KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Blizzard Entertainment

Engaged Employer

Blizzard Entertainment

Add a Review

Blizzard Entertainment Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 1,169 reviews

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "amazing, collaborative work environment(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great work/life balance(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Never kept up with cost of living increases, execs received massive salaries/bonuses while regular employees often struggled to make ends meet(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is non-existent; show up for your shift or don't show up at all(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Blizzard Entertainment

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Blizzard Entertainment and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 20, 2019 - Game Master in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful work environment and people

      Cons

      Can’t think of one. I was a temp and wish I could have stayed longer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cool Workplace

      Oct 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commitment to quality. Casual work environment. Fun office vibes

      Cons

      Commitment to quality can lead to long lead times

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Review Structure Lacking

      Aug 17, 2020 - Operations Analyst in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly work environment, passionate coworkers, supportive environment.

      Cons

      Annual review and merit increase structure seriously lacking. Never kept up with cost of living increases, execs received massive salaries/bonuses while regular employees often struggled to make ends meet.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love it here

      Jun 24, 2020 - Marketing Communications in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - free oatmeal Wednesdays - Starbucks on campus - never a dull day - great coworkers - amazing, collaborative work environment - supportive management

      Cons

      I've been here for 8 months & have had 4 different bosses now. Teams get re-organized often, so it's kind of tough to be on top of things when people are always moving about, so their work is always exchanging hands which causes delays.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lots of People to Learn From

      Feb 14, 2020 - Associate Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Most everyone I've met is incredibly friendly and willing to help. - Good guidance from mentors - Chill work environment, flexibility - Loot, Blizzcon, Good Food

      Cons

      - Pay is lower than regular software engineering roles outside of games, but this may just be a game industry issue.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Dream Job: brilliant people, inspiring projects, and a culture of family!

      Apr 11, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Passionate people - Super intelligent colleagues - Culture of learning & growing - Relaxed, friendly work environment - Family-friendly with good work-life balance - Stability - Excellent benefits - People have fun while creating fun for others!

      Cons

      - Compensation is not as competitive as comparable jobs at other companies - Cost of living is high - Large, risk-averse company means that change happens slowly

      Continue reading
      36 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Sep 5, 2019 - Associate Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment. Benefits were also very good for me.

      Cons

      Didn't have a lot of room for growth.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I would suggest working at Blizzard to anyone who has a passion for making good video games.

      Sep 5, 2012 - QA Analyst in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of talent. - Established company with stable work environment. - Focus on iterative process to create high quality games. - A growing emphasis on culture and improvement. - Very supportive of employees. - Approachable group of designers, artists, and managers. (there will always be exceptions, but on a whole) - An involved, professional, and highly productive QA department. :) - Strong core values. - Company-wide events. - Large customer base with great impact.

      Cons

      - Average pay. - Still suffering growing pains from WoW success. - Not all departments are yet brought up to the employee quality of life level they should be, Customer Support in particular. - Needs more efficient and effective communication between dependent departments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Game master

      Apr 25, 2017 - Game Master in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was the best work environment! I worked 3rd shift and we would play games after lunch at work. We would run around the cubicles and try to get a ball past bases that were set up at either end of the office. We are computer geeks so I suppose they wanted us to get some exercise! XD They would bring in food for lunch or dinner when we were in crunch time, free soda, and you get to work for BLIZZARD! Thats a pro in and of itself!

      Cons

      The pay. It was on the lower end but the perks made up for it, in my mind. I was a temp through Volt for only 9 months. Management did not give ANY direction as to how to be a game master. I struggled with that. I was not sure how to handle certain situations so I would ask my supervisor. This would take up time that I could have been working!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Too Many Managers; Not Enough Leadership

      Nov 25, 2015 - Project Manager in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Passionate, brilliant teams who balance hard work with a fun work environment, lots of perks (gifts, food, swag, events), decent amount of time off, and located close to lots of parks, hiking trails, the beach, etc.

      Cons

      The department I work in has grown too fast, too quickly. Many of the upper management are new and have brought in sweeping changes without first getting to know the existing culture and employees. I used to feel like a valued member of a talented, close-knit team. Now I feel like a faceless resource to be moved around to promote someone else's agenda. The career advancement is completely opaque to the majority of the employees, and management lacks any apparent will to mentor, lead, or even get to know their employees. In this environment, the goal isn't to stand out and excel, but to do just well enough not to be noticed.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blizzard Entertainment Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Blizzard Entertainment? Share Your Experiences

    or