KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Bleacher Report

Is this your company?

Bleacher Report

Add a Review

Bleacher Report Employee Reviews about "b r"

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
87%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Bleacher Report CEO Dave Finocchio (no image)
Dave Finocchio
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relatively lax work environment(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great perks since B/R is under Warner Media(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The fact that they have any respect in the sports media space is a bit of a miracle(in 7 reviews)

  • "Some people go into the program with the hope of writing for B/R after the program is done, and they're somewhat vague about that possibility(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "b r"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work life balance, sports & culture combined enough said

      Sep 25, 2019 - Senior Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, management trusts you to do you work without micromanaging and listen to your input and opinion, very relaxed work environment and people are nice to work with. Great perks since B/R is under Warner Media

      Cons

      Company would benefit from more established processes and better internal communication on projects, though efforts are certainly being made to improve and get better

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Almost a dream job, but lacks direction

      Oct 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You essentially get paid to watch and write about sports. What's better than that? I've also been able to interview superstar athletes, cover professional sporting events and even once played basketball with some former pros. There used to be a stigma abut writing for B/R--I've been around long enough to know how suspect some of the content was--but at this point, it's an established, mostly respected journalism brand.

      Cons

      The goalposts are rarely stationary. I don't think B/R has figured out what it wants to be. Sometimes, hard-hitting reporting seems to be the focus. The next minute, they're trying to be comedians. And you're never really coached on whatever they want, even though it's constantly changing. You also work on annual contracts--at least, everyone in my position did--and it's hard to get a good sense on where you stand. Even if yours is renewed every year, there are still some tense moments every 12 months.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      This company treats you like you're subhuman.

      Sep 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros of this job are obvious. It's a young environment and everyone is into sports. Your news is to cover big sports news, and that's inherently fun. Generally as long as young handle your work, there doesn't seem to be much micromanaging. The job is in a good part of SF, and is Bart-accessible.

      Cons

      The cons are quite severe. Bleacher Report pays considerably below market value in the Bay Area, and in order to get away with this, management treats you like you are subhuman. They make you feel worthless, and thus not worth decent wages. Whenever questions about the low pay are brought up, management says that there are 200 people lined up for your job, so they don't need to pay you. This is why so few people who work at B/R live outside SF. They simply cannot afford to live in the city they work in. Additionally, upper management is a boy's club, and they parade around like gods while the hundreds of lower level employees sacrifice their lives and their families to miserable hours and wages. Occasionally they'll throw in a "free" t-shirt or something to keep morale up. The next African American male they hire outside of broadcast will be the first.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      On the Upswing

      Oct 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bleacher Report is a great place to work. The environment is fun and the people that are their care about putting together great content for sports fans. Turner is a great parent company leaving B/R alone but also providing cash to grow. After the acquisition by Turner their was some churn and many people, especially on the tech side, were just riding out retention bonuses. The new management team has brought in talented people to drive the company forward and got rid of the dead weight.

      Cons

      With so many ambitious people trying to work in sports there are not advancement opportunities for everyone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Good learning experience.

      Jun 18, 2013 - Copy Editing Intern in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You get the chance to interact with the B/R community and to give writers feedback on their pieces. -Copy editing mentors are extremely responsive and definitely make sure you are learning and improving. -By the end of the internship, you will have, without a doubt, honed your editing, fact-checking, and proofreading skills overall. -Scheduling is flexible. -Well-structured program.

      Cons

      Since the nature of the internship is virtual, face-to-face communication is obviously out of the question. Communicating via e-mail can be inconvenient and frustrating at times, but this should be expected from the onset of the internship.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      4 years at Bleacher Report

      Oct 27, 2015 - Senior Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed my time at Bleacher Report. Great people, great company, great atmosphere. I left to pursue a new career because I wanted to try something new, but it was very difficult to leave BR. I felt like I was treated well, and learned a lot from some really smart people. And as a sports fan, I was able to enjoy sports during the day, which was a definite plus. I also personally enjoyed having the support of a big company Turner - opened up the possibilities for what we could do and how we could grow. The office itself is also great. I realize it will be difficult to find a work environment like B/R again.

      Cons

      I think the only thing for me would be that a lot of the people who I had gotten to know over my time there had gone on to pursue new things, so a lot of fresh faces in the office. I think that's just a natural part of any company, especially a relatively young but growing one, to have people come and go. And often those people leaving were doing so for good opportunities within the company, like some people moved from SF to NY or London but remained at BR. For others, they had just reached a limit of what they could do at BR - which again I don't think is a strike against BR, but just that the kind of people they hire are go-getters. So it was natural for those people to move on. And i definitely liked the people who were still there, as I mentioned the people are one of the best parts of the company. But as someone who had been there a while, the office was maybe a little less familiar than when I had first started, when the company was a smaller startup.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Mostly Excellent

      Jul 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at B/R for several years and found many opportunities for advancement and new projects. I loved my coworkers and thought B/R did a great job of fostering community, though what I saw as a tight-knit group of coworkers/friends could certainly be perceived by newer employees as cliquish.

      Cons

      Sports media is a competitive industry, and the salary/hours can feel pretty rough in an expensive place like San Francisco. Things steadily changed after the Turner purchase. It's by no means bad now, it's just more corporate and less of an adventure than when I joined.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Company Review

      Mar 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people who work at B/R are awesome. It is a fun atmosphere with like-minded co-workers who are always willing to lend a hand. There are TVs everywhere which is amazing.

      Cons

      Bleacher Report could improve their professional development. They would be better off finding distinct structure or pathways for their employees to move up.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Painfully cheap and mean-spirited company

      Dec 7, 2015 - Programming Team in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The location is very good, located in downtown San Francisco. The bad part about that who people who work at B/R can afford to live in the city.

      Cons

      Employees make staggeringly low wages, and never get raises. There's the yearly 2-5% bump, but that puts average incomes way, way below what comparably employed workers in SF make. Management almost never promotes, and it's a boys club that "innocently" bullies lower staff, knowing that they're keeping the staff captive. When a negative glassdoor review goes up, there have been known to be witch-hunts. The CEO is completely disconnected, and once or twice a year will make some ridiculous video of himself in a football helmet or something to try to show Turner that he's "one of the guys." Not one employee doesn't see right through it.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great for getting your name out there, awful for reliable information

      Jan 17, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best things about B/R is that it allows aspiring writers to get their names out there and start writing right away, regardless of skill level or experience. Copy editing is provided for free, so writers do no need to be perfect. Massive audience due to partnerships with CNN, etc.

      Cons

      Anybody can write anything at any time, leading to irrelevant or downright incorrect information being shared across the internet. Stigma of being a B/R writer leads to lack of respect for writer's work, thanks to the transgressions of other writers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bleacher Report Job Seekers

    Content Programmer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bleacher Report? Share Your Experiences

    Bleacher Report logo
    or