Cover image for Bleacher Report
Logo

Bleacher Report

Is this your company?

Bleacher Report

Add a Review

Bleacher Report Employee Reviews about "b r"

Updated Jun 24, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 192 of over 192 reviews
3.8
97% Recommend to a Friend
76% Approve of CEO

Found 5 of over 192 reviews

3.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Bleacher Report CEO Dave Finocchio (no image)
Dave Finocchio
39 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bleacher Report and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "b r"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work life balance, sports & culture combined enough said

    Sep 25, 2019 - Senior Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance, management trusts you to do you work without micromanaging and listen to your input and opinion, very relaxed work environment and people are nice to work with. Great perks since B/R is under Warner Media

    Cons

    Company would benefit from more established processes and better internal communication on projects, though efforts are certainly being made to improve and get better

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to start

    Jun 24, 2021 - Camera Operator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    B/R is a great place to get your feet wet. Ambitious, have means, and lots of talented creatives to work with.

    Cons

    Ambition can be to a fault as experience is lacking in certain areas.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Bleacher Report team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    You get out what you put in

    May 3, 2021 - Programmer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The most fun job you'll ever have. Don't listen to the old reviews, as B/R has completely changed from the old days. Work hard and get rewarded. Changed my life for the better.

    Cons

    It's a grind. Easy to get worn down over time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Almost a dream job, but lacks direction

    Oct 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You essentially get paid to watch and write about sports. What's better than that? I've also been able to interview superstar athletes, cover professional sporting events and even once played basketball with some former pros. There used to be a stigma abut writing for B/R--I've been around long enough to know how suspect some of the content was--but at this point, it's an established, mostly respected journalism brand.

    Cons

    The goalposts are rarely stationary. I don't think B/R has figured out what it wants to be. Sometimes, hard-hitting reporting seems to be the focus. The next minute, they're trying to be comedians. And you're never really coached on whatever they want, even though it's constantly changing. You also work on annual contracts--at least, everyone in my position did--and it's hard to get a good sense on where you stand. Even if yours is renewed every year, there are still some tense moments every 12 months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Mostly Excellent

    Jul 4, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at B/R for several years and found many opportunities for advancement and new projects. I loved my coworkers and thought B/R did a great job of fostering community, though what I saw as a tight-knit group of coworkers/friends could certainly be perceived by newer employees as cliquish.

    Cons

    Sports media is a competitive industry, and the salary/hours can feel pretty rough in an expensive place like San Francisco. Things steadily changed after the Turner purchase. It's by no means bad now, it's just more corporate and less of an adventure than when I joined.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company Review

    Mar 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work at B/R are awesome. It is a fun atmosphere with like-minded co-workers who are always willing to lend a hand. There are TVs everywhere which is amazing.

    Cons

    Bleacher Report could improve their professional development. They would be better off finding distinct structure or pathways for their employees to move up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Painfully cheap and mean-spirited company

    Dec 7, 2015 - Programming Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The location is very good, located in downtown San Francisco. The bad part about that who people who work at B/R can afford to live in the city.

    Cons

    Employees make staggeringly low wages, and never get raises. There's the yearly 2-5% bump, but that puts average incomes way, way below what comparably employed workers in SF make. Management almost never promotes, and it's a boys club that "innocently" bullies lower staff, knowing that they're keeping the staff captive. When a negative glassdoor review goes up, there have been known to be witch-hunts. The CEO is completely disconnected, and once or twice a year will make some ridiculous video of himself in a football helmet or something to try to show Turner that he's "one of the guys." Not one employee doesn't see right through it.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    4 years at Bleacher Report

    Oct 27, 2015 - Senior Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Bleacher Report. Great people, great company, great atmosphere. I left to pursue a new career because I wanted to try something new, but it was very difficult to leave BR. I felt like I was treated well, and learned a lot from some really smart people. And as a sports fan, I was able to enjoy sports during the day, which was a definite plus. I also personally enjoyed having the support of a big company Turner - opened up the possibilities for what we could do and how we could grow. The office itself is also great. I realize it will be difficult to find a work environment like B/R again.

    Cons

    I think the only thing for me would be that a lot of the people who I had gotten to know over my time there had gone on to pursue new things, so a lot of fresh faces in the office. I think that's just a natural part of any company, especially a relatively young but growing one, to have people come and go. And often those people leaving were doing so for good opportunities within the company, like some people moved from SF to NY or London but remained at BR. For others, they had just reached a limit of what they could do at BR - which again I don't think is a strike against BR, but just that the kind of people they hire are go-getters. So it was natural for those people to move on. And i definitely liked the people who were still there, as I mentioned the people are one of the best parts of the company. But as someone who had been there a while, the office was maybe a little less familiar than when I had first started, when the company was a smaller startup.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    On the Upswing

    Oct 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bleacher Report is a great place to work. The environment is fun and the people that are their care about putting together great content for sports fans. Turner is a great parent company leaving B/R alone but also providing cash to grow. After the acquisition by Turner their was some churn and many people, especially on the tech side, were just riding out retention bonuses. The new management team has brought in talented people to drive the company forward and got rid of the dead weight.

    Cons

    With so many ambitious people trying to work in sports there are not advancement opportunities for everyone.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Good learning experience.

    Jun 18, 2013 - Copy Editing Intern in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -You get the chance to interact with the B/R community and to give writers feedback on their pieces. -Copy editing mentors are extremely responsive and definitely make sure you are learning and improving. -By the end of the internship, you will have, without a doubt, honed your editing, fact-checking, and proofreading skills overall. -Scheduling is flexible. -Well-structured program.

    Cons

    Since the nature of the internship is virtual, face-to-face communication is obviously out of the question. Communicating via e-mail can be inconvenient and frustrating at times, but this should be expected from the onset of the internship.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 5 of 5 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Bleacher Report Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bleacher Report? Share Your Experiences

Bleacher Report logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Bleacher Report Photos

+ Add Photo
Bleacher Report photo of: Craig Sager visits Bleacher Report
Bleacher Report photo of: Young Athletes Elite 11 Event
Bleacher Report photo of: SXSW Panel Discussion with President Rory Brown
Bleacher Report photo of: Young Athletes Commitment Video
Bleacher Report photo of: Typical day in the San Francisco office
Bleacher Report photo of: Flag football outing with NYC team
Bleacher Report photo of: Shaq visits the office!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.Warner Media, LLC

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Bleacher Report Job Seekers Also Viewed

Automatic Logo
Automatic

3.5

24 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 192 Bleacher Report reviews submitted anonymously by Bleacher Report employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Bleacher Report is right for you.