Blackhawk Network Reviews | Glassdoor

Blackhawk Network Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Blackhawk Network CEO and President Talbott Roche
Talbott Roche
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance mixed with the benefits offered via insurance and 401K are what have kept me so dedicated to the company(in 24 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment and good salary(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistency within groups about work/life balance, HR is assisting management to push employees out as jobs are being outsourced to Infosys(in 18 reviews)

  • "lack of communication from upper management(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Outstanding work I love you more than where life lives balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Merchandiser in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blackhawk Network part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers were amazing. They are two of the best managers I have ever had. Very thorough, always willing to answer questions, ALWAYS voicing their appreciation for our hard work, and communicated with everyone so new projects were understood completely. I am sorry to have to leave. (Left due to personal family health crisis)

    Cons

    I wish it was full time

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Was a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Designer in Pleasanton, CA

    I worked at Blackhawk Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great when I was there! Things have changed since the PE acquisition.

    Cons

    The acquisition drove many talented people away.

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-05-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Finance Department is chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Blackhawk Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    left over food all over the company

    Cons

    mediocre management especially in FP&A team

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2020-01-23
  4. Helpful (11)

    "So Lean, Their Anorexic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackhawk Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employees really make the business and people are passionate about what they do. The individual contributors I work with day to day really care about what they do.

    Cons

    The pay is laughably uncompetitive, but leadership has deluded itself into thinking it is. Despite the pay being so low, we also are painfully understaffed. They say we operate lean but we're not lean, we're anorexic. Sr. leadership makes a concerted effort to identify problem areas, but then don't care enough to fix them if they consider them unpalatable (e.g. increased work from home or comp). Teams do not operate well cross-functionally, particularly US-based corp HR.

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (6)

    "DE-lusion-ALL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackhawk Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a CASH COW business in a BIG WAY... time to share some LOVE to the PEOPLE.

    Cons

    I have read many of the posted review, and know there are axe-grinders and sour-grapes over losing their jobs. The business was born out of a low margin business... Thus the initial challenge of funding success with TALENT. It's really hard to have so many mediocre teammates, peers, superiors, and subordinates. I AM an instrument of change and look to move the needle forward in a positive way. It's exhausting when you are not able to hire talent or work with a subpar HR department. There are multiple CXO's and VP that frankly be all swapped out for less $, and no one would know the difference. The tech and on-boarding team is musical chairs with very few highly motivated staff members. Almost all of VP's and Directors in Tech are weak.... really, really weak. A couple actually have college degrees ?? Yeah, there is a pattern. Weak people don't like to have strong resources. Incentives ? wow.... send my Flyer points, woo-hoo $10 a month... and it's taxed. I am embarrassed to say this where I work. I am 2 steps to getting out of this rat hole of a place.

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-10-24
  6. "IT Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Integration Analyst in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blackhawk Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management appreciates exceptional work and recognizes it

    Cons

    rigid structure and less flexibility for working from home

    Blackhawk Network2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Time to start looking elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackhawk Network full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are really great people. The company is in a nice location with plenty of access to affordable housing, good schools, and nice communities.

    Cons

    The company has gone through multiple life cycles, first was the growth stage when everything was great, people enjoyed their work, there were opportunities for advancement, solid incentives. Then the company started relying more and more on M&A for growth and acquired numerous businesses. While an exciting time, the company did not spend the resources to properly integrate these acquisitions and allowed many of the key talent to exit. This was the second life cycle. The third life cycle was one of continual cost cutting and lay offs to try and make up for the downturn in retail sales resulting from EMV, this only compounded the issues created from the second life cycle. The company became focused on perpetual forecasting and cutting instead of innovation, integration and talent- everything seemed very short-sighted. The fourth life cycle began with Silverlake purchasing the business. While I'm sure the Silverlake team must be a group of very intelligent people, over the course of the last year, they have allowed all of the highest performers to leave for other opportunities and we are now left with a company with numerous issues needing correction and the B and C team trying to execute. The few remaining A people I've spoken with are looking and it is just a matter of time before they leave as well. It is a very tough environment to succeed in. As other people's reviews have suggested, popularity with and loyalty to the CEO and her inner circle are the most important traits for success, but those few people don't make time for anyone other than themselves. The company claims to empower employees but I've never seen it, so we are instead micromanaged by people who I'm not sure really understand the business. It is really sad to see such a previously great company decline like this. Clients are not happy, employees are not happy, it is a toxic situation right now.

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-10-04
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Treading Water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackhawk Network full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people. Some back-office and long-term employees actually care and work hard.

    Cons

    Poor management. Highly inadequate training for new hires and little direction for employees other than "sell" and "grow". Executives (new and old) get many more benefits and far more compensation than other employees and the company keeps the upper echelon small, often forcing out quality mid-level employees rather than giving competitive salaries and promotions. Execs are often MIA during normal working hours and can't be bothered to respond to emails, calls, etc. unless it affects their bottom line, even if the issue is their responsibility. Apply here if you'd like work hard to be paid at the bottom of your compensation bracket without clear prospects for advancement while watching lazy sales execs continually move up. If you're hired in the Pleasanton office they'll claim to pay competitively for a tech company in the SF Bay Area but you won't get average salary or bonus (let alone benefits like food and things that contribute to work-life balance), and you shouldn't expect equity unless you're an executive.

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-09-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackhawk Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are really family oriented. Had a great training team. We're understanding ofmy health issues.

    Cons

    The customers are idiots

    Blackhawk Network2019-06-25
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blackhawk Network full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The location is good for the East Bay. Co-workers were the best part.

    Cons

    Where to start? I was always taught to work hard, be smart and honest. That does not work at Blackhawk. Promotions are based on who is cozying up to the boss. There is no loyalty to hardworking employees. No training for managers. Very toxic, backstabbing environment.

    Continue reading
    Blackhawk Network2019-07-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 386 reviews