Cons

    A lot of back to back calls

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    An 'okay' place to work with hard-to-reach metrics led by supervisors who should know more...

    Oct 14, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Pay is acceptable, most calls weren't troublesome. $12 an hour to help someone click a few buttons is easy. It only became an issue if they routed complicated calls to you, which happened decently often. - Lunch was an hour long (unpaid) and there were two 15 min breaks (paid). - Holidays are time and a half, which is solid. - Position was Work From Home with all equipment provided and shipped directly to my door. - Depending on hire time, there might be an easy bonus to get for length of employment. If you're a temporary worker, they will 100% terminate your employment before you reach that 30 day eligibility period of perfect attendance. You may or may not receive a partial bonus if you were terminated prior to that 30 day period. - Temporary workers can obtain a permanent position with the company.... if you're one of the lucky 1-3 workers who schmooze enough to get in. Competence is not a requirement (this is a direct statement from my trainer).

    Cons

    - Training is an absolute joke. It's a week long period in which you're supposed to learn how to manage 4 separate systems all at the same time. I was hoping for mock calls (we had exactly 2 calls after multiple delays), some examples, etc. Instead, my trainer showed us pictures of his children for the first 4 days straight, talked about blueberry muffins, and a bunch of other stuff that has nothing to do with the job. This is not an exaggeration. I was genuinely paid to sit there and listen to this guy's rambling. - Training classes are far too large to be effective. A simple lesson turned into a 3 hour ordeal because the trainer didn't know how to answer the question, was too quick, wasn't clear enough, etc. If someone had a connection issue, they would spend the whole day on it, instead of just sending them to contact IT (who can remote to their desktop) to fix things. The end result of training is just a huge waste of time. - You are solely responsible for the entirety of your time card. You have to clock in, clock out, etc. as per usual. You are responsible for ensuring that there are 0 mistakes, that you submit it at a specific date (every 2 weeks), etc. If you had any question or issue, you were redirected to HR. HR is the only set of employees with the ability to make any kind of changes to your timecard. - Average call handling time is supposed to be 11 minutes. You have supervisors you can contact, who are supposed to help you within 3 minutes (moment of silence margin from QA) if you have trouble solving something. Most of the supervisors don't really know what's going on, as they've been out of the 'working' loop and don't actually use any of the same systems you're expected to use. There were many times where I was somehow the one correcting people who should know more than me. There were only about 2 reliable supervisors who knew their stuff and would get back to you quickly with an actual answer. - Your direct supervisor can be a tossup. I had a supervisor who I never even ended up having my initial meeting with. He avoided every single one of my emails and answered practically none of my questions. My employment with Blackboard ended before I even had the opportunity to say "Hello" to my direct supervisor. Others with the same supervisor had the exact same issue. - 'Positivity' is forced to a toxic degree. If you voiced a complaint or seconded a question related to pay, time off, holidays, etc., you would be reprimanded. If you asked too many questions, you would be reprimanded. Any manner of disagreement with the company, a policy, or a senior employee... Good luck! - If you work a temporary position as a seasonal employee, you will NOT be provided with an end date. Your position will just randomly end, except it's based on some kind of internal merit system. If you asked too many questions, that's a point off. Etc. - Obviously, as a temporary seasonal employee, you will receive absolutely no benefits.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Temporary Employee, less than 1 year

    Room for Improvement

    Sep 8, 2021 - Customer Service Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work from home OT incentives for OT (in theory the likelihood your going to get 100% on attendance to qualify, is probably less than 3%) paid training LinkedIn Learning access

    Cons

    Microagressions Lack of management Electronic issues, will always be your fault Your breaks etc, all are managed by a machine Complete lack of empathy and humanity

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Work From Home

    Aug 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work From Home Provides Equipment Awesome team

    Cons

    Depending on the department, you are asked to take on a lot of different skills without compensation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people but low pay

    Aug 9, 2021 - Student Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, regular hours and lots of schedules to choose from, always have OT available

    Cons

    Low pay, raises are a joke, even when you start taking on more responsibility then what you was hired for they will not increase your pay, health insurance and benefits are a joke,

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Blackboard Response

    Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. While we agree we have a great team and are happy to be able to offer overtime and flexible schedules to our call center employees, we're sorry to hear you aren't having a more positive Blackboard experience. Please email employerfeedback@blackboard.com with any additional comments.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Bad training

    Aug 11, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Bluffton, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You could work from home but that is about it. Good for call center Experience

    Cons

    Training was not very thorough, trainers pushed to ask questions while on the clock but it was never guaranteed you’d get help. Not worth being yelled at by callers. Too many applications needed to do job, needs an update

    1 person found this review helpful

    Blackboard Response

    Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback. We're glad that you were able to take advantage of our work from home policy and gain good call center experience. We conduct regular reviews of our training programs, including content and delivery. We aim to improve the training environment and continue to ensure that we are providing the tools and resources for our new employees to be successful. If you have any additional comments, please email employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Disorganized

    Jul 8, 2021 - Customer Support in Louisville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    remote work (work from home) provide equipment provide training

    Cons

    disorganized short training multiple schools to support

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Does not care about their employees. Only cares about client

    Apr 29, 2021 - IT Help Desk Technician in Killeen, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay Full time Benefits Good experience work from home

    Cons

    Repetitive work environment poor management more concerned with what the clients are saying than their employees

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Grossly Understaffed and Micro-managed

    May 13, 2021 - Tech Support Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, decent pay

    Cons

    Blackboard has been chronically understaffed for years despite using outsourced labor as a stop-gap method. This has lead to high turnover and an unworkable level of pressure ( with, frankly unrealistic expectations ) on staff members across all departments

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Alright

    Mar 15, 2021 - Customer Service Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got to work from home.

    Cons

    The job itself, the pay, time off, and benefits in general.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Blackboard Response

    Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are glad to have been able to provide you the flexibility to work from home in your role. We're sorry to hear the role itself did not meet your expectations. If you have any other feedback, please feel free to email employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Blackboard Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Blackboard? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Blackboard

108 days ago

Company News
Our Anthology Outcomes solution has been named a winner of the 2022 EdTech Cool Tool Awards in the Best Administrative Solution category!
Shared image - Anthology Outcomes Named 2022 EdTech Awards Cool Tool Winner | Anthology
Anthology Outcomes Named 2022 EdTech Awards Cool Tool Winner | Anthology
www.anthology.com
See all

Blackboard Photos

+ Add Photo
Blackboard photo of: Job Fair
Blackboard photo of: Bogota new office visit
Blackboard photo of: Bogota new office visit
Blackboard photo of: Brno staff
Blackboard photo of: Brno pizza party
Blackboard photo of: Bogota staff
Blackboard photo of: 2021 BbWorld
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 1,068 Blackboard reviews submitted anonymously by Blackboard employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Blackboard is right for you.