Bloom Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Bloom Energy Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Bloom Energy CEO K.R. Sridhar
K.R. Sridhar
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to learn, meet smart people, advance one's career etc(in 10 reviews)

  • "Hard working environment and good work life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours are the norm, employee perks and morale boosters are lacking(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lack of upper Management trust, support & direction(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I am very happy here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloom Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management is very nice and easily approachable. 10/10 would recommend working here.

    Cons

    I work in a new group where we are working on making a more efficient process. Sometimes it seems like we make too many processes.

    Bloom Energy2019-02-21
  2. "Good product, poorly run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installer in Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloom Energy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative product and tons of smart people at lower levels.

    Cons

    Leadership is disconnected from what's going on at a ground level. Like, very.

    Advice to Management

    Read a management book? Or like, information about the industry. How to run a company....something.

    Bloom Energy2019-08-14
  3. "Doesnt pay enough to afford the cost of the Bay Area... but who does?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloom Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Insurance, enjoyed the traveling

    Cons

    If you have a family this is an impossible job. 80+ hours a week, and very much a good old boys club.

    Advice to Management

    If I had any god advice I would make more an hour.

    Bloom Energy2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It will make you a better salesperson, just maybe not a successful one !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloom Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, extremely smart, extremely talented and hard working

    Cons

    Technology is not compelling enough, for most customers.

    Advice to Management

    Carbon capture, carbon capture, carbon capture.

    Bloom Energy2019-06-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Bloom is doomed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloom Energy full-time

    Pros

    The only positive that was gained from working here is the skillsets because you will learn a lot and friendly co-workers that share the same stress load as you... That's about it.

    Cons

    Let's start off by saying that I was initially excited at joining this company, knowing that it was a new and different experience, but all that has changed within less than a year. If I could give this review negative stars, I WOULD! This company operates in ways that are ruthless, selfish, and degrades hard-workers (including contractors) in ways unimagined. Some managers don't care about their team members and won't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop driving people in fear of losing their jobs, replace all the bad managers/ CEO, and stop overburdening FT and contract employees with pressure, overload of work, hours and stress!!!! THIS HAS GOT TO STOP! Don't make promises you cannot keep for the team, and be honest and real with your team members instead of making up lies by undermining every employee's accomplishments. Treat every employee the same, especially...

    Show More
    Bloom Energy2019-07-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stay far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bloom Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance was very good for a family

    Cons

    Worst management team I have ever experienced. They push females out one after one. Bullying is a a regular thing at Bloom.

    Advice to Management

    Hr needs a overhaul and get rid of women haters club .

    Bloom Energy2019-06-10
  7. "Fairly positive, though there was a lot of empty time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Equipment Engineer Intern 

    I worked at Bloom Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Supervisors willing to help, friendly environment

    Cons

    kind of boring when you have nothing to do, sometime you go out of your way to find something to do but even then there might not be anything

    Bloom Energy2019-05-09
  8. "STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assembler in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bloom Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Literally revolving door of employees they are not really hiring anyone if anyone from the state of Delaware is looking at this someone needs to look into this companys hiring practices I was hired through a staffing agency trained for three days put on the line for two days and told on a Sunday night I had no job the next day what kind of business are you running here????

    Advice to Management

    Irresponsible there is no culture here we’re taking the state of Delaware and University Delaware’s money and running with it don’t you wish we could all borrow money from the state and then do whatever we want it must be nice

    Bloom Energy2019-05-20
  9. "Fun Company, sometimes a little slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bloom Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Coworkers, Chill Environment, Chill hours

    Cons

    Slow/sometimes I felt like I didn't have work to do Bad Commute Unless you live in sunnyvale, MV, or SJ

    Bloom Energy2019-04-03
  10. "Cad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bloom Energy

    Pros

    Money benigna work time benefit

    Cons

    Time change management time people

    Bloom Energy2019-03-28
Found 185 reviews