Blink Fitness Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Blink Fitness Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Blink Fitness CEO Todd Magazine
Todd Magazine
5 Ratings
  1. "Been with the company for 2.5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blink Fitness full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Quickly growing with tons of opportunity at all levels. Management cares, fellow employees are genually happy to be working here

    Cons

    It's a job dealing with the public. That can be a challenge anywhere you just have to take a step back and understand why they get upset and resolve it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep upgrading and investing back into the gyms. The staff and members love the additions and it blows away our competition

    Blink Fitness2018-04-12

    Blink Fitness Response

    May 22, 2018

    Thank you for the review! We really appreciate the feedback and will continue to work on investing back into our clubs!

  2. "Had potential but failing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blink Fitness full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great environment with the members and staff and a free gym membership.

    Cons

    Controlling area managers that are unchecked in their behavior, incompetent at leading, show blatant favoritism and are insecure to the point of putting others down.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on your area managers and support your staff more. Stick to what you say and be clear and fair.

    Blink Fitness2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Growing company with some hiccups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Club Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blink Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can easily move within the company if you put in the effort. Blink is still relatively small and it's structure is still being built. They also cater to the communities in which they are located in. You do get a complimentary membership and they offer your typical medical, dental and vision benefits. 401k too.

    Cons

    If this is your sole responsibility, it can be an awesome path to take. For someone like me, being told I have to work a specific schedule with set days as a manager is discouraging. I value having a decent work/life balance and I am not one to be only about my job. The needs of the business should be specific to each club because every demographic is different. The rate of pay is bare minimum but the expectations...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be clear about all expectations when interviewing. Emphasis should be placed on the importance of personal training and member sales because that is something that can literally make or break your career with blink. Also communication should be consistent. It isn't fair for those of us in operations to just be given blanket information on how to do things but also get corrected when such procedures aren't performed correctly...

    Show More
    Blink Fitness2019-03-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Has Potential, But Failing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blink Fitness full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment with the right leadership in place but that varies from location to location unfortunately. Opportunities for growth if you go above and beyond.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, training, and development. Prepare to be the scapegoat if under an incompetent area manager. Weirdly competitive. No support. A lot of responsibilities for very poor compensation. Pay is hourly and punching in and out can only be done in club, so work performed outside of the gym goes unpaid.

    Blink Fitness2019-02-15
  5. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Club Manager in Passaic, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blink Fitness full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Yes it's a corporate company but doesn't feel like it. We do have quotas to hit every month however it's not impossible to be successful. We are given the tools and support to continue to grow mentally and physically. Which not only benefits our career aspirations but also our own personal aspirations.

    Cons

    The pay could definitely be better, especially for Front desk associates. They should be compensated a little bit higher and than the maintenance associates.

    Blink Fitness2018-08-21
  6. "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Area Manager in Ridgefield Park, NJ
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Blink Fitness for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The company is built around its people

      Cons

      The company has high turnover

      Blink Fitness2016-06-13
    • "Front desk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Blink Fitness

      Pros

      Friendly teams in environment

      Cons

      Lots of dirty hard work for low pay

      Advice to Management

      Treat them as you would like to be treated

      Blink Fitness2016-07-14
    • "Great opportunity to break out of your shell and network with great healthy people. Tons of responsibility."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Club Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Blink Fitness full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      No pressure on sales goals and senior managers are very down to earth and offer as much support when they can.

      Cons

      Responsibility is much greater than wage and that affects the culture of a business if they expect all clubs to run equally.

      Advice to Management

      Offer employees better outlook on how to hit goals and grow with the company.

      Blink Fitness2016-06-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Club Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Club Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Blink Fitness full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Many locations coming soon all over the tri-state area. They preach a fun environment and that is very real from area managers to our house keepers.

      Cons

      pay is not commensurate with actual job duties in comparison to other fitness companies. Not enough front line employees.

      Advice to Management

      add more front line employees

      Blink Fitness2016-03-14
    • "Club Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Manager in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Blink Fitness for more than 2 years

      Pros

      great place to work. Great Team

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say about this great company

      Blink Fitness2016-01-07
    Found 16 reviews