Cover image for Bleacher Report
Logo

Bleacher Report

Is this your company?

Bleacher Report

Add a Review

Bleacher Report Employee Reviews about "bleacher report"

Updated Jan 4, 2017

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 192 of over 192 reviews
3.8
97% Recommend to a Friend
76% Approve of CEO

Found 9 of over 192 reviews

3.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Bleacher Report CEO Dave Finocchio (no image)
Dave Finocchio
39 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bleacher Report and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "bleacher report"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company Review

    Mar 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work at B/R are awesome. It is a fun atmosphere with like-minded co-workers who are always willing to lend a hand. There are TVs everywhere which is amazing.

    Cons

    Bleacher Report could improve their professional development. They would be better off finding distinct structure or pathways for their employees to move up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Did Not Pay What they Promised

    Jan 4, 2017 - Social Content Producer in South Bend, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bleacher Report has a lot of very young producers. This means there is a lot of fun and creativity happening. In my position I had the opportunity to be as creative as I could be, and the company supported any good ideas my team came up with.

    Cons

    When I was verbally offered this temporary position, I was repeatedly told I would receive $35,000. In the end, they paid me much less and deny ever verbally offering me more. As someone who relocated for them and spent 5 months away from my family, this was infuriating.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Bleacher Report team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Young sportswriters: cut your teeth elsewhere

    May 17, 2016 - Featured Columnist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work remotely, so I don't have to fight traffic into work and can wear what I want. Writing about sports is fun, especially if you like sports (and you wouldn't be doing this job if you didn't). The editors are responsive, for the most part.

    Cons

    I used to tell my friends that B/R is a good place to cut your teeth as a writer. That may have been the case when I started — though in the eyes of some, I was disillusioned from the start. In either case, I no longer believe that to be true. The sites writing hierarchy is broken down into lead writers and featured columnists, the latter of which are content monkeys that write a mix of original (pitched by writer) and "prebudgeted" (assigned by the editor) content. Oftentimes, the prebudgeted content is almost exactly the same from week to week, though with minor tweaks in the headline, which leads to a lot of regurgitation. You'll find yourself writing the same thing over and over, especially during the offseason. There is little if any opportunity to be creative as a writer due to all the assigned content/slideshows. I have heard countless stories of B/R moving on from/firing/demoting talented writers who did nothing but solid work for the site. Many of the people among the most recent wave of disappointed, disillusioned current and former Bleacher Report-ers are among the people who helped re-shape the public perception of the website from a content farm (which, in some ways, it still is) to a hub for thought-provoking, original columns and stories (which it is also). The company has hired big names like Howard Beck, Kevin Ding, Mike Freeman, Jason Cole, Ethan Skolnick, and others as lead writers. These hires have helped the credibility of the site, but in bringing in all these big names at contracts that I can only imagine are extremely lucrative, B/R has done away with the old business model that allowed writers to work their way up into real, respectable jobs at the site.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Company Has Hit a Low

    Dec 16, 2015 - Full-time Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really used to love working for Bleacher Report. I honestly have absolutely nothing good left to say about it.

    Cons

    This is how bad it's gotten - management is now actually pulling employees aside and asking if they posted a negative Glassdoor review. There are a ton of scathing reviews of this company for a reason. I've never felt more uncomfortable working for a company, and HR sells you out to management instead of having your back. I am actively seeking employment elsewhere ASAP.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    4 years at Bleacher Report

    Oct 27, 2015 - Senior Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Bleacher Report. Great people, great company, great atmosphere. I left to pursue a new career because I wanted to try something new, but it was very difficult to leave BR. I felt like I was treated well, and learned a lot from some really smart people. And as a sports fan, I was able to enjoy sports during the day, which was a definite plus. I also personally enjoyed having the support of a big company Turner - opened up the possibilities for what we could do and how we could grow. The office itself is also great. I realize it will be difficult to find a work environment like B/R again.

    Cons

    I think the only thing for me would be that a lot of the people who I had gotten to know over my time there had gone on to pursue new things, so a lot of fresh faces in the office. I think that's just a natural part of any company, especially a relatively young but growing one, to have people come and go. And often those people leaving were doing so for good opportunities within the company, like some people moved from SF to NY or London but remained at BR. For others, they had just reached a limit of what they could do at BR - which again I don't think is a strike against BR, but just that the kind of people they hire are go-getters. So it was natural for those people to move on. And i definitely liked the people who were still there, as I mentioned the people are one of the best parts of the company. But as someone who had been there a while, the office was maybe a little less familiar than when I had first started, when the company was a smaller startup.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    On the Upswing

    Oct 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bleacher Report is a great place to work. The environment is fun and the people that are their care about putting together great content for sports fans. Turner is a great parent company leaving B/R alone but also providing cash to grow. After the acquisition by Turner their was some churn and many people, especially on the tech side, were just riding out retention bonuses. The new management team has brought in talented people to drive the company forward and got rid of the dead weight.

