Cover image for Block
Logo

Block

Engaged Employer

Block

Add a Review

Block Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,110 of over 1K reviews
4.2
84% Recommend to a Friend
Block Head of Block Jack Dorsey
90% Approve of CEO

Found 1,107 of over 1K reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Block Head of Block Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
739 Ratings

Got a burning question about Block? Just ask!

Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Block and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company

    Mar 20, 2023 - Account Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Block is so incredible caring when it comes to their employees, The benefits, PTO, strive for mental health, and overall value of their employees is unmatched!

    Cons

    Can be hard to move internally. It's a competitive company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Highly Recommend

    Mar 9, 2023 - Assistant Video Editor in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, progressive work culture, work/life balance

    Cons

    Honestly I don't have anything negative to say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Block team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    World Class Company + Organization

    Mar 9, 2023 - Sales in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am surrounded by some of the best and brightest minds I have ever worked around and feel empowered by our mission of economic empowerment on the daily.

    Cons

    Can feel like we are still a start up at times with change

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Incredible Work Environment

    Mar 8, 2023 - Customer Service Advanced in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Internal transfer opportunity. Raises. Office perks, including meals, snacks, events, and luxurious office spaces. This is your job if you are looking for a progressive tech company.

    Cons

    None. I love Block and the opportunities they have provided.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Mar 8, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For the size, Block/Square still feels entrepreneurial with a GSD attitude.

    Cons

    It's still a big company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture

    Mar 7, 2023 - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Pay, strong culture and community

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great environment

    Mar 6, 2023 - Sourcer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work! Get full autonomy and trust that you can do your job

    Cons

    Lots of org changes but that’s standard for any tech company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love this company

    Mar 6, 2023 - Project Manger in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and leadership. The work-life balance at Block is unlike anywhere else I've worked, and I don't know many outside of Block that have it as good as we do. There's opportunity everywhere in this company, if you want something, there's a good chance you can go for it. The yearly compensation and merit cycles are nice. The culture here is great. I've spent the last 6 years of my career here and I don't see myself going anywhere other than "up" in the company.

    Cons

    The culture here overall is great. However it can get too liberal sometimes, and that's coming from someone who is very liberal. I would like to see the company find a healthy balance of being able to express their thoughts and beliefs without the harsh judgement towards others who don't align. The biggest issue I have is there is a culture that's been created where management can be too soft and would rather sugar coat feedback and not take necessary steps towards helping employees do better. For example, an employee with a good heart can continue to do the wrong things leading to failed outcomes, or projects taking longer. And instead of management removing someone from a project, they just continuously have the same sugar coated conversations and nothing changes. Very frustrating. It's a pattern I've seen with many leads over time time here.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love it

    Mar 3, 2023 - Operations in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company with less pay

    Mar 1, 2023 - Sr Data Analyst in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people Great team Work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing much i think Management needs to be little more transparent on goals

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,107 Reviews
</>Embed

Block Reviews FAQs

Block has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 1,210 reviews left anonymously by employees. 84% of employees would recommend working at Block to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Block employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Block. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

84% of Block employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Block 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Block to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Block Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Block? Share Your Experiences

Block logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Block Photos

+ Add Photo
Block photo of: Building Blocks
Block photo of: SF Office
Block photo of: Australia Office
Block photo of: NY Office
Block photo of: SF Office
Block photo of: SF Office
Block photo of: Business Advisory &amp; Technology Team
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Cash AppTIDAL Music Streaming

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Block Job Seekers Also Viewed

Fitbit Logo
Fitbit

4.1

455 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,210 Block reviews submitted anonymously by Block employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Block is right for you.