Blanton Turner Reviews | Glassdoor

Blanton Turner Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Blanton Turner CEO Barry Blanton
Barry Blanton
9 Ratings
  1. "Amazing team, great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blanton Turner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company spirit, and you always feel support from your managers and portfolio managers

    Cons

    No cons working at BT

    Blanton Turner2019-07-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Seattle Property Management Company With Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blanton Turner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Easy-going relationship between property managers, portfolio managers, and principals - Team outings (can depend on portfolio manager) - Flexibility on management style - Great benefit packages - PTO accrual rates - Causal dress code - Phone stipend

    Cons

    - They can hand-hold certain owners - There is a lack of a consistent protocol for what vendors to call during after-hour emergencies (floods, plumbing back-ups, property restoration, etc.) - Property managers and portfolio managers are often spread too thin

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Blanton Turner2019-04-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blanton Turner full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Commission, Great Work Culture, Lots of career advancement opportunity

    Cons

    Training program only recently updated,

    Blanton Turner2019-01-05
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Bad Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blanton Turner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can learn a lot about Washington real estate laws in any of the roles.

    Cons

    Management bullies leasing agents: Very unfortunate, but there is a hug power complex with the people in management they like to be domineering and don't care much about the agents. Portfolio managers don't listen to agents concerns and would rather pay you less than what you deserve because they know they can find someone else who can do the job if you're not willing. Lacks multiculturalism and they don't notice...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some managers and portfolio managers are better than others, some have to go. Ask the leasing staff and maintenance team what's REALLY going on.

    Blanton Turner2019-01-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blanton Turner full-time

    Pros

    The company is very employee oriented and help you explore any curiosities you have to further your career within the company.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are lapses in communication between the corporate office and properties.

    Blanton Turner2018-12-14

    Blanton Turner Response

    December 17, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for the review and your feedback! We hear you and are working on decreasing those lapses in communication. We're glad you enjoy working at BT!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blanton Turner full-time

    Pros

    Culture - they allow you to be yourself. BT does a great job of allowing its employee's personalties to be a driving force. This is in stark contrast to other property management companies that dictate and manage how their onsite staff runs, operates and interact with tenants at their properties. Benefits are also top notch.

    Cons

    BT is still growing so there are times when people are stretched too thin and become over worked. However, there are clear communication channels where you can voice your concerns. Any con I could think of is industry related not BT related. Overall, the industry of property management will likely determine your pay and growth opportunities. BT does it's best to navigate this fact, and I'd imagine they do it better than...

    Show More
    Blanton Turner2018-11-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Cliques and Drama. Feels like high school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blanton Turner full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, and they have a bar in the corporate office... the upper management likes their drink.

    Cons

    It felt like high school with weird childish drama and people talk poorly about their coworkers, are nice to their face, and ask managers to fire good people because their personality doesn't fit in their "club". Very disingenuous people.

    Advice to Management

    Retire.

    Blanton Turner2018-12-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Blanton Turner full-time

    Pros

    Blanton Turner is a great company to work for! I learned so much & loved the people I got to work with :)

    Cons

    Honestly, my experience was great!

    Blanton Turner2018-07-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blanton Turner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, forward thinking and supportive of development

    Cons

    Honestly no cons that I can speak to

    Blanton Turner2018-03-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great office culture but the pay leaves a lot to be desired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blanton Turner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Blanton Turner is a fast paced company and once you sign the offer letter, you are on one crazy roller coaster. If you're not ready for that, then this will quickly overwhelm you and burn you out. BT is still growing fast and it's hard to have it all ironed out when everything keeps changing. I appreciate that they are actively trying to improve in every facet, from on-boarding new employees, to boosting benefits. The...

    Show More

    Cons

    The con's about BT rest more in pay discrepancies and related cheap budgets that do not allow for proper staffing. This obviously results in more frequent turnover and/or burnt out staff. It's not a unique problem but the stress of the high demand that comes from our job, does not match what most are paid. Ironically, we cannot afford to live at most of the properties that we work so hard for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees and working to improve the work/life culture.

    Blanton Turner2018-03-16
Found 32 reviews