    Cons

    With so many ambitious people trying to work in sports there are not advancement opportunities for everyone.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great reach, poor management & compensation. -- M.N.

    Oct 8, 2015 - Featured Columnist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bleacher Report gives you a great deal of personal freedom as a writer, largely to the point that you work your own schedule. The company's extremely high traffic and media reach also contributed greatly to my own CV, which has proven time and again to be a huge personal benefit.

    Cons

    Working your way up the ladder is a slow and frustrating process, especially since Bleacher Report doesn't always pay writers relative to the traffic they pull in. Even as the #1 writer on my beat, other "famous" author were paid far more money for less work and less traffic.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    This company treats you like you're subhuman.

    Sep 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros of this job are obvious. It's a young environment and everyone is into sports. Your news is to cover big sports news, and that's inherently fun. Generally as long as young handle your work, there doesn't seem to be much micromanaging. The job is in a good part of SF, and is Bart-accessible.

    Cons

    The cons are quite severe. Bleacher Report pays considerably below market value in the Bay Area, and in order to get away with this, management treats you like you are subhuman. They make you feel worthless, and thus not worth decent wages. Whenever questions about the low pay are brought up, management says that there are 200 people lined up for your job, so they don't need to pay you. This is why so few people who work at B/R live outside SF. They simply cannot afford to live in the city they work in. Additionally, upper management is a boy's club, and they parade around like gods while the hundreds of lower level employees sacrifice their lives and their families to miserable hours and wages. Occasionally they'll throw in a "free" t-shirt or something to keep morale up. The next African American male they hire outside of broadcast will be the first.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Politics, technical debt, and zero product vision

    Jul 27, 2015 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unfortunately there are no longer any pros to working at Bleacher Report. The post-acquisition incentive period ended in early 2015 and everyone responsible for the growth of the company -- from the founders to senior management to all the design and engineering talent -- promptly left the company. Only career middle managers and a very junior technical team remain, and even they are mostly just padding their resumes before they can jump ship too. You can imagine the kind of effect this kind of talent drain has had on the culture. Bleacher Report used to be a fun place to work. Now the people who still work there describe it as a "tomb" or a "library." Everyone has their headphones in all the time. No one socializes. No one looks forward to coming in. It's a place where people punch the clock and collect their paychecks, hoping never to catch the gaze of a vengeful, spiteful management team.

    Cons

    Where to start? If you're looking for a post-acquisition company that pays below market salaries, has zero product vision, a toxic, incessantly political culture, loads of technical and design debt, and absolutely no product or engineering talent left to make progress, then Bleacher Report is the company for you. There is absolutely no reason for any designer, engineer, product manager, or QA person worth their salt to consider this company. You get all the soul-crushing constraints of ad-supported business with none of the benefits of a fast-growing Silicon Valley company. The product team outsources design and native app development because no one with talent will come near the company. Even so they haven't been able to ship substantial changes to their app or website in over two years. The rest of the engineering team is in perpetual firefighting mode, struggling to keep the site from collapsing under the weight of laughably bad product management. This is a company that recently instituted a "no meeting Thursday" policy at the recommendation of its "culture committee." That should tell you everything you know.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great, unique sports-writing company!

    Jun 26, 2015 - Featured Columnist/Game-Day Correspondent in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This isn't your usual sports-media company. Bleacher Report offers the opportunity for young writers to showcase and hone their talent. Editors and advisers are always helpful. If you work hard, you can advance!

    Cons

    It's difficult to secure a full-time writing job with Bleacher Report. You might have to put in a lot of work for what seems like minimal gain.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Bleacher Report? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Bleacher Report Photos

+ Add Photo
Bleacher Report photo of: Craig Sager visits Bleacher Report
Bleacher Report photo of: Young Athletes Elite 11 Event
Bleacher Report photo of: SXSW Panel Discussion with President Rory Brown
Bleacher Report photo of: Young Athletes Commitment Video
Bleacher Report photo of: Typical day in the San Francisco office
Bleacher Report photo of: Flag football outing with NYC team
Bleacher Report photo of: Shaq visits the office!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.Warner Media, LLC

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Bleacher Report Job Seekers Also Viewed

Automatic Logo
Automatic

3.5

24 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 192 Bleacher Report reviews submitted anonymously by Bleacher Report employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Bleacher Report is right for you.