Blackmore Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

Blackmore Partners Reviews

Updated Apr 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Blackmore Partners CEO Gerald O'Dwyer (no image)
Gerald O'Dwyer
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unpaid internship and no benefits provided to cover the daily expenses of the interns(in 10 reviews)

  • "It is full-time unpaid internship(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Internship - You will get post intership offers by working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training. Great working with PE firms via the process

    Cons

    There are no negatives for this role.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for this internship, it helped me land an investment banking role.

    Blackmore Partners2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Literally the worst place you could ever work in. Negative environment. lack of credibility from mgmt."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private Equity/M&A Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackmore Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pro I would say is that if you're an international student you can get you OBT extended. Secondly, they provide networking event.

    Cons

    I can go on for pages here but the main points are. First, there no financial modeling involved in this internship. All you get to do is general office tasks and the main reason for hiring interns is to work as assistants to the MD who provides recruiting services to executive to work with PE firms and to do industry and company research. Secondly, there a huge waste of time in the office as there is only one... associate who behavior is very unprofessional and doesn't follow up on tasks or give any guidance because I believe he lacks the right experience in this industry. How can expect someone to teach you something he is not immersed into himself?. Lastly, just don't waste your time at BMP unless you're an international students and need any type of experience or OBT status.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest to job candidates about the tasks they should expect to do. This is not a PE internship of any kind. I have seen people travel from different states an pay deposits and rent for homes and then lose it all because it is not what they're expecting. This is very unprofessional and unethical too.

    Blackmore Partners2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners full-time

    Pros

    Multiple things to work on as the team is limited.

    Cons

    Ideas or POVs aren't really appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage nurturing professional relationships within the team.

    Blackmore Partners2018-11-12
  4. "Challenging | High Urgency | Opportunity To Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CMO/Association Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I helped influential business minds find jobs - I helped to facilitate increased proprietary deal flow for middle-market private equity firms. - Amazing product(s) - Unlimited networking opportunities

    Cons

    If you aren't willing to roll up your sleeves, go outside of your comfort zone, with a willingness to adapt and be flexible, then this position is definitely not for you.

    Advice to Management

    I believe fully in the vision of the Managing Director.

    Blackmore Partners2018-04-17
  5. "Great place. Great Experience. Splendid opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small firm environment. Hands on learning experience. Extremely positive learning culture Attracts talent from all over the world

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Blackmore Partners2018-01-04
  6. Helpful (8)

    "You can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners

    Pros

    Learning experience, multicultural envoirment

    Cons

    A family business where information, training, procedures, rules, methodology are disorganized. They have two offices one in Chicago and the other in Mexico, and communicating with the other team can be a challenging. The owner has a big temper and is hard to work with; agreements constantly change to favor them. They don't know how to retain people, they mostly have interns, and they very rarely hire them so it... a constant change of people. In the end, I wouldn't recommend it, if you have a better offer go for it! (By the way, good reviews are published by inters when they start working as part of their job)

    Show More
    Blackmore Partners2018-01-31
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Mostly negative, some good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - M&A Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The interns -If you spin your experience well, can look good for your resume -A good intro into M&A -Obtained some leadership skills -Approximately 3 networking opportunities in 10 months

    Cons

    - The company structure, or lack there of - No useful training -Unpaid - Work demand (for an unpaid position) -The CEO - They primarily hire foreign graduates desperate to stay in the country, and employ them full time without pay and reap all of the benefits -Leveraged my letter of recommendation for a positive online review (this is my honest review)

    Advice to Management

    Rather than employing all free labor, try to offer some sort of compensation even if not equal to the amount of work

    Blackmore Partners2017-12-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Review from a 3-month intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blackmore Partners full-time

    Pros

    - Gain a huge exposure on the private equity industry - Diverse and family-like working environment - Get opportunity to manage your own project according to your department - Networking opportunities to C-level execs and management staffs

    Cons

    - Unpaid - Take time to learn for those who don't know much about PE industry - The training program seems disorganized and can't be changed that much

    Advice to Management

    Try to recruit and pay new employees for the growth of the Chicago office, get more feedback from current & past interns about the 1-week training program, which can be improved

    Blackmore Partners2017-11-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Blackmore Partners

    Pros

    Smart interns and good all round people

    Cons

    Not a PE shop and false business model

    Blackmore Partners2017-12-01
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackmore Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good support to get into the Private equity industry\ You never get bored because there are new challenges everyday.

    Cons

    Needs more organization Communication improvement is needed

    Advice to Management

    Keep on supporting your teams.

    Blackmore Partners2017-09-21

    Blackmore Partners Response

    October 2, 2017HR Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! We will work on our communication and improve on our organization.

Found 62 reviews